We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable”
Review of Reka Dom

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Topsham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Reka Dom
Ranked #4 of 6 Topsham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Reka Dom is probably one of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed at. My partner's family live nearby so we stay in Topsham a few times a year, and by now have tried out all the different options available.

The rooms at Reka Dom are stunning (especially the tower), the owners are really friendly and welcoming and the breakfast is amazing. Seriously. I almost want to keep it a secret so that its easier for us to book rooms in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TCT_Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed in this fascinating house in April in the Woodbury Suite. The bedroom is light and airy with huge 6ft bed which has crisp white linen and is one of most comfortable beds we have ever slept in! The bathroom is rather small and old fashioned, but is in keeping with the character of the house. There is also a separate room with tea-making facilities and a small fridge with fresh milk and bottled water. There were also some yummy home-made biscuits on our arrival, all of which were most appreciated. If ever the owners were thinking of updating these rooms we would suggest swopping them around.
The breakfast was a magnificent spread of fresh fruit and yogurt plus a variety of stewed fruits which we assume were from their garden. There was an excellent selection of cooked options to choose from and the whole experience was outstanding.
Matthew and Ros were very friendly and Matt kindly drove us to the rail station on departure, as we were in danger of missing our train (which was much appreciated).
The Reka Dom is such an interesting house and has been in the same family for generations, as can be seen from the many photos and Christmas cards which have been framed and adorn the stairway.
It is ideally placed for exploring Topsham, which is a fascinating town and we can certainly recommend the walk to the Clyst Bird Sanctuary on the Estuary.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Collingdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We had an overnight stay last weekend and were so sorry we had to rush on Sunday - the full english breakfast was freshly cooked and was followed by small pancakes too !! Hugh suite with views over the river - we will be back ! Great place to stay with warm welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed during the Jubilee celebrations and had a great time. This B&B is a fabulous 400 year old building with views over the estuary. The room was large, comfortable with everything you could need - sofa, fridge with bottled water, TV, four poster bed. An excellent ensuite bathroom with large bath and plenty of hot water. If you turn right out of the gate, you are a five minute walk from all the pubs and merrymaking in Topsham, if you turn left you are just a few yards from the estuary. The hosts are a lovely, friendly, hardworking couple and, if you are lucky, you may hear Matt playing the piano.

Can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Book early, this is a popular B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flying_Colours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Reka Dom continues to be my favourite place to stay. Having stayed twice last year with a friend, I took my other half this time. Matt and Ros make you feel very relaxed and welcome, and the accommodation is fabulous. Breakfast is wonderful - you can choose from a wide range of tasty food (eg fresh fruit; stewed fruit; yogurt; cereals; various cooked breakfasts; pancakes). I cannot recommend it highly enough.....we will hopefully be returning later this year. Not only is Reka Dom a great place to stay, but Topsham is a beautiful base for touring the South Devon coast. Give it a try if you haven't been there already.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joworcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I'm so glad we found this hidden gem in charming Topsham. The glowing reviews on here are more than justified & a stay here makes for a wonderful peaceful break. We stayed just one night in the spacious & elegant Powderham Suite. Characterful, stylish & very comfortable; we found it the perfect place to relax & enjoy the fantastic views across the estuary. There's a real sense of privacy & peacefulness yet you're just a short walk away from the bars, shops & restaurants. Matt & Ros clearly take great pride in this wonderful B & B and the exceptional breakfast offering is typical of all they do to make your stay extra special. We got a warm welcome in a beautiful building and our stay was everything we wished for and more.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayGull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed for just one night.
After parking the car ( test your skill !), as it was raining heavily we were invited in to the breakfast room for a welcome pot of tea and lovely home made buiscuits.A very warm welcome !
Althought the building is old and quirky, our room was clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent, with fresh fruits and juice.I had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and my wife had smoked haddock and poached egg.Both were perfectly cooked and presented.
I should also mention the very tasty home made jams and preserves.

Recommened for the breakfasts alone !!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hywel_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Reka Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reka Dom

Address: 43 The Strand, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Topsham
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Topsham
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and go as please. Breakfast when and how you like and soak up the atmosphere of our unique family home. Whether holidaying with the children, seeking a romantic bolthole or a business stopover, Reka Dom is the perfect choice in Topsham if you are looking for something a little bit special but decidedly informal. Situated close to the Bowling Green Marshes RSPB bird reserve in the heart of the Topsham Conservation Area, our spacious rooms enjoy peace, privacy, quirky period features and unrivalled river views. We can accommodate up to 6 people in two very different suites. Choose between 'The Tower' with far reaching estuary and countryside views or the incredibly spacious Powderham Suite, a perfect choice for families or a great alternative to a twin room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Reka Dom Topsham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing