We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect stress reliever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Weeke Barton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunsford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Weeke Barton
Ranked #1 of 3 Dunsford B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“The perfect stress reliever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

The sun (and the mobile signal) had been left far behind and the last few miles were driven on wet roads in deepening gloom. The sat nav was resting quietly on the shelf back home in London (Doh!) and I was trusting the directions scribbled down from the hotel website.

I needn't have worried. Jo and Sam have got pretty much all bases covered with this remote but welcoming B&B on the edge of Dartmoor. Despite the absence of signage from the main road the house was found exactly as described. Bags dumped in room and Sam's offer of a welcoming cuppa saw the ultimate 'happy hour' spent in front of the wood burner in the lounge...all cares drifting away into the silence.

The 500-year old house has been tastefully and lovingly renovated (it is their home too after all) and it's like moving into a place of your own...albeit much nicer!

Evening dining (by prior arrangement) is a communal affair so if you are the type who wants privacy at mealtimes Weeke Barton probably isn't for you. Equally, if you really must have a mobile signal at all times and want to be able to watch your favourite TV programme then you'll be unlucky too - there's no phone or TV signal. There's excellent wi-fi throughout, however, and an extensive DVD library for the flat-screen monitor in your room.

And the bed...mmmm the bed. Mine was super king-size (if I'd brought a partner we'd have been sleeping on separate post codes!) and supersoft too.

With no one able to overlook my room I decadently decided to leave the curtains open and be woken by the dawn as the sun (yeah right...) came up over the moor. Jo's delicious breakfast of home made or local produce got the day off to a great start, apart from the sadness of actually having to leave.

Forget hatchet-face Blackpool landladies, this is a very different kind of B&B and much the better for it. With the modern road warrior's weaponry mostly disabled for the duration this must be the perfect place to de-stress.

Room Tip: There's no TV but all rooms have wifi and DVD players so if you need electronic entertainment br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rallyman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

stayed 3 nights in Weeke Barton over the bank holiday. Amazing house and nothing but pure relaxation. We loved the honesty bar and also the great dining area. Sam's supper was very good. There is wifi everywhere in the house which is very handy. See you next time. Sean & Gemma

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seano100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I'd definitely recommend this place for a quiet escape, with easy access to the countryside, biking, river swimming or country walks. Great location in the middle of the country, easy access to Dartmoor, Howden Forest and a peaceful retreat.

The house is well set up and very welcoming, as are the two that run the place. They helped us with recommendations on places to visit, restaurants, river swimming and anything that we could've asked of them. We spent the first night eating at the house and had a lovely 3 course meal, followed by breakfast outside in the garden.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeahReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

A weekend away with the family and it was very beautiful, relaxing and charming.
Sam was brilliant and and was there when you needed the Host.

I would recommend a stay there and enjoy the honesty bar in the lovely garden

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajesh197901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the way to Cornwall after visiting Glastonbury. Wow! What a lovely, relaxing place. Sam was the perfect host. He upgraded us to a larger room for free, and it wasn't long before we were taking advantage of the honesty bar out on the lawn in the sunshine.
We were the only ones there so weren't able to take advantage of the food, but Sam organised a taxi to a local Inn for dinner.
A beautiful place that was laid out really, really well with some great little touches. Just what we wanted.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom_JackAttack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Weeke Barton is in a beautiful location on the edge of the Dartmoor national Park. We stayed overnight on our way down to Cornwall. The room was very comfortable and the house had a lounge and cosy bar area, with honesty bar. Jo was very friendly and provided a delicious breakfast with homemade muesli and locally sourced sausages,eggs and bacon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Weeke Barton for one night on our way to Cornwall. First impressions were great- stunning old Longhouse set upon gorgeous grounds with a stylish interior to match. You can tell a lot of time, effort and money has been spent on the renovations and decor.

Unlike a lot of B&Bs that we have stayed in, there were lots of communal areas to relax in- a cosy living room with wood burning stove, a small honesty bar and a dining area.

We chose to have dinner there and the food was fantastic, as was the breakfast. Perfect portion sizes!

Sam and Jo were great hosts- nothing seemed too much trouble and it was interesting chatting to them.

Overall, a great place to stay- we will be back for sure!





  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpoon116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsford
0.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.0 mi away
Higher Weddicott Farm
Higher Weddicott Farm
#1 of 15 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weeke Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weeke Barton

Property: Weeke Barton
Address: Dunsford, Dartmoor National Park EX6 7HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Dunsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dunsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 double bedrooms with en-suite in a stylishly renovated longhouse set in Dartmoor National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Weeke Barton Dunsford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing