We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food , poor service”
Review of The Eels Foot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Eels Foot Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Eastbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average food , poor service”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We came here as a party of six. Four adults, a 13 yr old and a 3 yr old. We ordered our food and considering the pub hadn't long been open for food one of the choices wasn't available....this was only told to us half an hour after ordering. The food arrived an hour and 10 mins after ordering, luckily the three yr old wasn't starving!, the food was ok, nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    94
    24
    10
    1
See reviews for
41
154
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We love this pub, and often walk the 10mile round trip from Dunwich Beach car park , with the Eels foot being our half way point and lunch stop.
The pub is very dog friendly , and I would say that for the past 18 months that we have eaten here every couple of months and have never had a bad meal.
Sadly today though we did notice a change , I can only assume they have had a change of chef , portion size has been cut (especially on the lasagne) and it wasn't quite as good as we have come to expect.
This is not a cheap pub to eat in , and previously I would have said it was worth the money , but sadly not today.
I really do hope they take notice of comments ( we did voice our concern whilst there ) as this is a lovely friendly dog welcoming pub and one of our favourite walks on a Sunday .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Visited with a group of friends recently. Ideal location for Minsmere and some great walks. Surprised at some comments regarding the staff. We found the publican most accomodatiing. particularly regarding one of our party who has dietary problems; he went out of his way to satisfy.
We all had lunch with pub standards such as ham, eggs and chips, scampi etc being well prepared and using good ingredients. Portions were just right and the beer excellent.
Nothing to complain about at all.
We will be back

Room Tip: We did not stay over
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a proper country pub well away from the hubbub. It is well situated for a walk to the beach (35 mins) or Minsmere bird reserve. The room was comfortable and there seemed to be no expense spared - quality fixtures & fittings, toiletries etc. The bed was a bit harder than we like but we both slept well. The pub is a good place to spend an evening - all friendly and lots of good beer. The food was quite good but we did send some salmon back that was under cooked. Portions were only moderate sized. Food service was quite slow - as was the case with the very good cooked breakfast. Not good if you were in a hurry. There is little sound proofing in the accommodation block and so you can hear neighbouring guests' comings and goings clearly. Fortunately, for us this was just another couple turning in for the night. The rooms are also surrounded by the pub garden so it could be a bit noisy on a summer evening, I imagine. In the morning, we were awoken by birdsong, though. So, there are a couple of shortcomings (slow food, *potentially* noisy rooms) which prevent it getting 5 stars from me but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for an upstairs room so you get no noise from room above and wouldn't have people walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singlereed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Parked in car park and went for a lovely 5 mile circular walk and then went and had an excellent lunch which was good value and staff were very pleasant. The pub is also dog friendly so were able to take our dog in with us. I would recommend this pub

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ladybird622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, UK
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed for a few days in the campsite behind the pub. What more could you want - superb food - excellent beer and ultra friendly publican and staff. The music night is not to be missed with great entertainment.
Being next to Minsmere and close to the sea is a bonus. Add to that good walking and great views and we will return.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandB39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Visited the pub based on recent reviews and we where not diss appointed staffs where very helpful and the landlord was a great help with every thing nothing was to much trouble and the food was to die for and we'll cooked and cooked with care and passion we will be returing very very soon for another amazing experience we'll done eels foot

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Travis178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastbridge
1.9 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
795 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
708 reviews
3.7 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
660 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,015 reviews
3.3 mi away
Trustans Barn
Trustans Barn
#1 of 1 in Darsham
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eels Foot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eels Foot Inn

Property: The Eels Foot Inn
Address: Leiston Road, Eastbridge IP16 4SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Eastbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eels Foot Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Eels Foot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Eels Foot Hotel Eastbridge
The Eels Foot Inn Eastbridge, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing