We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
247
22
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
247
22
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the galley michelin star tasting menu amuse bouche glass house restaurant with rooms real delight special evening small hotel locally sourced ingredients glasshouse restaurant boutique hotel master suite biscuits lounge area superb breakfast pudding
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Located at the top of Main Street. Ideal for a brief snack or coffee in top surroundings in an ancient building .The place for a drink before going down to the old Quay .Sitting inn the Courtyard is warm in the winter and cool inn the summer .

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johnpZ4299KQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Expectations can often be exceeded, but it's less frequent for high expectations to exceeded; the Summer Solstice River Cruise and wine dinner, held last week by the Salutation Inn was definitely one of the latter. It was wonderful. Helped by the superb weather, the whole evening was a special treat.
The food - canapés on the cruise followed by a 6 course dinner at the Salutation Inn was delicious. It was complemented by some delicious wines presented by Craggy Range from New Zealand. The rep from Craggy Range was entertaining and informative, and each wine matched the delicious food.
The food is normally top class at the Salutation Inn but this event was a truly special evening.
We stayed over at the Salutation in one of its first class, comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms. A real delight. Breakfast the next morning was served in their conservatory, and was delicious too. The fresh local produce, great coffee, cheerful attentive service, made a great start to the day.
The whole event and stay at the Inn was a real treat.
The Salutation Inn is situated in Topsham, a delightful, historic town on the river Exe, on the outskirts of Exeter. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the best - size, position, view; but the other rooms are well furnished, comfortable and good value.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Salsamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Called in here with My partner on a Sunday whilst visiting areas to find property as we are relocating for work. We needed a rest and only had a drink. The Atrium was light, airy, very clean and the little town was lovely. ( would be great to live here. ) The staff were friendly and the drinks were nice, maybe we will stay here next time we visit. The waiter with the european accent was beautiful, and would look even better in tighter trousers. Ha ha. Definitely a place to return to !

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Derbyshireflyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Our recent stay at the Salutation Inn was totally delightful. Tom and Amelia are excellent hosts and the inn is a wonderful place to stay. Our room was comfortable and well equipped and we enjoyed a superb dinner and a delicious breakfast. Topsham is a charming little town tucked away from the urban sprawl of Exeter and we will happily return next time we are in the area. Many thanks to all the team for a first rate start to our Devon holiday.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank littlewyvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Totally amazed by the service in this beautiful hotel, we stayed for a private wedding function for 2 nights and from the time we pulled in to car park spaces where held just for us, to the time we checked out, Amelia and the team where fantastic.
All the the things you expect from a high end hotel and restaurant with extra personal touchs, I would highly recommend for a wedding venue or special occasion dinner. Food was out of this world. Thank you Amelia and the team for a wonderful weekend

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jessicasZ4861SN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews