We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marcello

Marcello
Ranked #8 of 18 Restaurants in Topsham
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Budleigh Salterton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Lovely atmosphere matched by a great meal. Calamari were delicious as was the veal. Wine list is short but contains enough for most palates and a good selection by the glass. Also, very good value. Will be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    56
    20
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Visited here for my Mothers birthday on 7th September for afternoon dinner. My Mother lives in Cornwall and we live in Southampton. We wanted to meet half way and found this on Trip Advisor. After reading the reviews we were expecting a great experience. We were not disappointed. Although we have been to restaurants with a more extensive menu, this is clearly so the chef can devote special attention to every dish whilst using fresh ingredients. We all thoroughly enjoyed our tasty meals and would recommend this lovely restaurant to anyone. The 5 hour round trip was worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
1,924 reviews
592 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6,150 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for dinner while holidaying in Topsham. Located in Fore street which runs through the main centre of town. Beautiful pizza's made by a French couple who have owned it for 4 years. Nicest pizza we have had in the whole area and great service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 1TraveltheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Family run, friendly and great Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Started off with inexpensive kir royale (my favourite!) - browsed through an extensive and very Italian menu, hard to decide on what courses to have. Waitress (possibly owner) flexible to change the starter, as per request. Nice antipasti and main meals. Professional and friendly service - we will definitely be back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NettanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Best steak I've had in years! Friendly and pleasant staff, good variety of food on the menu with classic Italian dishes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank curridge001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marcello also viewed

 

Been to Marcello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing