We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent home cooked food”
Review of White Hart Inn

White Hart Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Colyford
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Strood, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent home cooked food”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here twice and on both occasions have found the food to be extremely tasty and plenty of it. The staff are very courteous. On the times we visited there has been a lovely welcoming log fire. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the White Hart Inn.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    27
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Cold pub despite fire”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had lunch here on a cold wet day over Christmas.
There was a log fire in the grate but the pub was so cold everyone seemed to be wearing coats.

Likewise the beer was very cold .. not my preference for a bitter.

The staff didn't seem that keen to see us but the food was reasonable, although a trifle expensive compared with other pubs.

Service was back to front . The food appeared first followed by the cutlery etc a few minutes later ... they weren't busy so why could we have been given cutlery before our food starting going cold?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CustomerConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A long wait”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Although the food was very good we had to wait over an hour to receive it, which was a bit much after being told 40 minutes. However, not really their fault, as the inn down the road was unexpectedly closed they had gained a bit more custom than expected, so think it was a stressful evening. However, we enjoyed the friendly village atmosphere - locals were welcoming and fun to share table with... we probably might not have waited had they not kept us entertained. Eating at 9.20 p.m. is not my idea of happiness ;)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CornwallDancer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good quality wholesome food in a friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We called in the White Hart for Sunday lunch carvery and were not disappointed. The food was good quality, piping hot and wholesome, we enjoyed a huge plateful of fayre for a tenner, excellent value fore money. A good homely and welcoming pub in a lovely part of Devon which we would recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulBB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Hart Inn also viewed

 

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing