We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Journeys End Inn

The Journeys End Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Ringmore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We had two meals in The Journey's End Inn during our stay week stay in Ringmore.

Both meals were fantastic - outstanding food for a pub, great service from all staff (especially the manager).
The Sunday roast was a huge hit with our group of 14 - such a great selection of vegetables as sharing bowls for those who ordered roasts.

Would recommend booking a table if you are passing through or staying in Ringmore.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janelouise1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    57
    20
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, good food, nice inside but outside needs attention”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We ate here three times during our visit to Rngmore. Beautiful historic old pub which will transport you back in time just like the Dr Who police box in the garden! You will not find a more friendly landlady. Also the bar staff very friendly and competent although bar service was slow at times most people are on holiday and go with the flow. The food is very good - not the cheapest, Fish and Chips and Gammon and chips at £11.00 but massive portions of fish. Other dishes from £17- £20. However we were on holiday and pushed the boat out with some very nice fish dishes and interesting starters and found food well worth the money. Most of the food can be traced back to the suppliers which are displayed on a board near the front door.

Child and dog friendly with a good range of dishes for kids at reasonable cost. Would recommend booking on all days of the week - closed Mondays.

The reason I have dropped one star is on the last eve we decided to eat in the garden which I feel lets the pub down. It was clean and tidy but could really be something special with a little bit of a spruce up which would not cost much. The dead hanging basket and weedy strip of grass was a shame. However I got the impression the people running the place were working so hard on the food that this has been allowed to go by the wayside. Nevertheless would return. Toilets basic but clean.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pipsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Needs attention”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

A repeat visit to this restaurant, the previous one some years ago was most disappointing. Now new owners tempted us back. Once again, not the best experience. Very good food quality and cooking was spoiled by slapdash presentation, and a rather exaggerated opinion of the meal values. Whilst the fish and chips was very good, I can get the same quality and quantity for far less than £11.75 locally. The bar and waiting staff were friendly but need much further training and the atmosphere was jolly but frighteningly noisy. I never cease to be amazed by the fact that so many eating places get the difficult bit so right and the easy bit so wrong. We, too, were surprised to see dogs trailing through the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank properjob929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quaint Pub in a Quaint Village with excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

If you need to unwind and recharge your batteries then this tiny village is the place to come.
My routine is to have lunch in the pub, steak sandwiches are excellent, prawns ect all very good quality.The atmosphere is of an old village pub. I have eaten there a few times now and always found the food to be good quality. Order at the bar and look out for the specials of the day. They accept credit cards cash cards ect too. Average prices for the quality.
I have always had a friendly welcome.
There is a lovely walk from the pub to the beach and back up the other side. Not too tiring and always quiet.
The church is also worth a visit. Lovely organ.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glyndwr-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lots of flaws”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Having discovered a wonderful but quite long walk in the beautiful area around the village of Ringmore in Devon we decided to try out the village pub.

-tive: We where shocked to be charged over £7.00 for a pint and a half of beer together with a bag of crisps! Service was slow.
When we took our drinks to the back garden we passed through a dining area that was very bland and unattractive and then sat in a back garden which was very unimpressive and needed a lot of work. After that a very large dog appeared and lay in what appeared to be a dug out hole in the border next to us. In addition the gents toilets were wallpapered with maritime maps that were completely wrong and I suspect not able to be cleaned in the same way as tiles.

+tive: The menu looked OK and the original dining area looked good.

Summary: These guys need some external advise on how to decorate a business in a professional way while at the same time being realistic in terms of pricing.

Not good - I know of several much better pub experiences within a few miles.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Journeys End Inn also viewed

 
Modbury, Dartmoor National Park
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Journeys End Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing