We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great execution” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Petite Maison - CLOSED

La Petite Maison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Look it up on the web. It's brilliant. I'm amazed you haven't got it listed
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“great execution”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Lovely place, the food here is great bistro food, quite expensive but you get what you pay for, although not too much above that. All said we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would easily return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yummyfoody1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    22
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Off-putting experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Pleasant dining room and interesting menu but the meal spoiled by the over-bearing chef: his loud conversation in the kitchen was audible the whole time, including disparaging remarks about customers who phoned for a booking, and also about us because we were unable to finish our very large main course.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“accomplished but lacks ambition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The menu is standard bistro and is competently executed. Service is perfectly acceptable. Prices are fair - under for £40 for 3 courses with coffee. The room though a little bit cheek by jowl is nicely set up. Why is this review rather restrained? Because everything is ok plus but not very exciting. The regulars are all present and correct - scallops pork belly lamb rump turbot etc - but this sort of menu is everywhere these days.
It edged just into very good because it was competent and not over priced. The wine list was fair as well in terms of price and quality.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best food Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Went for a meal on a weds evening expecting the normal. Was I surprised ! so much so I am writing my first review. Nothing glam about the decor and no background music, this place creates its own ambiance by being full of very happy diners. We were a party of six sampling all the delights of food which in my opinion is second to none. Having eaten in many Michelin star restaurants and paid fortunes for meals inferior to this lovely little place, I can only hope to one day live close enough to eat here everyday !!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent restaurant, excellent food, excellent presentation, excellent ambiance and very hospitable hosts.. An excellent evening, thank you!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Petite Maison also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing