We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub excelent accomodation”
Review of Ship Inn Blaxhall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ship Inn Blaxhall
Ranked #1 of 2 Blaxhall B&B and Inns
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good pub excelent accomodation”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We have used the Ship for four visits and have found it to be a good traditional pub with excellent chalets.
The place improves every time we visit with helpfull friendly staff.Toby is a definate asset when it comes to making you welcome.
Breakfasts are super ,food is hot and well cooked.
Evening and lunch time menu is limited but once again the food is well prepared and delicious.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronwbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    42
    15
    16
    6
See reviews for
24
58
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We have just returned from a week exploring Suffolk. We spent 3 nights at The Ship Inn in Blaxhall. Our Chalet was very good, immaculately clean, well appointed, piping hot water and heating. The staff & managers/owners are generally friendly. However we left a little disappointed. Not helped I'm sure by a break in but the place seems to be run on the back of a fag packet?

The menu is very disappointing and fails to deliver. We had a decent sunday lunch but all the other food was pretty poor. Breakfast started off terrible but by day 3 was decent. Breakfast waitress/cook locked us out one morning, she didn't once say good morning?

This place should be booming!! The menu need massive modernisation, with so many great places to eat round and about, The Ship Inn is way off the pace here.

They unbelievably only do food 12-2 & 6-9, captive audience!!! Hello!

New impetus/direction required

Room Tip: we stayed in the older chalets and they were very good, so I imagine the newer ones are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulandellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n0rf0lkgal, Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
We are sorry you felt disappointed about your stay and the food provided. As you so rightly say, there was room for improvement. However, at the time of your stay, we were in the throes of a major change of management.

Since then we feel that we have made a great progress with regard to changes in the menu, upgrading the chalet booking system, and improvements to management in general. The Ship Inn remains a genuine country pub, and we strive to provide a high standard of food, drink and accommodation. We hope you will return to see for yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames Valley
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Already a centre for those in the know about folk music and folk singing, this inn basically reminded us of the kros, or inns, we'd come across in Denmark. The rooms are scrupulously clean and highly comfortable. We liked the way a pint of milk and some orange juice was put in a fridge in an area just off the bed room for making drinks. The fridge was large enough to store overnight the various local cheeses and fish we bought the day before our departure. We were very grateful for this as this area of Suffolk is a foodie's paradise. (St Delia herself recommended the hams from Emmetts in Peasenhall which is just up the road)
The showers are effective and all sanitaryware modern: the bed was well sprung and highly comfortable. What helped with the good night's sleep is the quiet and the lack of street lighting. Anyone interested in astronomy would love it here as the air is unpolluted and there is little to disrupt the light of the stars beaming straight and clear. The Ship is said to be the best place to see the sunset in Suffolk and we can believe it - in autumn the sunset is awesome.
Dinners are available in the Inn: portions are generous and the variety surprising. Quality is good too, however, you need to make sure you book a table as it is a very popoluar place with locals. Not the place for a romantic tete a tete as there is little space between tables, however, the atmosphere is bustly and fun. If you're lucky you might catch one of the music events. Any of the fish and seafood dishes is heartily recommended.
A highlight of the stay is the breakfast which is huge and, like all the meals served, is centred round local produce.
Blaxhall is a village conveniently situated near main roads. It has a beautiful church and wide expanses of fields. It is not the place to stay if you want a frantic night life but if you want a quiet break not too far away from the sea with some fascinating places to visit either by the sea or inland, this is a good place to consider staying.
The Ship is a place where no one will fuss you but where you will receive a warm welcome, good value for money and a chance to be as busy or as relaxed as you choose.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a really good standard and very comfortable. For a good sunset view ask to be at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddieThamesValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2011

The breakfast was cold, think it had probably been prepared earlier and microwaved as there was no smell of it being cooked fresh, the sausage was well cremated, the toast as hard as rock, the coffee cold, no jams or marmalade with the toast and the only choice of cereal was several packets of coco pops with just two packets of cornflakes. The rooms were basic but very clean and so cannot be faulted in this respect. However, the right hand did not seem to know what the left hand was doing in terms of who had booked each room, where and for how long ?

Room Tip: call to check booking before starting your journe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela2Norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n0rf0lkgal, Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Since this review was written we have instigated an on-line booking system which has made a huge difference in the way bookings are handled. Everyone now knows exactly what is going on, and with a mainly part-time staff this is essential.

Breakfasts have also been upgraded, with much more choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Here
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Accomodation a little basic but actually really ideal for a holiday with dogs. Also nice and warm with each unit individually heated. Very useful to have a fridge, which was kept stocked with complimentary orange juice and water. Pub was great and food excellent at reasonable prices. Nothing fancy about this place but very friendly and music nights were an added bonus. Wonderful dog walking from the village and numerous footpaths nearby. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend and look forward to returning to The Ship.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlin010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

we have just returned from a weekend break staying at the ship inn in blaxhall suffolk.
4 twin dog friendly ensuite rooms are available, clean, basic, cosy, best way to describe them. very reasonable rates and a fantastic cooked breakfast was included, if carlesberg did breakfasts..........you know the rest
a lovely area for exploring the local seaside towns with pleanty of long walks nearby.
we ate in the pub restaurant on both evenings, food was very good, a generous wine list and six real ales all on offer.
we will be back

Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank andmax535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaxhall
5.8 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
6.1 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
661 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
717 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
808 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship Inn Blaxhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn Blaxhall

Property: Ship Inn Blaxhall
Address: School Road, Blaxhall IP12 2DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Blaxhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blaxhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship Inn is a traditional country pub with detached accommodation in the beautiful village of Blaxhall, just 2 miles from Snape and 6 miles from the Suffolk heritage coast at Aldeburgh. We offer a real taste of the country with fine homemade food and Real Ales served in our two interconnecting dining areas. Alongside the inn, we offer high quality chalet accommodation complete with a real English breakfast.In easy reach of Aldeburgh, Snape and Woodbridge Traditional interior with exposed beams Detached bed & breakfast accommodation Home-cooked food and authentic Real Ales. Regular live music and events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ship Inn Blaxhall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Inn Blaxhall Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing