We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch perfection”

GlassHouse at the Salutation Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in Topsham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch perfection”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

My daughter took me for Sunday lunch.I suggested the Salutation,where I have had some excellent evening meals.What a great meal we had,lovely presentation, beef to die for, and perfectly cooked vegetables.So often restaurant Sunday lunches are spoilt by the vegetables, but this was just perfect.Well done again Salutation. Me favourite restaurant, and now my daughters too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Alastair Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    63
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Enjoyable spur of the moment light lunch.”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We called in on a very hot day and sat at a shaded table in the pleasant courtyard of the GlassHouse. The young waitress was very helpful checking the menu for us. We both chose from the specials board, the wild river Exe salmon, which we enjoyed. A lot of the ingredients are locally sourced including the cider from the nearby Green Valley Cyder from Clyst St George.
More expensive than we are used to, but for a treat, or on a special occasion, it is a venue we would like to return for an evening meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing service”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We visited the Salutation Inn to have a high tea to celebrate my parents diamond anniversary.The service and food were second to none! Nothing was too much trouble and my parents were made to feel so special. It was certainly a day to remember not least because of the afternoon spent there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A place to relax”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We had a lunch time snack in the atrium and it was just what we needed after a long and tiring walk. The glass room is spacious and we relaxed on the sofa to eat our Moules Mariniere. Good local bottled beer. A touch of sophistication.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cityjaneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely cream tea”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My friends and i went to topsham for the day and came across this lovely place where we stopped off for a coffee.We had a cream tea which had two warm scones and plenty of cream and jam, and a pot of tea which was well worth the £5.75.The scones were big enough for us to share a cream tea between two of us.The staff were very nice and helpful and the cafe was very clean.If you like cakes this is the place for you,they were amazing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GlassHouse at the Salutation Inn also viewed

 

Been to GlassHouse at the Salutation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing