We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Place to Eat. Inside or Outside.”

L'Estuaire Bistro Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Estuaire Bistro Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Topsham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Superb Place to Eat. Inside or Outside.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited this lovely place on a hot Summer day and sat outside under a huge sunbrella. Excellent menu. It was the sort of day to enjoy a super glass of wine while perusing the menu.
We two started with a bowl of olives and followed that with garlic mushrooms, tricolour salad, fish and chips and seasonal vegetables. Wonderful. The service was not rushed and very professional. The food excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Girljade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    56
    13
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Food to match the location”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We chose this restaurant over the pub next door as we wanted something a little more upmarket and we were very glad we did. It is fair to say that the general experience was greatly helped by nice sunny weather on the day, which made it a very pleasurable experience to be outside. The only drawback of which is that wonderful view is blocked by a car park, which is right beside the seating area and the local bus stop.

For the food, we looked at the set lunch menu which looked good value, but the choices were rather limited, so we went for the a la carte instead. Starters of mushrooms and calamari were fine, although I have had better calamari in other places. For mains we had gammon and fish and chips, whilst not classically french, were cooked very well and of a very good portion size.

What was more Gallic was the wine selection, with a good range of French and rest of the world wines. In the end, we went for a rather nice Kiwi Sauvignon Blanc, which thoroughly enjoyed in the sun. The service was attentive and made more pleasant by the authentic French accents of the staff.

Bon appetite!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank British_Tourist_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Such lovely people”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

They made us so welcome. We had lunch. Good value at £12 for two courses and very good house wine. Nicely chilled. We sat inside as there was no sun but there is a very nice seating area and I think I would like to go back and try it. It is just off the quayside and there is a car park but it doesn't detract. It has fairly new owners. I like it much better than the previous and the food was better. You could use public transport either bus or train from the city and then enjoy the wine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely lunch - could have been in france!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Had a very pleasant long lunch in L'estuaire - great food and good service - could have been in france sitting in the sunshine being served by friendly french staff - will be back

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aadevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Regularly eat here cater well for children too”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Lovely place to eat, whether sitting inside or outside on the terrace. Staff always happy and friendly. Breakfasts and lunches are always good, not had a chance yet to go in the evening. Catering for children is a bonus, and no basic chicken nuggets here, real chicken strips . All four children loved their meals aged 4-10, always a bonus. Really good natural lollies too to finish their meal. Coffees, brownies always excellent. Sandwich of the day is consistently good and well filled with a lovely salad. Gammon is thick and well cooked. Croque Monsieurs are so filling again with very good salads. All in all a place for a treat or a place to have a break from shopping or stresses, this place fits the bill.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gintaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Estuaire Bistro Bar also viewed

 

Been to L'Estuaire Bistro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing