We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Globe Topsham”
Review of The Globe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Globe
Ranked #1 of 6 Topsham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The Globe Topsham”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

A very friendly hotel,made to feel welcome, food is excellant ,good service every time we have been there whetherr it,s just for a coffee or a meal.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DizzyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    144
    35
    20
    11
See reviews for
82
190
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Churt, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We recently stayed at The Globe and cannot recommend it highly enough! The newly refurbished room was stylishly done and the bed was very, very comfortable. Breakfast was the best we'd had for a long time and the service was very friendly. Shame it doesn't take dogs as we'd go back more regularly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Globe whilst in the area on business. The welcome from the staff was warm and service was very good. We stayed for dinner and were pleasantly surprised by good fare (try the chateaubriand !). Rooms were clean and comfortable. Will stay there again. Breakfast was spot on also!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilly1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

On the face of it this is a good little place to stay. We came down for a friend's wedding and had three options as to what to do sleeping-wise. In hindsight the two alternatives that I dismissed out of hand actually seem quite good now. Option One was get a lift back home- around 2-3 hours in a car after a night of drinking. Option two was camping in a field- dismissed on the grounds that I didn't feel like waking up at 4am with a stinking hangover and not being able to get back to sleep. Option three was book accommodation near the wedding and get a cab back. As you can probably tell we went with option three. The room itself was nice enough, pretty clean and with a good sized bathroom (actually bigger than the room itself!). However, the major downfall of the room we stayed in was a) the ridiculously wafer thin curtains that somehow managed to make being inside brighter than being outside (surely an untapped natural resource and general phenomenon of nature) and b) the not so soothing tones of a generator to the back if the accommodation. Ultimately, had we gone with either one of the first two options I would have had better nights sleep. I'm pretty sure that the insubstantial waterproof outer lining of a tent would have offered more defence against the sunrise and I probably would have got more sleep in the car on the way home than I did at the globe (four poster bed or not...). Lovely area, nice bar and staff, but £65 for a sleepless night does sting a little...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ewan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I stayed one night at the Globe - the room was lovely, very spacious, very clean and beautiful bathroom. Bed was super comfy. All in all, great. Breakfast the next morning was lovely with lots of choice. I then had a meal a few days later with my family - fabulous. The service was outstanding, they couldn't do enough for us, and the food was really delicious. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clare186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Me and my husband regularly visit Devon and we were advised to visit the lovely small town of Topsham. I can honestly say I've never been more pleased with a hotel! The receptionists were fantastic and very helpful, the food was cooked perfectly (and I'm a fussy eater) and the young waiter was very attentive. There was a varied menu..something for every taste bud!

We were within walking distance of everything we needed (shops, restaraunts, train station etc). The ONLY downfall is the carpark which is very small and awkward but there is plenty of on-street parking & public carparks around.

The rooms are absolutely stunning! The owners have definitely put money and thought into the decor...and the beds..well, best nights sleep I've ever had! I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area or even just for leisure! Thankyou to all the staff who made our visit so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts.
Level Contributor
191 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I get a little fed up of negative publicity for such wonderful venues.
Quite frankly we had the best time (four nights) at The Globe in Topsham, Exeter. It was touch and go as to whether the refurbishments would be complete by the time we arrived. BUT they were and we were given a courtyard room, which had been refurbished to the highest standard. The decorations were superb, the appointments, not least the most comfortable bed.
Food - Some may say a limited menu - Nonsense - Extensive NO - Delicious and cooked to perfection (in our opinion) YES - The waiting staff were superb and even arranged at short notice a table for four, when we invited family down from Taunton on spec.The young waitress and waiter were really on the ball and directing staff older than themselves to great effect. Well Done!
Brilliantly placed for attending the Devon County Show (which may mean I will have trouble booking in next time!!)
Overall - The hotel is refurbished to a most impressive standard. We have nothing bad to say, but for a minor point, which when raised with management was adressed within minutes/hours/seconds - hence no mention here, being somewhat trivial.
To praise the management - They were there all the time, taking direction from staff running both bar and dining areas. There was no 'I'm management - do as I say' - They really appreciated the skills and abilities of their appointed staff.
Are we after a cheap or 'free' stay' - NO - I will happily pay for a wonderful stay in this well appointed hotel, set in a most picturesques setting, which is Topsham, right on the River Exe.
Many thanks to all concerned frm management to room cleaners and everyone in between

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillandBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candace_StAustell, Guest Relations Manager at The Globe, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay we do hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Topsham
3.8 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
3.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,247 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
1,000 reviews
2.3 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
495 reviews
3.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Globe

Property: The Globe
Address: 34 Fore Street, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Topsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Topsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Globe 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globe is a beautiful 16th Century Coaching Inn set in the heart of Exeter’s Historic Estuary Town of Topsham. Located only 4 miles from Exeter City centre, it attracts both tourists and business travellers.The Inn has recently undergone a major refurbishment to restore and update the historic building whilst retaining its authentic character and personal touch.Topsham has a wonderful community, relaxed and friendly offering a perfect base to explore the area, whether by bike, foot or public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Globe Topsham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing