We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Great Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Reka Dom

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Topsham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Reka Dom
Ranked #4 of 6 Topsham B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay!”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We booked all three rooms for our family for two nights as our son was getting married nearby; we had stayed here as a couple in 2012 so knew that this was THE place to stay. We were not disappointed on this return visit as high standards have been maintained and my mother-in-law and our daughter, her husband and two little boys were mighty impressed!
All the rooms are accessed by stairs, so be aware if a guest is less agile, especially so for the Tower and Woodbury rooms; the Powderham stairs are wider and less steep.
Other reviews mention the breakfasts - and they are fabulous, so I'll say nothing more!
Nothing is too much trouble for Ros and Matt and as every other reviewer writes, when we need a place to stay in this area, Reka Dom is the number one choice!
Incidentally, Topsham is a lovely little place, very Cornish fishing-villagey feel - and don't miss the small Topsham museum, just along The Strand from Reka Dom - well worth an hour or so and a lovely cream tea!

Room Tip: Powderham for a lovely suite, four poster bed and separate small double bedroom - fabulous views! T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahamq123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed a few nights and will definitely be going back! Matt and Ros made us very welcome and the breakfasts were superb - the range of fruits, fresh and preserved, on top of the usual cereals and a good variety of cooked breakfasts, was terrific... and all capped off with a little extra treat at the end of the meal - but I won't say what and spoil the surprise. We stayed in the Powderham Suite, which has phenomenal views across the estury, a huge, comfortable bedroom/sitting room, a smaller bedroom with a small double bed and a bathroom - and its own front door. We just trotted across the drive each morning for breakfast. The entrance to the driveway takes a bit of practice, but by the end of our stay I was getting in and out without lots of twiddling - once you have the hang of it, even large cars can get in and out with ease.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneHickley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed here for two nights with our daughters. The room was lovely with incredible views in probably the best location in Topsham. The owners were extremely welcoming and accommodating and to top it off, we had our best ever breakfast.... twice!! Thoroughly recommended, especially if you love a great breakfast, home made biscuits (restocked!) in the room and fabulous, quirky listed houses.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This is a really lovely place to stay. We chose based on Tripadvisor reviews and were not dissapointed. We had a lovely room that was spotlessly clean with a good shower room (this was also spotless). We felt like we were the only people who had ever been in the room. We are now coming down to the Westcountry often and will definately return

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Right at the end of Topsham with splendid views over the estuary but just a short pleasant walk back to pubs and restaurants. House is old and lived-in but most welcoming and run by a lovely family.. A very fulsome and varied buffet breakfast that most large hotels don't match.
All in all a damn fine place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank william1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I’m having a moral dilemma here. If I tell you how great this place is, you’ll all book a stay and we won’t be able to get in. However, it would be a travesty not to give this great B and B the plaudits it deserves. The first being that it has restored our faith in B and Bs. A few bad experiences, particularly of intrusive owners, put us off. So the restrained attention of Ros and Matt was much appreciated.

We stayed in the Tower. WOW. Whilst the somewhat narrow stairs may prove difficult for some, the effort was worth it. From the fabulous views, to the ground coffee for the cafetiere and the home-made cookies, we were enchanted with the accommodation. It wasn’t without its flaws. The living area was somewhat chilly (which we mentioned to Ros who largely sorted it out) whilst the bedroom was lovely and cosy. My husband thought I should mention the steps up to the bathroom area, which could prove a hazard in the night; although I have to say this didn’t bother me. I was more concerned about a lack of a curtain or blind at the bathroom window but that’s probably just my natural modesty.

These minor points aside, as far as I was concerned, this place was heaven. The views from the living and washing area were sublime. The breakfast likewise, with really good quality bacon and sausage. These were complimented by a fantastic choice of cereal, yogurt and fruit. I particularly liked the very scrummy local honey and the various jams, which having that delicious, slightly tart zing, tasted home-made.

Topsham itself is charming and to avoid the parking problems mentioned in other posts, we went by train. A journey we certainly hope to repeat in the near future; as long as we can book into Reka Dom again.

Room Tip: The Tower has truly wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmemBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We have been once before and second time round it was fantastic again, the building is a real treat, a family home for generations and restored over the generations, the family are very easy and welcoming, no fuss, just made to feel at home, the breakfast is unlike any I have had elsewhere and exceptional and finally the views and positioning, right out over the estuary from the riverbank, whether its is sunny or raining it is somewhere very special. I've stayed at places all over the country for work and pleasure and this one stands out as the best I've ever been to.

Room Tip: It's quirky and not modernised but if you appreciate unique then this is for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nick e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Topsham
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#5 of 31 in Exeter
957 reviews
2.5 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
826 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reka Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reka Dom

Property: Reka Dom
Address: 43 The Strand, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Topsham
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Topsham
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and go as please. Breakfast when and how you like and soak up the atmosphere of our unique family home. Whether holidaying with the children, seeking a romantic bolthole or a business stopover, Reka Dom is the perfect choice in Topsham if you are looking for something a little bit special but decidedly informal. Situated close to the Bowling Green Marshes RSPB bird reserve in the heart of the Topsham Conservation Area, our spacious rooms enjoy peace, privacy, quirky period features and unrivalled river views. We can accommodate up to 6 people in two very different suites. Choose between 'The Tower' with far reaching estuary and countryside views or the incredibly spacious Powderham Suite, a perfect choice for families or a great alternative to a twin room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Reka Dom Topsham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing