We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for lunch”
Review of The Globe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Globe
Ranked #1 of 6 Topsham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
shaldon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great place for lunch”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Had an excellent lunch here last week. Lovely fresh fish and chips with mushy peas and really top quality home made tartar sauce. We have eaten here a few times before and have never had a bad meal.and they didn't disappoint. Even though it was after 2 o'clock and there weren't many people dining the service and food were of a high quality.

Having left a restaurant without eating our fish and chips the week before because the meal constituted batter and chips (!) it was nice to get the real thing.

Just one request - a hot sweet (i.e. apple pie or crumble with custard) on the daytime menu would be welcomed (especially with winter approaching)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    146
    36
    20
    11
See reviews for
82
197
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The food here is very good and would strongly recommend this to family and friends. The ambience is excellent and the staff are always very polite and friendly. It's in a good location in the centre of Topsham, with a nice area to sire outside.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have just returned from the Globe after a delightful couple of days visiting our son and partner who has moved to live in Exeter.
The staff are all very efficient, helpful and could not do enough to make our stay pleasurable.
We had excellent breakfast and dinners in the evenings that had plenty of choice, cooked and presented well.
Could not fault the Hotel on our stay and would be using it again on our next visit to see our family members.
Like the last review trying to pay by card it was difficult to process it, but solved it with my wife's card. The Globe needs to check this out as my card worked perfectly well 10 minutes later getting petrol on the way home. A minor irritation!
By the way Topsham is a nice place to stay as well!

Room Tip: Room 7 is large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shafton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland or
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

When presented with our Globe hotel bill at checkout on 20th August my wife noticed a charge for a breakfast had been omitted from the bill total.She then tried to settle the 317 pounds bill with an American Bankamerica Visa card but the desk staff were unable to process her card for an unexplained reason. I also offered my own Bankamerica Visa card and also a Citibank Mastercard. Neither could be processed. The only suggestion the desk clerk offered was advice to my wife to go and find local ATM's and draw out cash (at her expense and inconvenience) to settle the bill which she then went off to do.
While she was finding an ATM I offered my American Express card as another alternative and this card was processed and the bill settled. While this was happening the bar manager behind the front desk was more interested in sorting out a printer problem than helping his colleague help us visitors to settle our bill using our credit cards. This problem was especially annoying given that (a) the staff seemed completely unable (and unwilling) to find a way to investigate and solve the problem and (b) the omitted breakfast charge remained on our bill through all this nonsense and(c) after that day my wife and I used the same cards hundreds of times in other British, Greek and French establishments of various sizes over a four week period without one hitch

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wherethefugawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Globe, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
I was very sorry to hear that we were unable to process your cards on the morning of your check out. I appreciate that this would have been very inconvenient for yourself and your wife. Please accept my sincere apologies.

I will investigate the possible causes with our machine provider. Your comments have already been passed to the relevant team members and further training will be arranged should this situation ever arise again. Thank you for your feedback regarding this issue which will help us to improve our standards in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South of England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Just got back from short break with 2 friends. Very friendly hotel, helpful staff who immediately offered to help carry bags. Very clean, room slightly small but everything we needed. Lots of Character. I suppose a little expensive as breakfast not included. Parking a problem, we had to trundle case and bags some distance. Bed very comfortable, fantastic shower, stylish toiletries and plenty of tea and coffee etc. Had one evening meal. Excellent though we had to wait some time, but friendly staff cancelled that out. Slight niggles are sink plug had to be removed for water to drain away and window would not stay open without wedging something in. Generally a great stay and would go again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneofReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is a nice hotel in the centre of topsham near Exeter. The rooms are nice with comfortable beds. They are a little crampt and I am not sure it would be feel big enough if I had come with my wife. Two notes of caution - there is limited parking here although a public car park is 5 mins walk away with free parking between 6pm and 9am. My room also didn't get wifi. Small quibbles because this is a nice pace with friendly staff and a great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Country
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I did not think The Globe lived up to its promise. I had a room that was not in the main hotel (room 17) but off an outside galleried area overlooking the car park. To be fair the room was comfortable with a very pleasant bathroom. What was lacking was attention to detail: the clothes hanger of a previous guest hanging on the light fitting, the rubbish of an earlier guest in a drawer and cupboard and taps in the bathroom that were hanging loose. The latter was particularly unnerving since it was clear that a pipe joint might fail in normal use thereby flooding the room.

The room was isolated from the main hotel building and so there was no inclination to use the hotel facilities. I did attempt to take dinner, but the dining room was deserted at 8pm with no staff present. A Monday problem perhaps. Fortunately there is a very acceptable Italian restaurant very nearly next door,

The parking at the hotel is extremely limited and I had to park in a public car park 3-400 m away. Guest should be warned of this difficulty when they book. It would avoid going into the car park through an extremely narrow entrance, finding there was no room and having to leave by a similarly narrow exit because there was no room to turn.

One positive point: the receptionist (Kate?) was very welcoming and friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building. Check parking especially if you are disabled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SebastianWestCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Topsham
3.8 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
3.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,291 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,685 reviews
2.3 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
515 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Globe

Property: The Globe
Address: 34 Fore Street, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Topsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Topsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Globe 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globe is a beautiful 16th Century Coaching Inn set in the heart of Exeter’s Historic Estuary Town of Topsham. Located only 4 miles from Exeter City centre, it attracts both tourists and business travellers.The Inn has recently undergone a major refurbishment to restore and update the historic building whilst retaining its authentic character and personal touch.Topsham has a wonderful community, relaxed and friendly offering a perfect base to explore the area, whether by bike, foot or public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Globe Topsham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing