We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regularly eat here cater well for children too” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Estuaire Bistro Bar

L'Estuaire Bistro Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Estuaire Bistro Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Topsham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Regularly eat here cater well for children too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Lovely place to eat, whether sitting inside or outside on the terrace. Staff always happy and friendly. Breakfasts and lunches are always good, not had a chance yet to go in the evening. Catering for children is a bonus, and no basic chicken nuggets here, real chicken strips . All four children loved their meals aged 4-10, always a bonus. Really good natural lollies too to finish their meal. Coffees, brownies always excellent. Sandwich of the day is consistently good and well filled with a lovely salad. Gammon is thick and well cooked. Croque Monsieurs are so filling again with very good salads. All in all a place for a treat or a place to have a break from shopping or stresses, this place fits the bill.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gintaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    55
    13
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely location, shame about the food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

As a local, and a frequent visitor to Topsham, my wife and I decided to stop off here for some lunch on a recent visit.

Initial impressions were that the seating area outside was quite tatty, so we decided to eat inside which was nicely decorated.

Service was ok, however, we were slightly distracted by the lady manager who seemed to be involved in a heated situation with her kitchen staff. These things should really be kept behind the scenes and not in front of paying diners.

Food!!! I have to say, without any reservation, the food was very poor. Hence the reason I am writing this review. I have never been compelled to write a review before, but felt it necessary on this occasion. The food was neither cooked or presented well. I had to remind myself that I was eating in a restaurant as it certainly did not feel like it. Poor quality and poor value all round.

On the plus side, the interior is very nicely decorated and the coffee was good.

Shall not be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A disappointing night out”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I went here a few years ago and had a lovely meal with friends so thought it would be a good place to go for a meal out after a bad day at work recently. Staff were very polite and friendly but my seabass was cold, the chorizo wasn't cooked and the peppers were crunchy and cold too. I squeezed my lime over it and when I returned the meal as it was cold, they presented it back to me on a hot plate with the same bit of squeezed lime and ingredients which had been reheated.
My husband's meal was "alright" , but it would have been nice if we'd had both meals at the same time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Devonian44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A Lovely lunch in nice surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stumbled upon this place by chance and thought it must be good due to how busy it was outside. We were not wrong. Sitting inside due to lack of seats outdoors in the sunshine we
we were surprised by how smart the establishment is inside. Above what you expect for a
restaurant café on the front.
We elected to have the three course luncheon which was very good value and also really tasty.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble despite them being rushed
off their feet.
Fabulous coffee.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patsy10red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chulmleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Third time visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was our third visit while on holiday in Topsham , beautiful spot located near the quay. The food is very good & reasonable priced.. On all visits the staff have been very attentive & service has been swift & professional.

Theres a great selection of drinks on offer , lunch was great both times and we returned the other evening for our last meal before going home.

10/10 service
10/10 location
10/10 food

Superb worth a visit or two!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Ray1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Estuaire Bistro Bar also viewed

 

Been to L'Estuaire Bistro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing