We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, good food, basic accommodation in lovely rural location”
Review of Ship Inn Blaxhall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ship Inn Blaxhall
Ranked #1 of 2 Blaxhall B&B and Inns
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly, good food, basic accommodation in lovely rural location”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed at the Ship Inn for one night and were overall very pleased with our stay. The pub is a proper village/country pub with homecooked meals made with fresh ingredients. The chalets are basic but all you need for a short break. Having access to a fridge is a nice touch and the room and bathroom were clean and simply, but nicely, furnished. The staff were friendly and we enjoyed hanging out in the pub, having dinner, using the wi-fi on our laptop, etc. The location is great - all you can see for miles are fields and it is so quiet and relaxing. I can understand why some of the previous visitors have complained but if they expected a top-class hotel a) they're visiting the wrong place, and b) they would have to pay much more than £70 a night for a room of that size! The only negative points were breakfast was a little slow and nothing special - although the pub is in the middle of the countryside so you have to accept a slower pace sometimes - and I know the area well and have stayed in very similar chalets/pubs with rooms that charge the same price but are of a much higher standard. The Ship Inn could do with bringing the quality of their rooms to the same kind of level as their competitors so they don't attract the negative feedback as a result. For example, the owners could do with spending as little as a tenner on each room just to tidy it up a bit and modernise it slightly and then the ratings would be closer to excellent than very good :-) :-). A lovely weekend away overall; thank you very much. :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MovingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n0rf0lkgal, Director at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for your very helpful review. I understand you stayed in one of our older chalets which are due for a little tlc. We have recently updated the larger chalets and will be looking at the others soon.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay overall and thanks again for taking the trouble to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    42
    15
    16
    6
See reviews for
24
58
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Yet again another outstanding stay , service first class , room was superb. Great location , wonderful food, good menu, good selection of ales. Would recommend. Locals very very friendly , ideal retreat.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vintageken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n0rf0lkgal, Director at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
So pleased you enjoyed your latest stay at The Ship. Thank you for taking the trouble to write this lovely review.

You obviously understand that we are a traditional country pub, doing our best to provide good food and drink, and comfortable accomodation at a reasonable price.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We only stayed one night at this bed and breakfast and wouldn't stay again. We stayed in the upgraded cabins and they were very basic. We found several cobwebs, complete with spiders, in the room and also dead flies behind the bathroom door. The shower wasn't very clean although the bed and bedding were fine with a very large king sized bed. Staff didn't arrive in time for us to get a cooked breakfast and some of the staff gave us the impression they "just didn't want to be there'. Overall we found the accommodation and the pub 'grubby' and in need of a good clean! Sorry but we won't be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunstable
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Not at all what I expected from the lovely picture shown of the Ship Inn. The rooms are Very basic and floors could do with an industrial clean and spider and webs removal. There is no food available after 2..0 until 6.00pm, not even a sandwich . The menu was limited and when asked at 6.00 if it was possible to have a sandwich then the answer was still no so we opted for cheese and biscuits at £4.95. This consisted on 4 crackers ,6 grapes , a slither of apple and 3 small cheeses in short not much!
The beds were clean and comfortable to be fair, its just you really didnt want to walk on the floor.
Breakfast was 8.30-9.30-, there were 8 of us on this trip and we had all four of the "newer" cabins.
Four arrived at 8.30 on Sunday am for breakfast, the cook arrived at 9.05 so four had to miss breakfast as they had an appointment and could not wait. At the time to pay we were refunded for the 4 breakfasts but the point of booking somewhere with breaksfast is to have it at times offered . All very disappointing,would not recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We booked to stay at the Ship Inn with six of our friends for the weekend. The chalets were dated and very basic and had not been cleaned to an acceptable standard. We arrived after a long journey looking forward to lunch but was told food was only served until 2 and was limited due to shortage of staff, we chose ham, egg and chips but was then told we couldnt have it as the ham was still cooking, we then chose sausage egg and chips instead which was served swimming in grease. The tables were sticky and there were several flies buzzing around the restaurant.
Breakfast we were told was served between 8.30 and 9.30 and as the men in our group had a game of golf booked at 9.30 they arrived at 8.30 to be told the chef had not turned up, we waited until 9 but as he hadnt arrived they left without having breakfast. After we complained the breakfast was deducted from the bill but this is not the point.
A lovely area but would not return to the Ship or recommend anyone else to go.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandy989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

On arrival, mid afternoon, the pub was locked up. We returned 2 hours later and it was still locked. There were 3 other vehicles with clients also waiting for someone to open up and book us all into our rooms. A girl finally arrived at 6.00pm who ran round the back of the pub, unlocked the front door, turned the closed sign round but did not open the door to welcome us! When we entered and complained we were told that pub was closed Tues to Friday afternoon until 6.00pm. We were not told this when someone from pub rang to ask for our deposit prior to our visit.

We feel that the photograph on TripAdvisor of the pub must have been airbrushed or an old picture as the pub now looks scruffy! As the last reviewer commented the grounds and general appearance were unkempt.

We had a superior room supposedly - £80 per night!! At first glance when entering our room it looked ok. On closer inspection shower head was lying on shower floor with hot water running from it, toilet roll holder also lying on floor, fridge did not work! When we reported these faults were told that the shower needed a new washer; they were waiting for an employees son to supply a small screwdriver to fix the toilet roll holder to the bracket on the wall and the fridge would be replaced/swapped with one from another room - it never was!!! There was no mirror in the bedroom or hair dryer. There was a mirror in the bathroom but it was on the wall next to the toilet at a very acute angle and difficult to use. The room was not clean there was dirt everywhere - piles of dirt under the bed, the bathroom looked as if the floor and shower cubicle had never been cleaned since fitted. The sink and toilet were clean. This was the start of a 3 night stay!

The next day our bed was made but that was the only time it was done! Nothing else for the whole of our stay was done - no one ever cleaned or went into the bathroom, no bins were emptied and the refreshments eg coffee, milk etc were never replenished nor were the cups washed! On the first occasion we complained we were given some coffee, sugar and milk. On the second we were told it would not happen again and it did! On our final night when we returned and saw bed unmade, bins not emptied yet again, no refreshments, no cups washed and no toilet paper we went immediately to the pub to complain yet again. The whole time we stayed their we never saw anyone that we thought was in charge. There just seemed to be a collection of different employees at different times with no one in charge of them. When we complained on our last night we saw a gentleman who we were told was the Bar Manager. He did seem concerned and came to look at our room and replenished the refreshments, cups, toilet roll and took the bin away. He said we should have had clean towels every day needless to say we hadn't! We were told he had spoken to the owner and we would receive a reduction on our bill but not by how much at that time. When we checked out we received a discout of £70.

We ate in the pub 2 of our 3 nights. The food was generally good but the breakfasts were not so good. We can agree with some of the other reviews. One morning the breakfast looked and tasted as if all the cooked food had been sat in an oven for hours and the scrambled egg was tasteless and we arrived just before 9.00 (breakfast was from 8.30 - 9.30am)! On our last morning the girl who was on was on her own. She cleared away the cereals, coffee, butter, jams, bread etc etc before everyone had finished. When we checked out she could not find our bill and went onto the laptop to find out how much we were to pay! All in all a very disappointing experience. We had looked forward to our stay there but were bitterly disappointed and very unhappy!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timslouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n0rf0lkgal, Director at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay at The Ship, which unfortunately coincided with some staffing problems during a very busy week. As you note in your review we agreed that you had grounds for complaint and refunded a substantial proportion of your bill.

We take all comments seriously and have thoroughly investigated the facts of what occurred during your stay.

At The Ship we strive to provide clean and comfortable accommodation, generous portions of good home cooking and a friendly atmosphere, within an increasingly rare village pub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

After reading other reviews we had high expectations of this place. But crashingly disappointed with the chalet rooms....Very basic, very dated. 1970s/1980s style central lampshade, bedside light didn't work, bare bulb in hallway, no mattress or pillow protectors- hairs on mattress under sheet- ugh!. Earwig on front door mat, cobwebs in bathroom. 30 yrs ago must have been the hey-days of these chalets, people expect more for their £70 per night these days. Outside of chalet looked neglected- unplanted window boxes..just bare compost like someone had started but couldn't be bothered to plant them up.
Breakfast Ok, but seating chaotic...coffee instant & lukewarm (from flask on bar). Valiant young waitress coped with lots of people all arriving for breakfast at same time.

Room Tip: Try and not have your bedroom window overlooking the pub garden & benches/tables...there is abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsyinme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaxhall
5.8 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.5 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
799 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
654 reviews
7.6 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
706 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship Inn Blaxhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn Blaxhall

Property: Ship Inn Blaxhall
Address: School Road, Blaxhall IP12 2DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Blaxhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blaxhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship Inn is a traditional country pub with detached accommodation in the beautiful village of Blaxhall, just 2 miles from Snape and 6 miles from the Suffolk heritage coast at Aldeburgh. We offer a real taste of the country with fine homemade food and Real Ales served in our two interconnecting dining areas. Alongside the inn, we offer high quality chalet accommodation complete with a real English breakfast.In easy reach of Aldeburgh, Snape and Woodbridge Traditional interior with exposed beams Detached bed & breakfast accommodation Home-cooked food and authentic Real Ales. Regular live music and events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ship Inn Blaxhall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Inn Blaxhall Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing