We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Sid Valley Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sid Valley Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sidbury
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My mum and her partner have been visiting Sid Valley Hotel for ages however this was only my second stay. I had the same room with the jacuzzi bath in the en suite as I had before which is wonderful, and as the sun was shining we were able to enjoy some very generously proportioned G&T's on the balcony. The hotel is immaculately clean and there are flowers everywhere. We were made to feel very welcome and are already planing the next visit where we are going to stay in one of the self catered cottages. I can't recommend Sid Valley highly enough!

PS the lovely little cinema in Sidmouth is well worth a visit of an evening, retro in just the right way

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toothfairy789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

Sid Valley Country Hotel is hidden away in a peaceful valley but close to the Devon coast.. A lovely family run hotel , where you feel welcome and comfortable. Our room was huge with a large balcony overlooking fabulous views of the valley. After just one night we felt rested and relaxed. I can honestly say that this was one of the most comfortable hotels I have stayed in.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
Thank Dab65190730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Restful quiet country hotel off the beaten track in the Sid Valley.
Excellent rooms beautifully fitted and generous size. Ours had a magnificent view down the valley.
Owners very friendly and go out of their way to make you welcome. Unfortunately whilst there our host was recovering from an op so we were unable to have an evening meal ( He is also the Chef and if breakfast is a guide a good one too!) This did not stop him from being around and helpful and trust back to full fitness soon.
Well worth a stop over. Good size pool for the keen.
Nearby Sidbury has a magnificent church which should be visited. We Missed the guided tour as only Thursday at 3:00pm. Don't miss the Donkey Sanctuary they need visitors.

Room Tip: Above the dining room and enjoy the' large ' balcony. We did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyPuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

We keep returning, we shall be there again at Christmas, this hotel is addictive you'll know what we mean if you try it . We stumbled on this place about 5 years ago, and all of our family at least call in when they're in the area. There's always a welcoming atmosphere

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brecknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Had a lovely nights stay here a few weekends ago, we were looking for somewhere dog friendly to stay in sidmouth, and came across this place,

Easy to find, impressive views, and very clean and comfortable accomodation and great hosts!

would highly reccommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We were given a Red Letter voucher for our silver wedding anniversary last year and had not had a chance to use it, so we decided we would have a night away in April, on searching the hotels available, this one popped up and as Sidmouth is one of our favourite places we thought we would give it a go.

We booked an extra night as well and as we glad we did. The owners are really friendly and more than willing to help with anything you needed. Beautiful setting in the countryside.

Would defintely recommend for a romantic weekend away

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I would like to tell you about my experience visiting this true countryside gem.

alas, first I would like to laugh out loud at the more than hilarious (albeit absurd and false) comments listed below.

Im sure that anybody with the slightest bit of sense would be able to scan through other reviews and realise that the overall opinion is that of a very enjoyable stay.

One cant help but assume that False comments tell you more about the people that write them.

Gosh, I suppose they should start doing a 'guest advisor' for opinions of us as guests given by the establishments that we descend upon!

I digress..

The stay was, as it has been in the past, everything and more than I could have hoped for!

Location - Perfect
Hotel - Clean
Food - OUT OF THIS WORLD!
Sense of humour - HILARIOUS (Boring people should steer well clear!)

All in all, a fantastic establishment - However clearly not suited to people who just enjoy to be miserable!

As long as you don hate life and everything about it, you'll love the Sid Valley!

Room Tip: The Rooms in the main Hotel are all Beautiful and very high spec. The Courtyard Self Catering cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomLND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidbury
3.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
468 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T
4.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
557 reviews
4.0 mi away
Royal Glen Hotel
Royal Glen Hotel
#13 of 13 in Sidmouth
136 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sid Valley Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sid Valley Country Hotel

Address: Nr. Sidmouth, Sidbury, Sidmouth EX10 OQJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth > Sidbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sidbury
Price Range: £108 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sid Valley Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 7 acres of outstanding natural beauty, this country house hotel with cottages and a heated outdoor pool offers a relaxed atmosphere, professional service and luxurious surroundings. The hotel is a previous winner of 'Small Hotel of the Year' in the South-West Tourism Excellence Awards. Offering traditional elegance in all seasons, the country house hotel and cottages are convenient for Sidmouth, Exeter and Dartmoor. The Sid Valley is ideal for discovering Devon’s inland areas and coastline. Leisure and business guests are provided with spacious and comfortably furnished lounges, a cosy bar and an excellent restaurant providing home-prepared food from the best of local produce. Bread is freshly baked every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your Sid Valley Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sid Valley Country Devon
Sid Valley Country Hotel Sidbury, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing