We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Colyford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic holiday!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Amazing weeks stay at the Rose cottage made even more special by the fab weather but also by the wealth of knowledge, friendly and service provided by Des and Yvonne. The level of service they provide is excellent from providing fresh linen mid-way through a week’s stay to stopping for a chat sharing their knowledge and experience of the South West! The self-catering accommodation has the facilities you would need for a week’s stay with a washer/dryer, brilliant power shower, dishwasher I could go on! The accommodation is very dog friendly with a self-contained garden area for all guests to enjoy including our dog who was free to explore without the fear of her escaping! This area is a huge positive with a peaceful water feature, modern barbeque facilities and lots of comfy, clean and contemporary seating giving guests a chance to relax and maybe even make new friends! I cannot recommend this place enough and I can safely say me and my partner (along with the dog) will be returning!

Thanks for a brilliant holiday.

Kate, Chris and Tilly (the dog)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
151
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My friend and I each had a single room which was not so easy to obtain elsewhere especially for nearly a week. Can't fault this B & B in any way. Scrupulously and immaculately clean, fresh, bright and delightful. Even a hairdryer & some toiletries in the room. All breakfasts were with fresh fruits and scrumptious with local produce. Hosts became more like friends and we were sorry to leave! They bent over backwards to make us feel at home and we did. Everything was absolutely first class. Our rooms also had their own outside doors.
As Colyford is close to & between Lyme Regis & Axminster rail station and Sidmouth & Exeter it offers a perfect quiet location from which to return after a day's exploration. Outside is a garden/patio area for BBQs or just relaxing and enjoying the sun with a glass of wine (which we could keep in a fridge). The local store/P.O. is a few minutes along the road.
Colyton, with a lovely river walk, and Seaton are walking distance (only a mile or so) and the Wheelwright Inn is virtually opposite offering very good reasonably priced meals with friendly staff, so the location of this B & B is ideal. Also on a bus route with stops just yards away. KJ

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

From the moment we arrived, we knew we had made the perfect choice!

A very warm welcome , a superb room which was immaculate and comfortable, and a fab breakfast! .
Outside offered a pretty ,enclosed seating area, ideal for long summer evenings.
The location was perfect , not only beautiful, but with everything you could need close by.
The owners Des and Yvonne have worked very hard to think of everything, and nothing was too much trouble.
Only wish we were staying longer... but I know we will be back!
Do not hesitate to book!

Room Tip: We stayed in the King room at the front,which was very spacious and had its own entrance...wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Des and Yvonne made us very welcome and our tastefully refurbished room was ideal for our needs. I would strongly recommend that this is the place to choose if your visit takes you to this beautiful corner of the country.
The breakfast too was tasty cooked to a very high standard.
Paul and Carol D

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Newly renovated room, impeccably clean, very friendly and helpful hosts, good breakfast - everything was covered! All round a great stay and perfect place to explore Devon and the region. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Henins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kendal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed in one of the cottages which are owned by the owners of Yeomans acre b&b we highly recommend these well equipped comfortable cottages! The standards of cleanliness were superb too.
the owners Des and Yvonne made us feel very welcome and attended to our every need, they were very hospitable and informative, nothing was too much trouble. There's two good pubs on the doorstep of the property and a well stocked shop.
We particularly enjoyed the out door space area which was a real sun trap from morning to night and the opportunity to have a barbecue was a real bonus!

Room Tip: There's no pool or fitness room I couldn't deselect these !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loriet62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I booked this B&B on the reviews i saw in Canada for a trip with my parents and we weren't disappointed in the least. We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting the Sidmouth area and what a fantastic place to stay. Our host where great, very knowledgeable about the local area and very welcoming too. Breakfast was marvellous. This is one not to miss when staying in this area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyford
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
13.5 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
8.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast

Property: Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast
Address: Swan Hill Road, Colyford EX24 6QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Colyford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yeoman's Acre is characterful period former farmhouse, situated in the pretty village of Colyford. An ideal location for exploring the best of both West Dorset and East Devon, the village is just 1.5 Miles from the coast at Seaton, and overlooking the Axe Estuary. We have four en-suite bed and breakfast rooms, plus two one-bedroom self catering holiday cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yeoman's Acre Bed & Breakfast Colyford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing