We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage for a quiet getaway, with easy...”
other travellers have booked this property
Middle cottage in row of 3
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Middle cottage in row of 3
Front of cottage on very quiet lane View over river Sid towards cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Middle cottage in row of 3
Front of cottage on very quiet lane
View over river Sid towards cottage
Living room
Living room
Kitchen/Dining area
Dining/Kitchen
Master bedroom
Bedroom 2
New bathroom 2016
Sun trap south facing rear garden
View from front bedroom
View from rear of cottage towards bridge
View from front of cottage
view down to cottage left
View from front in winter
View over pond towards rear of cottage in winter
Saxon bridge only metres from cottage.
Sidmouth Sea Front
Local scenery East Hill looking towards Ottery
View down to cottage from surrounding hills
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sidbury, Sidmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CavePaint...
London
1 review
“Perfect cottage for a quiet getaway, with easy access to East Devon/West Dorset”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Lovely cottage, beautifully presented with many thoughtful touches (fresh flowers, bathroom necessities, tea, coffee and all the major condiments, plus biscuits and milk - very welcome after a long drive down!) The garden's not a 'runaround' area, but it's perfect for alfresco eating and peaceful relaxation - surroundings are very quiet. When the weather gets a little chilly though, the gas fire / stove and two sofas in the sitting room are most welcome.
The bedrooms were a delight - best sleeps I've had in ages! - with an array of books, plus boardgames and plenty of space for two in the twin beds room (or alternatively a choice of 'which bed tonight' for one daughter!).
All communications from the owner were very helpful, friendly and informative - definitely recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2013
Good to hear that the holiday met with your expectations and that you enjoyed all of the little extras that are provided. Pleased also that you found the sleeping arrangements to your liking, many guests comment on having slept well at the cottage (us included) which is all part of the holiday and generally shows that you are relaxed.
Thank you for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally2208
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful countryside”
Reviewed 6 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This cottage had everything we could have asked for and more. Peaceful setting in wonderful countryside. The weather was good as well. Just the place for my husband to recuperate after his back operation the previous week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location.
Liked least: Downstairs toilet.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2013
Glad that you had such a lovely break with the best weather for quite some time.
As you say, the perfect place to recuperate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbrown26
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Batteries Re-charged!”
Reviewed 5 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

As others have already said this really is a beautiful cottage and is set in such a pretty place - it really is a great place to escape and forget the rest of the world! The beds are very comfy and our little boy (aged 5) slept well & thought it was a really great 'holiday house'. We explored the area with the fishing nets and visited some lovely places. The most outstanding was Becky Falls - in the holiday periods there are talks on all sorts of animals and great trails to follow - though really not suitable for buggies etc - it is breathtaking. Great chip shop (Bloaters) in Sidford and also some great pubs Hare & Hound and The Blue Ball all worthy of a visit. There were only a couple of minor things that would have improved this holiday - the fire in the inglenook was a gas fire and not a woodburner (my husband and little boy love a fire) and to make matters worse - wasn't working either. Steven (the owner) did try to arrange for this to be fixed whilst we were there but unfortunately, this did not happen. It was very cold this week and we found the lounge was a little chilly without it. The only other downside is the back garden - I can understand that paving is easier to manage but after our little boy tumbled & hurt his wrist and hand we decided that the surrounding fields were a better place to play. This cottage has many positives and great care has been taken inside the property - we really did not want to leave today - another few days would have been grand! We are very thankful that Steven allowed us to arrive a few hours earlier to beat the traffic too - greatly appreciated. Truly memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Garden
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We have carried out a lot of upgrading recently and the cottage is in graet condition. It was a shame about the fire, it failed just a few days before the guests arrival and everything possible was done to sort out the problem. unfortunately the part required did not arrive before departure. There is also a very good central heating system in the cottage which is generally all that is needed. The garden is laid mainly to patio and is more an area for relaxing. There are wide open spaces next to the cottage for the more active to play games etc.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaxster73
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quaint cottage oozing with character”
Reviewed 22 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We spent New Year in this beautiful cottage and didn’t want to leave. From the minute we stepped through the door it was a dream come true. The cottage is oozing with character from its low ceilings, latched doors, comfy sofas and beautiful river views. The cottage was so cosy and for the time of year we did worry it might be a little cold there but the heating kept us toastie and we loved having a roaring fire going in the evenings after a lovely long walk down the lanes.
The cottage was packed with everything you could possibly need. The owners have left nothing out and we really did want for nothing. The kitchen was equipped with every essential and everything we used was spotlessly clean. There were lots of little extras we hadn’t expected like breakfast cereals, bread and milk and even lovely toiletries for our arrival all creating a real home from home experience. The village of Sidbury is possibly one of the prettiest villages we’ve visited. Full of beautiful thatched cottages, river walks and a fab local pub (The Red Lion) which was very welcoming to our family. I’d like to have kept this our secret so we can book it without any worry of it being booked up but the owners Jill and Steve deserve the recognition. They have created a little gem here, they look after you from booking to leaving and will definitely be getting our booking again this year. (if they can fit us in).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: home from home comfort
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2013
We really appreciate such a great review, this really does encourage us to keep on with the improvements where possibe. You will find a number of changes the next time you visit. The most important thing for us to hear is that you had a great holiday. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardinal5...
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent self-catering choice!”
Reviewed 20 January 2013 for a stay in October 2012

My husband and I stayed in Topaz Cottage for 5 nights in October, 2012....wish we could have stayed longer. It was our first visit to the Sidmouth, Devon area. The weather wasn't the best , but we made the most of our brief time there. The cottage is very comfortable with adequate sitting room, separate kitchen, full bathroom on ground floor and 2 bedrooms upstairs. Parking is right outside the front door. Little extras left in the kitchen cupboards and bathroom make this place like 'home' right away.

The cottage is in a quaint Devon village with stone houses and thatched roofs. We took time to visit Sidmouth, Budleigh Salterton and the Donkey Sanctuary which is a short drive away. We loved the Donkey Sanctuary and would have made a second visit if better weather. For animal lovers it is a most enjoyable and informative place to visit, also has a delightful restaurant.

We had meals at the Otter Inn near Budleigh Salterton and the Hare and Hounds closer to Honiton. Both served our favourite - carvery - one on Sunday and one mid-week. We also spent a beautiful sunny day in Exeter - a lovely town. We drove to the Honiton rail station and took a brief train ride to the centre of Exeter and returned in the evening. The local bus to Sidmouth also stops in Sidbury so no need to drive if you prefer to take the bus.

We have no problem in recommending this property to anyone looking to spend a few days or longer in rural Devon. We hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent condition of the property
Liked least: The rainy weather!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2013
Thank you for a great review. Sorry about the weather it was the story of last year as we all know. But as you found out you can still have a wonderful holiday whatever the weather at Topaz cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrinalo...
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Fab little Cottage in an idyllic location”
Reviewed 17 January 2012 for a stay in February 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Home from home and then more some! Stayed several times at Topaz when we were looking to re-locate to East Devon as its in an ideal location. Weather was fab so we were able to enjoy the cottage inside and out, nothing beats breakfast in the sunshine listening to the birds singing. The cottage was immaculate, the beds were comfy, the lounge cosy and a short walk to the local pub ........ idyllic! The owners were also very helpfull, suggesting places to eat and areas to visit, would not hesitate in recommending this as a 'romantic' getaway for a couple or as a holiday for a family ...... in any situation its the perfect place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2012
Thank you for a great review, it's been a while since you stayed and we have improved the cottage even more since then.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Reviewed 3 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Wife could not find a sweeping brush
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Oct 2011
Thank you for such a great review, it encourages us to try even harder to make your stay a perfect one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing