We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sunday Lunch”

L'Estuaire Bistro Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Estuaire Bistro Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 19 Restaurants in Topsham
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Wow,blew me away.What a superb place,great for cycling to or dropping in for lunch like we did.The food AND service was perfect,absolutely the best i have experienced for a long time and the price was reasonable.

We will be back for definite-well done and keep up the great work!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harrison6172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    61
    18
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South West England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great little lunch spot..”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Although local we visited this establishment on a sunny Sunday as a preference to the The Lighter (pub opposite) which is charming, but being Summer crammed with tourists and with a 45min+ wait for food. Both places are great, but for a more personal restaurant atmosphere and attention this place wins.

We didn't even do the set menu - instead opted for calamari, bread, soup, tricolore salad as a light lunch. Total cost about £30 with drinks and some desserts. Would definitely recommend. Only issue if anything was having to go inside to pay on card but that is really picking at straws. The food/drink/service was all great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HA_DAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Bistro par Excellance......”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

You have to eat here, it's too good to miss.

We spend a lot of time in France and are always banging on about the wonderful fixed price set menus available there.

L'Estuaire provides a first class selection on it's lunchtime selection, prices are very reasonable and the quality is very high.

It really is a taste of France, friendly, intelligent, helpful staff, lovely décor and the 'all on view' kitchen completes the picture.

Long may they prosper.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DEXREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Superb Place to Eat. Inside or Outside.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited this lovely place on a hot Summer day and sat outside under a huge sunbrella. Excellent menu. It was the sort of day to enjoy a super glass of wine while perusing the menu.
We two started with a bowl of olives and followed that with garlic mushrooms, tricolour salad, fish and chips and seasonal vegetables. Wonderful. The service was not rushed and very professional. The food excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Girljade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Food to match the location”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We chose this restaurant over the pub next door as we wanted something a little more upmarket and we were very glad we did. It is fair to say that the general experience was greatly helped by nice sunny weather on the day, which made it a very pleasurable experience to be outside. The only drawback of which is that wonderful view is blocked by a car park, which is right beside the seating area and the local bus stop.

For the food, we looked at the set lunch menu which looked good value, but the choices were rather limited, so we went for the a la carte instead. Starters of mushrooms and calamari were fine, although I have had better calamari in other places. For mains we had gammon and fish and chips, whilst not classically french, were cooked very well and of a very good portion size.

What was more Gallic was the wine selection, with a good range of French and rest of the world wines. In the end, we went for a rather nice Kiwi Sauvignon Blanc, which thoroughly enjoyed in the sun. The service was attentive and made more pleasant by the authentic French accents of the staff.

Bon appetite!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank British_Tourist_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Estuaire Bistro Bar also viewed

 

Been to L'Estuaire Bistro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing