We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Endsleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Endsleigh
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A real Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This has to be the best weekend my husband and I have ever had. The hotel is stunning, the staff faultless and the food is so good we are still talking about it. We are already planning our next visit, bringing the whole family with us next time. This is a real Gem, so much so that we might actually keep it to ourselves and not tell anybody about it. A wonderful, magical weekend. Mrs R Powell

Room Tip: We had a high, roll top bath in our room and no shower. We were more than happy with this but older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twizzlepowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    72
    28
    19
    9
See reviews for
68
245
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We arrived on the Friday night in the worst possible weather - but were quickly welcomed and settled into our room, and then down for dinner, completely forgetting the awful journey we'd had. We spent the entire weekend by the huge log fire in the library, reading the amazing collection of books and enjoying a glorious afternoon tea. We did briefly venture out, had a quick visit to Tavistock and Dartmoor, but really, we were quite content to stay in - such is the comfort of this elegant hotel. The staff, mostly young, are excellent and the hotel simply appears to glide along seamlessly. Our room, 4, had original Georgian shutters which simply blotted out the gale going on outside. The bed was very comfortable and the linen superb. We cannot wait to go back in the Spring to see the gardens coming into their full glory. A truly lovely place to unwind.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianaofdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Is this the best hotel in the UK? Possibly - at least of the ones I've stayed at. First, booking: the website is extremely helpful in showing photos of each of the individual rooms, which made choosing one so much easier. All of the rooms recommended on trip advisor were already booked, so we booked room 6. We thought about getting a room on the top floor, to avoid the noise of people walking around on top of you, but decided against it as people had mentioned a steep flight of stairs leading to the top floor, and we were bringing our 3 month old baby ... Room 6 turned out to be a great choice: large, beautifully furnished and well laid out. It did face the 'front' of the hotel rather than the river, so there were some cars parked below, but it wasn't remotely noisy, and there was a nice view of garden to the left and the old stable block and clock tower in front of you. Surprisingly, room 6 is classed as a standard room, but - as I think the website says - it was anything but.

At many luxury hotels you get the sense that there is a lot of behind the scenes fussing and stress in order to produce the smooth running of the operation - an example is the Feversham Arms in North Yorkshire, where we stayed recently. You don't sense that at all at Hotel Endsleigh; it feels instead like you are staying at a friend's stately home, but without the atmosphere being too intimate. It never felt like there were many staff around, but you always had exactly what you needed and never had to wait for anything.

The grounds are absolutely stunning. The Tamar Valley seems to have a bit of a microclimate going on, where it feels very lush and rainforest-like. The grounds were full of lovely ferns and other larger than life plants. The croquet lawn is also a beautiful vantage point from which to view the river and valley. This would be a superb venue for a wedding.

As mentioned, we brought our 3 month old baby along, and I think they handled this beautifully. We were offered a travel cot (which we didn't need) and when we arrived we found that a nappy bin had been left in the bathroom - very useful. At dinner time, we were invited to dine in a room adjoining the main dining room, but in no way felt like we were obliged to. We ended up doing both during our stay: our baby was asleep in his car seat during dinner so he wasn't disturbing anyone. For toddlers and young children, I believe you are encouraged to dine early in the evening, so they can yell to their hearts' content.

The breakfasts were fantastic: again, I think the best I have had at a UK hotel. There was a buffet of fresh fruit, cereal, homemade granola, orange juice and pastries. You could then order a cooked breakfast a la carte: full English, eggs benedict / royale, kippers etc. My favourite was the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon - very high quality salmon and perfectly executed eggs. We also had dinner there every night and this was very good too; not haute cuisine exactly, but we didn't want that.

The whole experience is best described as effortless luxury, in a stunningly beautiful setting. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6, which has marginally more noise than some other rooms (as it faces the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgamarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I almost don't want to write about Hotel Endsleigh, in case too many people find it. We love the house and the peaceful valley it is in. The food is excellent and the service quiet, professional and friendly. We have stayed there four times now and whenever we need to wind down and have some calm time, its to Endsleigh we go. We have stayed in a variety of rooms and all of them have been equally well appointed and comfortable. Actually, we haven't even taken our family there ...

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the garden, but all are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Totally smitten by this place. Endsleigh just won our hearts when we stayed there for a special occasion night on their recent offer of dinner bed and breakfast in gloomy January. We came through fog on the moor to this beautiful quirky hotel which with the morning light we found was nestled in the most fantastic river valley. So like staying in a private country house - it is elegant and discreet with open fires and cosy niches to curl up sip wine and read a book or chat. Our room overlooked playing fountains and the river valley and with both a bathroom and a shower room was very spacious. We had an excellent meal in the panelled dining room which culminated in the best pudding I have ever eaten - a lavender pannacotta with effervescent chocolate and an apple sorbet - just amazing. We shall definitely be back and now will have a real problem in choosing between Endsleigh and its sister hotel the Tresanton.

Room Tip: overlooking the gardens if poss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwsw20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We went to Hotel Endsleigh for New Years's eve and had the most wonderful time. Dinner was served in the stables dining room and it was just lovely. The food and how the staff looked after us was second to none. The highlight of the evening was the fireworks at midnight - a magical way to end the evening! Thank you so much for a wonderful night x

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spacegirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Having thoroughly enjoyed a stay last summer at the Endsleigh and their sister hotel Tresanton we took advantage of a promotion sent to us to book a 2 night stay between Christmas and New Year, emphasizing that it was a special occasion for us and we wanted a garden view if possible.
We were not at all welcomed when we checked in, the room (11) we were allocated was cold and rather stark and tired, overlooking the car park - we said that we were not happy with the room but were told that the hotel was full and that they were very busy and there was nothing that could be done - we were taken aback by their unhelpful nature - so so different from our previous experience.
We asked to speak to the manager but were told that she was unavailable - they also told us that we they shouldn't have booked us in at the promotional rate at this time of the year and that their policy was to charge in full if we didn't stay.
We were so disappointed with what we were experiencing we decided to check out immediately and look for another hotel.
Fortunately Gidleigh Park welcomed us and we enjoyed a fantastic stay there.
We emailed the manager about our experience and quite rightly she apologized and refunded our deposit.
Previously we were recommending this hotel to family and friends, with this experience we can no longer do so.
Something has changed since our previous stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Abbot
6.3 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
18.7 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
4.6 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
4.1 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Endsleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Endsleigh

Property: Hotel Endsleigh
Address: Milton Abbot, Milton Abbot PL19 0PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Milton Abbot
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton Abbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Endsleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Endsleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Endsleigh Hotel Tavistock
Hotel Endsleigh Devon/Milton Abbot, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing