We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best rental we have stayed in anywhere in the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Middle cottage in row of 3
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Middle cottage in row of 3
Front of cottage on very quiet lane View over river Sid towards cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Middle cottage in row of 3
Front of cottage on very quiet lane
View over river Sid towards cottage
Living room
Living room
Kitchen/Dining area
Dining/Kitchen
Master bedroom
Bedroom 2
New bathroom 2016
Sun trap south facing rear garden
View from front bedroom
View from rear of cottage towards bridge
View from front of cottage
view down to cottage left
View from front in winter
View over pond towards rear of cottage in winter
Saxon bridge only metres from cottage.
Sidmouth Sea Front
Local scenery East Hill looking towards Ottery
View down to cottage from surrounding hills
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sidbury, Sidmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
christine...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best rental we have stayed in anywhere in the world!”
Reviewed 5 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This is a superb rental where the owners have paid attention to the needs of everyone. Superbly furnihsed ...2 comfortable 2 seater lounges, garden furniture, comfortable beds! Wish we had stayed longer

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Well we have had some great reviews and some that also said it was the best cottage that they had ever stayed in. It's always our aim to make sure that guests have a memorable holiday by providing the best we can at the best price we can. Our guests Christine and Steve had travelled from Australia so the very hot weather must have been very familiar. Thank you for a brilliant review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Mar 2018
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased when guests go away happy and look forward to another stay as a growing number are doing. Getting great reviews does not make us rest on our laurels though it actually encourages us to improve even more so thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to hearing from you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RustyBrit
Pickering, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Total comfort and boundless amenities”
Reviewed 12 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This was our second visit to Steve's listed property in this beautiful little Devon locale. He makes sure that you want for nothing in the way of start-up. Tea, coffee, sugar, milk, and lots more in the kitchen, plus all necessary toiletries in the brand new bathroom. The cottage is immaculate, warm and welcoming.
My only regret is that we cannot go there every year, but the trip from Canada is a bit too much at our age.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2017
A very welcome review from our guests from Canada. The long list of supplies is something that our guests really appreciate along with a cottage and location that you really don't want to leave. Always a pleasure to have such pleasant and appreciative guests, hope to welcome you back at some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbury2...
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in the country”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage had some rave reviews and it didn't disappoint. It had everything we could possible want apart from wifi - but a bit of digital detox can be a blessing.
Lovely quiet village - excellent host.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thank you for your review, always pleased when guests are.
Funny you should mention the WI-Fi, we had fast Broadband installed on 17th which was only days after you left. It has not been uncommon for guests to say how nice it was without a connection but now due to recent increasing demand you have a choice, how many will manage to resist.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol,UK
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Everything is provided apart from bath towels and it is very good value.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Thank you Richard, a very nice review that we really appreciate, it describes the cottage very well. We do try to provide all the basic things that guests will need saving a late rush to the shops, we book holiday cottages every year and have never found anywhere yet that supply the range of items that we do. Always pleased to hear from you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, the most important factor for us is that you enjoyed the cottage as well as the holiday, we continuously improve the cottage to make sure that everyone that stays has a memorable holiday and be tempted back at some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
susangill...
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sweet cottage that ticked all the boxes”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Great little cottage which had all we needed for our family 4 adults and 9month baby. Stephen was very helpful and was keen to make our stay enjoyable. Would recommend only tricky thing was having 2 cars as parking was a slight problem.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review, pleased you all enjoyed your week at the cottage, sorry you had a slight problem with the parking, not something that has ever been mentioned over the years. Normally only one other car parks there and it is possible to park 4, I guess having the 2 cars can make it trickier.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing