We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very competent restaurant with friendly staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Petite Maison - CLOSED

La Petite Maison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Look it up on the web. It's brilliant. I'm amazed you haven't got it listed
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very competent restaurant with friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

First class welcome and excellent service for our family party of six. Food extremely competent but not adventurous and was thoroughly enjoyed by everyone. Clientèle on the Friday evening in the majority mature and smartly dressed and the décor and ambience seemed geared towards this, but that is in no way a criticism just an observation. Just not quite a 5 but If I could give 4.5 I would.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    22
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
445 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Exellent food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We went to La Petite Maison to celebrate my birthday. It was our seond visit. La Petite Maison is quite a small restaurant, but is popular so its wise to book. We went on a Wednesday. Whilst most of Topsham was quiet La PM was buzzing.

Its not hard to see why. The menu is a fixed price one, for either 2 or 3 courses - but there is plenty of choice. We started of with half a bottle of prosecco. We were brought some complimentary olives and were given lovely home made bread and cheese straws. For starters I chose a goats cheese souffle and Stephen had scallops and black pudding. For mains I ordered a trio of pork cuts and Stephen had guinea fowl. We both loved our choices.

We could probably have managed a pudding but instead decided to share a cheese board. There was plenty for two, including some lovely crackers and 4 west country cheeses.

The staff here are welcoming its quite clear that all of the guests have enjoyed their meal. We shall be back for a third visit.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Exetergourmets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous birthday celebration!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

After a couple of recommendations from friends, I emailed 2 book a table 2 weeks before my husbands birthday on the 3rd September. I received an email back advising that there had been a cancellation and therefore a free table! We walked in and were greeted warmly by the waiting staff and shown to our table. We were very lucky that a friend had organised for a bottle of champagne on the table which added to the occasion! The staff were highly attentive at all times and we felt we were really looked after. We particularly liked the fact that whatever you choose on the menu there are set prices for 2 or 3 courses. The food was absolutely top class, I had a goats cheese souffle starter and my husband had a crab risotto both were very both light and tasty. We both choose steak for a main course and were not disappointed - cooked to perfection. We shared a cheese board followed by coffee. The ambience of the restaurant is good and there was a lovely buzz about the place. It is bright, clean and crisp in decor. During the evening the chef spoke to every table to ensure that they were happy with their food which was a sign he was confident that it was good! At the end of the evening he spoke with us further which was a great touch. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would definitely book again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Booberoobers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good food with slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We booked on a Saturday evening. Unfortunately we were told that a previous reservation had arrived late and so everyone else's meals were late. The food for the price was good but for me didn't have the wow factor I had expected from other reviews.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Service and food made a 50th Birthday celebration perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

My wife wanted somewhere special to celebrate her 50th Birthday with Friends and Family. La Petite Maison was the only restaurant considered and we had the most perfect evening.
Liz made arranging the evening easy, with advice on such things as wine and menus. On the evening the attention by the staff was overwelming.
The food was perfect, in every way. To prepare meals for our group of 28 so they arrived within minutes of each other was simply amazing. My personal thanks to Doug and Sarah.
I'm not normally one for doing reviews but hope many will find our experience helpful in choosing that special evening.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank adrian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Petite Maison also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing