We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top marks for service and surroundings”
Review of The Salutation Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Topsham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Salutation Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Topsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The owners of the Saluation have spared no expense to create a restuarant with rooms in ever popular Topsham. My wife and I enjoyed a one night away for the just the two of us and found the staff attitude upbeat with a subtle proffessionalism that meant you immediately felt at home. The decor is a meld of modern style and historic celebration with attention to detail rarely seen in even the most highly rated boutique hotels.
We had a Sunday evening dinner in the restuarant which was execellent, it was just a shame that the restaurant was quiet - but most restaurant don't bother with a Sunday night at all. The breakfast choice was both extensive and well prepared - if this wasn't enough the hotel rooms benefits from a shared 'galley' which is a brilliant idea.
We will be back - and just hope that more people frequent and support such passionate local businesses.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arthursfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent three days at the Salutation Inn, which included the stay and dine option on the Sunday and the 5 course taster menu on the Tuesday. From the warm welcome of the staff to the unique design of the atrium, everything was focused on customer satisfaction. The food was simply excellent and we cannot fault the quality of the dishes. It was such a lovely surprise to book a late mini-break in Devon and be so pleasantly surprised at what we found. Would certainly love to visit again.

Room Tip: One small comment, as our room was overlooking the high street, we did hear the early morning deliv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Atlantic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Salutation goes back in history to at least 1720 but it has undergone a complete refurbishment over the last 2 years
A wonderful Glass House dining facility has been added
The rooms are very large and very well appointed
Very comfortable beds and a lot of thought has gone into the decor
There is a small refreshment kitchen for guests with a variety of snacks and drinks
Staff are very helpful and friendly
The breakfast was wonderful although service a little slow
But it was Sunday morning and who rushes then?
Child friendly
The building itself has a fine 3 storey facade on the Topsham High Street
The main entrance is a "Porte Cochere" with what English Heritage has described as one of the largest and finest single leaf doors in the country
There is also a banquetting Hall but it is rather small and big enough for an intimate banquet
Overall well worth a visit

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband & I have just returned home from a 3 night stay at The Salutation. The welcome was very warm & no request seemed too much bother. We stayed in room 2. Yes, the bathroom is compact but for a short break its fine. The Galley kitchen is a great idea & we had both morning coffee & a late night snack! Breakfasts, as everyone has said are superb & the attention to detail for my Mums birthday dinner was wonderful. Tom is a very talented chef & I hope he achieves a Michelin star soon as he deserves it! The only downside, and I meant to mention this when we checked out but I forgot, was the lack of hangers in the room. We only had 2 which didn't affect us as we brought a suit carrier with 4 hangers included but it could have been a problem. That aside, I would go back tomorrow if I could!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The manager and staff were impeccable, during our stay...helpful and kind.....the food, especially, in our case, the breakfasts, were delicious. The rooms were comfortable....linen superb...a most welcoming experience ....can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms are of varying sizes....so if you want a larger one, you should ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Again a wonderful hotel, full of character and charm. The restaurant serves scrumptious fine dining and an excellent wine menu; all served by warm and welcoming staff and chefs. definitely a unique bolt hole whether for business or pleasure - Looking forward to going there again for a wedding in September!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Visited the Salutation at Topsham a few weeks ago. Stayed the weekend for a first time visit and what a wonderful find. Great welcome from Tom and then Julian took over and made us most welcome. The standard of accommodation is excellent and made it a relaxing weekend but the jewel in the crown is the restaurant. The quality, variety and value of the dinner menu was outstanding and we can't wait to visit again. We would reccommend to everyone and we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fox Inn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Topsham
0 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,382 reviews
0 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
0 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
188 reviews
0 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#19 of 31 in Exeter
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salutation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salutation Inn

Address: 68 Fore Street | Devon, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Topsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Topsham
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation. Within The Salutation we offer two suites and four bedrooms with individual decor. On the first floor the 'Galley Room' is available during your stay for hot drinks and treats to help yourself or room service for morning coffee or afternoon tea or meals. Our aim is to give you a comfortable night's stay with the finest of food in an ancient Inn with modern facilities. Our beds have been hand made in Topsham by Naturalmat, and offer the finest in comfort - All our products are sourced locally wherever possible including all the ceramics and most of the carpeting. Topsham & Surrounding Area - an ancient port at the head of the Exe Estuary, the town of Topsham is vibrant with its interesting architecture and small streets, riverside quay and walkways. The Romans, the Vikings, the Dutch and many other visitors have chosen Topsham as the perfect stopping off place! Topsham caters for all forms of transport ... We are five miles from Exeter International Airport and two miles from the M5 Junction 30. Topsham has its own Railway Station,regular bus routes and Marina and is on the Exe Cycle Trail. It is famous for its RSPB Bird Reserve, Museum and there are lots other things to do. Explore Topsham to discover a special place. Whatever your pastime whether it is sailing, fishing, cycling, watersports, Rugby (Premier League) tennis, snooker, swimming, bowling, motor boats, walking. Let us help you organise your satisfaction. The Salutation ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Salutation Inn Topsham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing