We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remote & relaxing”
Review of Weeke Barton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunsford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Weeke Barton
Ranked #1 of 3 Dunsford B&B and Inns
Bloomington, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Remote & relaxing”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Had a great two night stay and thoroughly enjoyed the B&B. We got miserably lost finding the place although I will never forget the drive through fields and very narrow lanes! Beautifully & tastefully restored longhouse with lots of history. We loved the cozy honesty bar with books & DVDs to borrow as well as the lounge with fireplace. Dinner of local fish stew was exceptional and Jo made a pasta dish for our 10 year old daughter to eat in the room which she thought was very special! Avalon's room was very comfortable and easily fit the extra twin bed. Really enjoyed meeting some lovely other guests at the communal dinner and breakfast table throughout our stay. Overall it was a great spot to stay that was off the beaten path but still close enough to explore the coastal areas. Jo suggested driving to the west coast over the high moor which was just beautiful. Sam and Jo have an outstanding spot and are very welcoming!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
51
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed at Weeke Barton for only one night (business trip but exploring the area as well) and wished that I had been with Sam and Jo for three or four nights if not more. Having "lost" my directions and called mother ship was talked in by Sam from Bridford (with no problem at all despite weather closing in). Rather special old building that has been worked on brilliantly - old beams and stone and some quirks (narrow staircase to bed but with some lovely old iron to hold onto). Seriously comfy room, bed and shower ensuite that fitted even my somewhat ample frame. Supper at a very friendly local pub. Book and a glass of wine in a cosy lounge on a cold and wet April night outside (warm and rather close to perfect inside in front of the wood-burner). Tasty breakfast - particular commendations go to the apple juice and the incredibly tasty and colourful eggs (guessing the chickens have a very healthy lifestyle). Looking forward to returning and trying out some of the walks from the house (perhaps concentrating on the two which have refreshment sites - one a local pub and the other a tea room part way along the route). To be recommended without doubt Adrian

Room Tip: Can`t say as didn`t have the chance to compare my very comfy room to the others - having said that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We made a one night stay on our return to Dartmoor after many years and this was a perfect re-introduction to the greener foothills of the moor and only 8 miles from Exeter yet isolated and slightly off the tourist routes. There are only 6 rooms and the owners do not advertise on the roadside (They prefer not to have casual walk-ins). We were the only residents and were made to feel very welcome by the young owners who escaped the London rat race for this charming spot overlooking the Teign Valley. The building was a Devon farm longhouse and has been tastefully restored with shabby chic furnishings (Check out the sumptuous leather suite in the lounge - second hand!) The hosts can provide a two course dinner with notice but no choice. We had a homemade steak and ale pie plus veg and a crumble plus custard for £18. Our room was Orla. A deep double ended bath sits in the bedroom and the bed is huge with soft Egyptian cotton bedding. The bathroom with shower was well appointed. There is interesting modern art work and photographs around the rooms which give the whole place a stylish feel. The honesty bar with spirits, wines, beers and ciders is a nice touch. Full English breakfast was nicely cooked if a little dainty. All in all a beautiful home, super rooms and very friendly hosts. Bidford nearby has a charming pub run intriguingly in rugby union territory, by an ex Castleford rugby league player. There are charming walks available around the village.

Room Tip: Orla is luxurious and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Lovely warm cosy yet contemporary London meets Devon rolling hills place to stay. Friendly hosts happy to help and great location for escaping to real countryside. The only thing that through us breakfast a wee bit on the lean and still hungry side but am sure we could have requested more! Well worth a cost and would be great to escape hiring all the rooms with friends.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyppasnappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

From the moment we arrived at the " hotel" we were not dissppointed. We found the dog roaming free in the beautiful grounds and the gorgeous 500 year old front door open!Jo and Sam could not have been more welcoming, making us tea on arrival. The place is old and quirky with great
features. We stayed in the room called Alfie. Very cosy,clean and simple but nicely decorated.
Dinner at night was every guest eating together around a long slate table; the hearty,homemade food was perfect.
Jo made us a table
reservation at the local pub-nothing was too much trouble.
We loved the snug with its honesty bar and range of dvds for your room.
All in all we had a superb stay- great location for wonderful walks on Dartmoor. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley-Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for weekend escape with husband and dog. We were very impressed, hosts Sam and Jo were attentive, yet relaxed hosts who had obviously put much care, research and country love into their super-cool Dartmoor Longhouse. Was perfectly situated for walks and Dartmoor forays further afield. Our room Otis had v comfy bed, super shower, soft towels and gorgeous Cornish toiletries which we immediately ordered online as they smelt so good. Local pubs were welcoming and served good honest tasty fare, too. Would heartily recommend. Jo and Sam share their home with warmth, welcoming smiles and a laid back, happy atmosphere. Scrumptious breakfasts, we both loved the home made granola and eggs are from farm next door.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Samfa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We found Weeke Barton through Mr&Mrs Smith and enjoyed two wonderful nights and three days there.

Sam and Jo are the perfect hosts - nothing is too much trouble and they truly are redefining what a B&B is.

From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome and instantly relaxed in the lounge with a welcome cup of tea (and juice for our six year old).

We opted for dinner on the first night and enjoyed a delicious home cooked meal by Jo, who kindly substituted items as I am GF - the GF crumble was such a treat! My husband enjoyed the Honesty Bar no end.

Meals are eaten in the dining room around a huge communal table which allows for interesting chats and a chance to meet the other guests.

The rooms (we actually stayed in both Orla and Avalon (Avalon being our favourite)) were beautiful - complete with first class beds, bedding and fab bathrooms. Flat screens sit on the wall, but there is no TV reception (fantastic in my opinion), but there is an interesting mix of DVDs in the bar should you wish to indulge.

Wifi is available throughout and is fast enough to power multiple streams (and Netflixs!) without any buffering.

The gardens (and fresh apples off the trees) and setting are truly spectacular with Jo and Sam happy to direct you in areas such as walking, eating locally and things to do. The Miniature Pony Sanctuary and Bovey Castle both went down a treat with us.

I'd happily recommend Weeke Barton to anyone who was thinking of going - you'll be enthusiastically welcomed and sink into a delicious relaxed state within minutes of arriving...the property and setting are fabulous in true Dartmoor style, but it is Sam and Jo who really set this place apart - thank you for the running routes and the plasters after my fall! We'll be back...

Room Tip: Orla's and Avalon's rooms offer more space for whippersnappers! Coco the dog doesn't li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snafflepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsford
0.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
0.0 mi away
Higher Weddicott Farm
Higher Weddicott Farm
#1 of 15 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weeke Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weeke Barton

Property: Weeke Barton
Address: Dunsford, Dartmoor National Park EX6 7HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Dunsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dunsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 double bedrooms with en-suite in a stylishly renovated longhouse set in Dartmoor National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Weeke Barton Dunsford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing