We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food and drinks”

The Wheelwright Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Colyford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$18
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“good food and drinks”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

we have visited the wheelwright inn many times this summer being new to the area. we found the owners and staff very nice and friendly. we have only had sandwiches there twice now, they are great with salad and fried chips. very good selection and great value for money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    139
    52
    32
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Friendly and good home made food, made us and our young son feel very welcome. Staff were lovely and the menu was good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KateCharlieS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EVERSLEY
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have eaten in this pub on many occasions as we have a holiday home nearby. It used to be very good for food and service but has recently changed hands and is nowhere near as good as previously. The food was average and the staff not very friendly, all in all a big disappointment. The previous owners have an excellent pub a couple of miles away which I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MARION N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food and reasonable prices”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were staying in Colyton just up the road and we had passed the Wheelwright Inn twice during the day. The look of the place appealed immediately; an olde worlde country pub. We had arrived early in the evening and we offered a table either in the bar or in the restaurant; we chose the latter. We had in mind fish for at least one of the courses but were initially disappointed that some of the fish dishes where unavailable. However, was we were considering the other options the waitress and returned and told us that they had just received another delivery and most were back on again. We chose the sea bass fillet the whole mackerel as starters. My companion was a bit iffy about the mackerel having previously had a bad experience but decided to risk it. She said she it was delicious, as was my sea bass.

For mains, we had belly pork and and steak and ale pie. Again, both were well cooked and presented and tasted very good. I found the steak and ale pie dish to be very generous and only just managed to finish it. We were debating about a dessert but finding that we could share, we opted for a Devon Mess; excellent.

Although busy as the evening went on, the staff were very attentive and responsive.

Luckily, we had not read previous reviews before we went otherwise they may have put us off. Our experience was very positive and I would recommend that others try it for themselves.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Friendly pub with nice food”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The staff and locals were friendly and chatty. It is a nice pub atmosphere with a separate restaurant room although on the evening we ate, the restaurant was full and we ate in the pub side. We were told there would be a wait and a couple of things were so popular they had run out of what we wanted. We chose again and what we had was very nice and large portions.
We were in the area for 3 nights and visited every night which we would not have done had we believed some of the surprising negative comments from others. Please give it a go and make your own mind up

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheelwright Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Wheelwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing