We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxed meal”
Review of Marcello

Marcello
Ranked #8 of 18 Restaurants in Topsham
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very relaxed meal”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

If visiting Topsham you are spoilt for choice as to where to eat so any restaurant has to decide how to create an edge.

Marcello's has decided on a buzzy Italian atmosphere, friendly but efficient staff and fantastic tasting food. Seems to work as we were there on a Wednesday night in January and not only were they full but they were turning people away. Lucky we booked.

I had delicious stuffed mushrooms followed by chicken in a tomato and onion sauce. Chicken can often be a bit tasteless but this was cooked to perfection and full of flavour. My wife had calamari followed by lemon sole and both got full approval.

In spite of them being full including, a big party, service was good and at just the right pace.

Great place for a relaxed evening after a long walk.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JT410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    56
    21
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant but nothing special”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Went with friends on a saturday night.It was busy but service was ok.The food was not exceptional but acceptable.I had whitebait starter,had better, and for main had spaghetti carbonara,portion size was a little on the small side but it was tasty.My wife had veal in a wine sauce,probably the thinnest escallop ever seen and the vegetables were carrots and peas,come on! you could be more adventurous than that,the only thing Italian was that they matched the colour of the national flag.
The meal was pricey but this is Topsham so not surprising.Would we come again? probably not.There are better Italian restaurants in Devon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teignwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our favorite Italian outside Italy”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have eaten here a few times and it is the most authentic restaurant outside Italy for us. The restaurant is small and has a very exclusive vibe. The food is all fresh and the menu seems to change regularly.

Would really recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomandEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Country
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A very pleasant restaurant for a quiet meal”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This was my second visit to Marcello. It is right next to The Globe hotel and is less formal as a place to eat. The food is Italian and there is a limited menu, but offering a good choice. Each dish is individually prepared hence the limited menu, but it also provides the explanation for why the food is so nicely prepared and presented. Given the quality of the food (and the wine) and the friendliness of the service, Marcello offers excellent value for money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SebastianWestCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter Devon
Level Contributor
194 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Worth A Visit”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I haven't been to this restaurant for several and I went with a group of friends recently. The staff are very friendly, efficient and helpful. The menu as stated previously by a number of reviewers is a bit limited. We ended up having seafood pasta cost around £15 not cheap but it was quite tasty.
The rest of our group all enjoyed their meals. There was a reasonable wine list.
The restaurant was not too manic like so many other places in December and the staff coped well.
Overall an enjoyable evening and we would probably go there again, worth a visit.
Bootle45

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bootle45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marcello also viewed

 

Been to Marcello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing