We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect overnight stay”
Review of The Globe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Globe
Ranked #1 of 6 Topsham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My friend and I stayed overnight at the Globe as we wanted something out of Exeter centre but within easy reach. I requested a room at the back of the pub in the courtyard area in the hope that this would be quiet. It certainly was peaceful and the room was cosy and clean with great bathroom and shower facilities. Staff at reception were helpful and friendly and we enjoyed a great meal in the evening and good breakfast the following morning. I would definitely recommend a stay here and would visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AV62Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed with a group of 8 friends last weekend and had a fab time. Excellent value for money, clean & spacious rooms, great food (especially the full English breakfast) and a warm, welcoming, lively atmosphere in the bar. Staff very friendly and a great base for walks or just chilling out.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desiboy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed on business running a training event with a group of 10.
My room in the main building was extremely cosy, well equipped and spotlessly clean. The evening meal was first class and the choice at breakfast was good from the continental spread to a beautifully presented full English.
I thought that this accommodation option, somewhere between the chains of budget hotels and top end luxury had all but disappeared. For a little more than a Premier inn you could really treat yourself. And just to top it off the bar stocks a good range of drinks including a selection of real ales from the St Austell brewery who own the hotel - perfect!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank SteveFrancaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Most genuine friendly staff I've experienced in years. Very clean room with lovely decor and toiletries. Food is super and reasonable in a great village location. Was here on business but would also love to come back on leisure. Highly recommendable.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Airmilesjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We visited the Globe as a group following a Christmas lunch nearby and I have to say that it was a really nice comfortable place for a drink and a chat sitting next to a nice open fire in great surroundings. It is an old building full of atmosphere but very well maintained, in keeping with its history. The choice of beer was good and the real ale excellent and well kept.The food looked very good too. I have not been to Topsham before and it was a really nice place to visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Viatori-lasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Just had dinner in bar at the Globe and yet again so pleased with the quality and service in this fantastic pub/restaurant. The staff are very helpful and professional with brilliant service. Great food with a varied ,local menu. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Did not stay but a happy local customer. Would happily recommend to friends or relatives.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaumanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed two nights here in a courtyard room (#11). We chose The Globe as we had two spaniels. Our room was very comfortable. Often dog owners get shoved into the smallest room but this was large with a huge comfortable bed. Shower was first class -though oddly no towel rails.
Both breakfast and dinner were terrific and service very good. Staff all over were very friendly and helpful.
Loved the real ales and the pub area was very cosy with the real fire.
Parking somewhat tight to say the least but there is a very cheap car park just 100m away so unload and park there. Would deffinatley like to return. Topsham is a lovely village!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank illimani21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Topsham
3.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,329 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
3.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
539 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,127 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Globe

Address: 34 Fore Street, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Topsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Topsham
Price Range: £74 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Globe 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globe is a beautiful 16th Century Coaching Inn set in the heart of Exeter’s Historic Estuary Town of Topsham. Located only 4 miles from Exeter City centre, it attracts both tourists and business travellers.The Inn has recently undergone a major refurbishment to restore and update the historic building whilst retaining its authentic character and personal touch.Topsham has a wonderful community, relaxed and friendly offering a perfect base to explore the area, whether by bike, foot or public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Globe Topsham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing