We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Saunton Beach Villas - Lounge with TV and blu-Ray player
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Saunton Beach Villas - Lounge with TV and blu-Ray player
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
80 reviews
Saunton Beach Villas - Lounge with TV and blu-Ray player
Dog friendly all year round. Multiple dogs accepted. Enclosed gardens and outside showers.
Fully equipped kitchen
Comfortable sofas and seating for all guests
Open for Christmas and New Year
A minute from Saunton Sands Beach!
Dog friendly all year round. Multiple dogs accepted. Enclosed gardens and outside showers.
Sunrise in Saunton Devon
All of our Beach Villas are dog friendly - we even provide the beds!
Dog friendly all year round. Multiple dogs accepted. Enclosed gardens and outside showers.
We are open throughout the year, 365 days per year - Christmas at Saunton Beach Villas
Saunton Beach Villa Sitting Room / lounge with seating, TV and blu ray
Dog friendly all year round. Multiple dogs accepted. Enclosed gardens and outside showers.
Dulux beds at Saunton Beach Villas - Each villa is stylishly and contemporary
Modern villas next to Saunton Sands beach.
Handy Saunton Beach shop nearby for amenities
Garden
Open for Christmas and New Year
Breaks from only £275!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Saunton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
blewed
uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 29 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
3
people found this review helpful

Whilst visiting Saunton today, we popped by to check out the location of this site as we had spotted the website and it looked so near to dog friendly beaches. we were more than pleasantly surprised. The website does not do this place justice! Whilst we were mooching around, a lovely member of staff, Julie, came over to say Hello to our dog - we got chatting and she kindly gave us a guided tour of a newly refurbished villa. We were blown away- the villa was immaculate, spacious, beautifully equipped and decorated. The private, enclosed garden-space was enormous- ideal for our Pooch to run around in and with fantastic views Over Saunton beach ( literally a stones throw away). Julie was so helpful and we were very impressed with not just how ‘dog friendly’ but ‘ dog focussed’ the site and the staff are. Thank you to Julie and Sue for all of your help, time and advice. We can’t wait to return - we have booked already - and this time we will be staying !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redrory41
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday!”
Reviewed 7 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Excellent holiday for the family, dogs and girlfriend. Upon arrival villa was clean and warm, floor was sandy, additionally had to mop before taking shoes off. Plenty of space to walk your dog within 50m of accomodation; whether thats the beach or dunes. Ample DVDs in reception to keep you entertained. Decent wifi in the villas (10 Mb/s download speed) and if thats not enough, some 'luxury' villas provide xbox 360 - PMSL!

Visited Croyde, Woolacombe and Ilfracombe, not keen on ilfracombe; as looks rather tired. Went to Squires fish and chips, best takeaway we have had and visited 2 of the 5 nights. Highly recommend the thai takeaway too.

Personally would have rated this holiday 5/5 however rather mixed emotions having spoken to receptionist, she expected and criticised families for not cleaning villas before leaving. No problem cleaning before leaving, especially floors after having dogs. However, i must criticise the owner/receptionist for not providing basic cleaning supplies such as disinfectant and bleach, cleaning cloths etc; was provided with fairy washing up liquid, mop and bucket.

In general, mum and dad were impressed and will more than likely return to Braunton.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner-can...
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ronseal it is what it is, exceptional value, clean and perfect”
Reviewed 20 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Having been before we were not disappointed, and noticed some improvements which made it even better, more control over heating and hot water.
As always the unit was spotless and the garden was clean, we arrived about 3pm, straight on the beach with a medium sized dog for a 2 hour stretch your legs walk. Back to the unit where our grand daughter and my daughter and husband were , all changed for a night out, both dogs a sleep. Saturday morning walk the beach sun was out and then back for home cooked breakfast. Went to Woolacombe for the day, back about 5 , take away picked up , dogs asleep in for the night baby sitting.
Sunday morning walk the beach, never get bored the dogs love it and watching the surfers is fun, breakfast and relax, trip to the Rock at Georgetown fantastic Sunday lunch, must book , back walk the Dunes and in for the night .
Monday morning another walk , tidy up and off about 10.30
would find it hard to criticize for what the costs are and just booked to go back in May, like I said IT DOES WHAT IT SAYS ON THE SIDE OF THE TIN.
PERFECT

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dockymomo
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Super saunton”
Reviewed 4 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Stayed here with my wife 2 whippets and Italian greyhound and our friends stayed next door for a long weekend. The villa was great everything we needed. Super comfy and right next to the amazing dunes and beach. Comfy beds. Good kitchen and bathroom. Flatscreen tv and wi fi all in. Perfect for our requirements defo recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2018
Thank you so much for the great review. We're glad you all enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to having you all stay again the the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“☆FaNTaStIc☆”
Reviewed 11 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay so much we are already looking to book our next break!
We do not have four legged friends in our family,

* do not let the dog friendly status put you off !..

Our accommodation was bright clean and fresh no trace of pooches at all apart from the doggy bowls under the kitchen sink giving the game away.

The kitchen was well equipped with all the things you need.

It is a cosy little hideaway, beautiful decor, comfortable & clean, fully heated, TV ,dvd player, outside shower to wash the sand away after your surf, enclosed garden,

Kind friendly helpful staff.

Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Good Value For Money, Dissapointed.”
Reviewed 13 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We booked our Saunton Beach Villa having seen them advertised at Crufts as a great dog friendly family holiday accommodation. We booked for November to get away for bonfire night, mostly for our dog as he really doesn’t like fireworks! Booking was simple and staff were great to accommodate a travel cot and high chair for our 9 month old. Most communication was through email with a phone call the week before we were due to arrive to confirm approximate arrival times allowing for the villa to be cleaned and ensure we didn’t forget our bath towels - disappointing they do not provide bath towels for the price we paid, however did not put us off booking.

A couple of months before our arrival we were informed that 'upgrading works' were being carried out on the two bed villa we had booked and we had been 'upgraded' to a 3 bed 6 berth villa at no extra cost. Happy days.

We arrived just after 4pm as the light was fading, check-in being easy, straight forward with friendly staff. Off we went to find our villa! We parked about 25 m from our villa which was OK for unloading and convenience (we stayed in No. 4). We also had use of the beach car park with automatic number plate recognition and our car number plate pre-registered for the week - fantastic. We began unloading the car and unpacking for our week away, popping our little one in her walker inside to keep her occupied (she had just slept for two hours in the car!).

Within minutes we noticed how black her feet were with dirt which prompted us to start looking at our villa a little closer. The floor was disgusting and had obviously not been cleaned properly. The kitchen hob still had grease and stains all over it. The extractor had dirt hanging from the filters. Food remains were still splattered up the kitchen cabinets. Mud up door frames (I hope it was mud). Obvious dust and dirt in the corners of rooms, under the coffee table and behind the toilet and sink. Chunks of flooring missing. Tears in the flooring. Plaster cracked. Paint peeling. Holes in doors. Squatted flies stuck to windows. Mould growing on bedroom net curtains. Bedroom headboards thick with dust. Hair and grass stuck in bathroom plug hole. Old paint stuck to the side of the bath. I could go on... The whole villa reminded me of student accommodation and had obviously not been cleaned properly for a substantial amount of time.

I spent our first evening mopping the floors and cleaning around as best as I could to make it as comfortable as possible for our first night and make the most of it. The misses was getting to the point of getting back in the car and driving home. The mop bucket water finished up black and full of grass and sand.

I popped up to reception to discuss the cleaning issue on the Monday due to the out of season opening hours and our holiday plans. Two staff were there who informed me the villa had actually been cleaned the Monday prior to our arrival and the cleaner had quit that day but had apparently finished cleaning our villa. Not one of the staff had thought to check our villa had been cleaned properly before our arrival on Friday. Simply not good enough. The staff offered to clean our villa again which I refused as I had lost trust in their ability to clean properly and we had already done most of the cleaning ourselves! A free bottle of wine was also offered which was not wanted. To add further insult, the staff offered a discount off our next visit. Sorry I will not be coming back.

These villas are more like wide caravans set on concrete. There is no central heating, only one radiator and a heater fan for the bathroom. Two plug in oil radiators were supplied but one was unstable, missing a wheel. We only had one plug socket in each of the bedrooms already occupied by a bedside light which was quickly unplugged to accommodate the radiators. This was useless as we had to choose between warmth / nightlight / baby monitor for our little one - warmth it was! There were no close by plug sockets in the living area to use as an alternative. Without the extra heaters these villas would be rather cold this time of year!

The WC is separate to the bathroom and if you left the door shut became quite cold... ending in a rather chilly morning poop. A sink should have been provided in the WC for hygiene.

The cold water pressure is exceptional, but almost uncontrollable! Hot water from the sinks and bath was merely a trickle! No idea how anyone runs a bath with it. Electric shower was also over the bath with a shower curtain which had very good pressure making for a pleasant shower.

We had a very old hob (my nan still has one!), an oven, toaster, kettle and microwave. Some of the villas had a washing machine but ours didn’t have one.

We were also supplied with a highchair and travel cot, however the travel cot smelt of baby milk sick with a splattering up the side that needed cleaning. The travel cot base was rock hard so we had to steal the furniture throw to try and soften the cot. I recommend you take your own travel cot, or at very least a mattress!

We had hoped to get away from the bonfire night celebrations in our city however Friday, Saturday, Sunday and Monday nights were riddled with fireworks being set off on the beach causing our dog to hyperventilate and shake. Furthermore, Saturday and Sunday nights saw fireworks being set of in the carpark next to our lodge. Not particularly dog friendly but also a serious fire risk. By Tuesday things had calmed down, but the dog was still nervous anticipating fireworks for the rest of the week.

On Tuesday morning an email was sent by reception to guests asking for fireworks not to be set off around the villas or the carpark. Advice was given to take fireworks 'down on to the beach and go several hundred yards along the beach, away from all of the buildings in the shop/restaurant area' if you did want to set them off. FYI Saunton Beach Villas - The law says you must not set off or throw fireworks (including sparklers) in the street or other public places, including beaches.

By Wednesday we had filled our bin and realised we had forgot extra bin bags. Popped up to reception to see if they had a spare and they wanted 15p for one bag! FYI 50p for a toilet roll.

The location is great, a fantastic area and close to stunning areas such as the amazing Braunton dunes, Croyde, Woolacombe, etc just around the corner. Exploring these areas with children and/or dogs is simply stunning. Local beach shop was lacking in even the basic provisions. The beach side restaurant has great food at a reasonable price just a 2 min walk from our lodge! Beach restaurant is simply stunning, popped in on Sunday night with only one other couple occupying the resultant, ordered surf and turf to share which was delicious and good value for money!

Overall our stay was ok but very disappointed for the price paid compared to places we have stayed previously aroind the same time of year along the north Devon coast and north Cornish coast. Comparable to a holiday park caravan and I would probably rather book a caravan next time for half the price!

In comparison to other places we have stayed, weighing up everything and value for money, this was by far the worst accommodation for the price we paid.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2017
Hi Josh

I'm sorry to hear about your bad experience and we'd like to apologise for this.

As you can see from our other reviews, we're normally known for our high standards of comfort and cleanliness, so we're very sorry that you feel we missed the mark this time.

I understand that you visited Reception on the first day of your stay to raise some concerns, at which point we did offer to arrange a re-clean for your Villa and did everything within our power to rectify the situation.

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the beauty of our local area, we agree that it's a stunning place to explore with the children and dogs!

Again, we're sorry that you were disappointed with your stay - if you'd like to discuss this further, please do get in touch. We're still happy to offer you a discounted break if this is something you'd like to take up in the future.

Kind regards
Saunton Beach Villas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TashB31
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Marvellous Stay”
Reviewed 11 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A VERY nice, relaxing stay, well needed. Great weather and views.

Despite my 24 year old male being slightly too big to stay in a single bed, they were very comfortable and good-sized rooms. Nice living space area to relax in the evenings.

Will be coming again to a spectacular area. Mid September was definitely the best time to come. The villas are well located and ideal for surfers/tourists, free parking included.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing