We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very informative & enjoyable”
Review of Pebblebed Vineyard

Pebblebed Vineyard
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Topsham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very informative & enjoyable”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Like everyone else (!) we received this as a Christmas present. We were a fairly small group so there were plenty of opportunities to ask questions & to find out more. Very friendly & welcoming team & plenty of wine to try. I loved the sparking rose.
We had a lovely relaxed lunch after our visit at the cellar in Topsham, lovely cheese & good service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TOGsNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    20
    3
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and educational!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was lucky enough to be given this tour by my girlfriend for my birthday. I found the whole experience to be extremely pleasant, with both Geoff and Alex clearly passionate about what they are doing in their little vineyard. The tour was very informative and something definitely worth doing if you have any interest in wine.

As part of our tour, we also had supper in the wine cellar in Topsham, which consisted of pate and cold meat platters, with plenty of fresh bread. We were still a little peckish so we paid for an additional cheese platter too. All of it was really nice, with the pate especially tasty, which I believe was produced locally too. The service was fantastic and it was just lovely being able to see and taste the wine from cradle to grave so to speak!

Their wine is also available to purchase. We walked away with a box of 6 whites and a sparking rose, all of which are going down a treat!


My only advice to them would be to potentially drop the price of the tour to increase clientele and word of mouth advocacy of the wonderful wine they make there. I am sure that the additional sale of wine would mean that this would be easily recouped.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank British_Tourist_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were given a voucher for the vineyard tour with lunch as a Christmas present and had never been to a vineyard before. The directions sent in the booking confirmation were accurate - always a good start! Upon arrival we were greeted by Alex and given a glass of sparking rose to sample. The tour began and ended in sunshine but we did get caught in a very heavy downpour half way round - advisable to take wellies and a waterproof! Alex is incredibly knowledgable and passionate about his vines. We were then taken to the winery to learn how the wine was made and sample all wines produced there. Finally we made our way to the Topsham wine cellar (5 minute drive) for a platter lunch prepared by Geoff - fresh, local ingredients with a choice of cheese, meat or fish - washed down with another glass of your favourite Pebblebed wine. A very relaxing, enjoyable day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlpacaPillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Christmas present”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were given a voucher for a visit to the Pebblebed Vineyard as a Christmas present from our son and his wife. We were a party of eight and were greeted with a tasting of sparkling rose before being taken around the vineyard, Our guide, Alex, was a young man with an extensive knowledge of vineyards and winemaking not only for his own territory but also around the world. After our stroll around the vineyard we were taken into the winery where the processes of winemaking were explained to us after which we had further tastings of rose, white and red wine. Although mainly red drinkers, our favourite was the white. The visit ended with a tapas meal in the Wine Cellar in Topsham. This was unhurried and we were all able to chat together while we ate and drank. This was an experience which we can highly recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely wine and food”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic host, lovely wine, delicious food. What more could you ask for. Oh yes great company too. Kelly's hen weekend - brilliant time gad by all

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank The_Anchor_2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pebblebed Vineyard also viewed

Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 

Been to Pebblebed Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing