We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Country Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Eels Foot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Eels Foot Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Eastbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good Country Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Visited with a group of friends recently. Ideal location for Minsmere and some great walks. Surprised at some comments regarding the staff. We found the publican most accomodatiing. particularly regarding one of our party who has dietary problems; he went out of his way to satisfy.
We all had lunch with pub standards such as ham, eggs and chips, scampi etc being well prepared and using good ingredients. Portions were just right and the beer excellent.
Nothing to complain about at all.
We will be back

Room Tip: We did not stay over
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    88
    20
    9
    0
See reviews for
33
146
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London,England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a proper country pub well away from the hubbub. It is well situated for a walk to the beach (35 mins) or Minsmere bird reserve. The room was comfortable and there seemed to be no expense spared - quality fixtures & fittings, toiletries etc. The bed was a bit harder than we like but we both slept well. The pub is a good place to spend an evening - all friendly and lots of good beer. The food was quite good but we did send some salmon back that was under cooked. Portions were only moderate sized. Food service was quite slow - as was the case with the very good cooked breakfast. Not good if you were in a hurry. There is little sound proofing in the accommodation block and so you can hear neighbouring guests' comings and goings clearly. Fortunately, for us this was just another couple turning in for the night. The rooms are also surrounded by the pub garden so it could be a bit noisy on a summer evening, I imagine. In the morning, we were awoken by birdsong, though. So, there are a couple of shortcomings (slow food, *potentially* noisy rooms) which prevent it getting 5 stars from me but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for an upstairs room so you get no noise from room above and wouldn't have people walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singlereed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Parked in car park and went for a lovely 5 mile circular walk and then went and had an excellent lunch which was good value and staff were very pleasant. The pub is also dog friendly so were able to take our dog in with us. I would recommend this pub

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ladybird622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed for a few days in the campsite behind the pub. What more could you want - superb food - excellent beer and ultra friendly publican and staff. The music night is not to be missed with great entertainment.
Being next to Minsmere and close to the sea is a bonus. Add to that good walking and great views and we will return.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandB39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Visited the pub based on recent reviews and we where not diss appointed staffs where very helpful and the landlord was a great help with every thing nothing was to much trouble and the food was to die for and we'll cooked and cooked with care and passion we will be returing very very soon for another amazing experience we'll done eels foot

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Travis178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Tried this pub whilst on a walking holiday, and based on the reviews.
We wish we hadn't. The food was typical pub fare, but was all obviously from frozen catering packs and looked like it.
My Whitebait was breaded(?) and dry, and my wife's Lasagne tasted as if purchased from Iceland(the store).
The Beers are great and the staff very pleasant and helpful, but if want to enjoy your food look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Biasbowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We happened to be staying when there was entertainment that night. Great atmosphere, friendly welcoming staff. Had a really enjoyable evening. Room was clean and well appointed. Lovely homely feel with a beautiful view from window. Breakfast was filling and relaxing with a really good choice and was really tasty. Will be returning!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastbridge
1.9 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
5.8 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
3.7 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eels Foot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eels Foot Inn

Property: The Eels Foot Inn
Address: Leiston Road, Eastbridge IP16 4SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Eastbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eels Foot Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Eels Foot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Eels Foot Hotel Eastbridge
The Eels Foot Inn Eastbridge, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing