We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sid Valley Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sidbury
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed for 4 nights during August and thought that the apartment was very clean and well equipped. The views are stunning and the swimming pool was very nice. It's great if you have a dog, which we did, as they have a field just next door for them to run around in which makes life so much easier. The tennis court is very good. Sarah and Stephen were very friendly and helpful and the whole place had a very relaxed atmosphere.
We were a bit disappointed that we couldn't eat in the hotel in the evening, we did venture up to the Hare and Hounds (pub 5 mins drive away) to eat but thought the food was pretty awful.
Although the weather let us down we enjoyed our stay the only thing I would say is that I thought it was slightly overpriced, we were even charged £15 a day for the dog, I wasn't told about this when booking. Also the wifi only worked in reception.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charlotte O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed three nights in room 6, twin beds complete with wetroom en-suite with Jacuzzi shower. Cannot really add to the previous reviews - agree with all of them. Only thing we cant comment on is the food - didn't have breakfast and were informed that evening meals are not provided during August. We were a little disappointed with this because I don't think it is mentioned on the website. Shame because the dining room looked really nice and all the reviews looked promising. We ate at the Hare & Hounds 5 minutes back up the road to Honiton.
Very busy and better than average pub food so no problems eating - bit of a twisty road down into Sidmouth but plenty of eating places there. The hotel is in a stunning location but apart from the swimming pool, tennis court and local walks you will need your car to get about.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonesyboy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel offers the most beautiful vista across the opposite rising fields and hills filled with sheep, horses and the sounds of birds of prey & owls at night. A lovely pool and a very decent tennis court is there to use, and use them we did!
A few things we'd suggest were improved: the living area in our place was tiny, proper tiny. A massive dishwasher took up limited space, and really it would be better used with a small washing machine. My wife felt the furnishings/plumbings could be modernised, we had one or two minor issues. The wifi only works in reception, and whilst the hotel is very dog friendly there aren't routes on foot from the hotel avoiding roads or high stiles.
Stephen and Sarah et al were lovely, and Sidmouth is a lovely town (about 15mins away)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank tonyabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A very relaxing hotel set in perfect surroundings. Superb hosts, fine wines and very very clean. What more can be said except " VISIT". Very good facilities. Ample parking. Very very quiet. Excellent food. We have stayed twice now.

Room Tip: All good but we stayed in " The Hay Barn"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 4860wall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Looking for a Pet Friendly hotel & found the Sid Valkey on line. What a little gem. Stephen & Sarah couldn't have done enough for us & Hugo our lovely little Pomeranian. The hotel met all our needs. The room was lovely with a gorgeous bathroom. The grounds the hotel is set in are breathtaking,good swimming pool, with nice chair beds. Our evening meal was very good. Sarah made my husband a French onion soup, which was excellent. I can't say enough, all was so nice. We will be back, maybe later this year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank clairju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

A wonderful place to chill out with perfect hosts. Hotel or self catering cottages are brilliant to stay in. Would recommend to all.Stayed in the Stables, a lovely self catering cottage which looks over the Valley

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were expecting a fairly run of the mill establishment but were delighted with what we found at the Sid valley. It is situated in the most idyllic setting in the dip of the serene Sid valley. We stayed in the stable ( we had a tour of the hotel by the owners son and a choice of rooms). This was a self catering unit but doubled as a very comfortable and cosy en suite bedroom.
The view from the veranda was stunning and owls swooped over head as we sipped our late evening def caff tea.. The place is so peaceful we could have happily stayed for a week rather than our one night stop over.
Breakfast was very good with fresh local produce and an equally stunning view from the dining room. Be aware that dinner is not served every night and we had to order in a Chinese but it was fine.
Beware if you are using sat nav, we ended up down a pot holed lane half a mile from the hotel ( this is being looked into) don't panic , keep going, paradise is just at the end of the lane!

Room Tip: All rooms and self catering look equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guernsey50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidbury
3.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
468 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T
4.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
557 reviews
4.0 mi away
Royal Glen Hotel
Royal Glen Hotel
#13 of 13 in Sidmouth
137 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sid Valley Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sid Valley Country Hotel

Address: Nr. Sidmouth, Sidbury, Sidmouth EX10 OQJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth > Sidbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sidbury
Price Range: £109 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sid Valley Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 7 acres of outstanding natural beauty, this country house hotel with cottages and a heated outdoor pool offers a relaxed atmosphere, professional service and luxurious surroundings. The hotel is a previous winner of 'Small Hotel of the Year' in the South-West Tourism Excellence Awards. Offering traditional elegance in all seasons, the country house hotel and cottages are convenient for Sidmouth, Exeter and Dartmoor. The Sid Valley is ideal for discovering Devon’s inland areas and coastline. Leisure and business guests are provided with spacious and comfortably furnished lounges, a cosy bar and an excellent restaurant providing home-prepared food from the best of local produce. Bread is freshly baked every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Sid Valley Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sid Valley Country Devon
Sid Valley Country Hotel Sidbury, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing