We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent pub with friendly hosts and great rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ship Inn Blaxhall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ship Inn Blaxhall
Ranked #1 of 2 Blaxhall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
WC1, London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent pub with friendly hosts and great rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I spent two nights at The Ship this weekend with a group of friends who were also in the area for a wedding.

We were absolutely delighted by our stay at The Ship. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable and we could not have had a warmer welcome from the owners Adrian and Siggy. Indeed, when we were unable to get a taxi on the Sunday morning, they very kindly dropped us off at the nearest station - which was hugely appreciated.

The food is excellent and there is a great selection of lagers and real ales. The full English breakfast was precisely what we needed to help get us over our customary post-wedding sore heads!

Thank you very much again - and we will certainly return if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRH_LondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianBatstone, Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi there, glad to see you all got home safely. It was a pleasure having you all to stay and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Suffolk. We loved the 'presentation' on the Georgian drinking vessels and their role in the post wedding toasts - what a brilliant and thoughtful wedding gift. Thank you for all your kind comments, it would be great to see you all again, we do hope that the young lady's leg continues to heal and she fully recovered very quickly. Best wishes, Siggi & Adrian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    39
    13
    15
    6
See reviews for
20
55
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Nice to have salmon and prawn salad on the menu in such hot weather. A lovely quaint pub which I hope never changes- friendly and with locals as well as strays like me, travelling through, eager to get a sense of the unspoilt country life.
This pub is well known for its music and obviously with location it is a bit of a drive for many- but an evening here will be a delight.
The range of beers might include more local ones and more local ciders but the food is good and overall worth going out of the way for.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianBatstone, Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Rowan, thank you for your positive comments, Siggi and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return. Regarding our beers, the Adnams bitter is about as local as we can get being just 8 miles from the Brewery and we try to have regular guest ales from across the county. For example we have Shotts Farm featured next week, Bartrums this week and Hell Hound coming soon along with Growler and Mauldens (all Suffolk), a few weeks ago we had Lacons and I have just connected a firkin of Green Jack's Trawler Boys (fabulous!) We do stray into Norfolk with the delicious Woodfordes Wherry and of course the Humpty Dumpty Ales. Cider wise we have both the Aspall Ciders on draught (Suffolk) and will be featuring Shott's Farm Okey Dokey (fermented in rum casks) next week. So, all in all we are supporting the local manufacturers as best we can, our policy on provender is to always source locally wherever possible. Unfortunately space is limited and we cannot stock as much as we would like, and real ale has a very short shelf life. However we have also started stocking few bottle conditioned speciality ales including Suffolk Strong to offer even more choice. Best wishes Siggi & Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEIGHTON BUZZARD
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Have just returned from 4 days here. Was made to feel very welcome by Adrian & Siggy & all the staff.Food was excellent & even sausages/ titbits for Paddy 17yrs. A great atmosphere all round very friendly locals . Our chalet was lovely , fridge was a bonus. A great location as well-- everywhere in easy reach--PERFECT. Will certainly hope to return.Thank you both & canine friends x

Room Tip: superior rooms at top of garden are bigger & away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickleightonbuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianBatstone, Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Ship Inn, and for your kind comments. We really appreciate all customer feedback and use it to make sure we are meeting everyone's expectations. We do hope that you will come and see us again soon. Max & Schnuckle send a doggie 'Hello' to Paddy. Best wishes Adrian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here on a girly weekend and had a very good time. Folk evening at the pub on the Friday with great atmosphere, though you could avoid it by staying in a separate bar. Adrian and Siggy are very friendly and welcoming at this traditional local. Helped me out with a hair dryer and plasters! The accommodation is gradually being upgraded and we stayed in the un-upgraded rooms at the front which were spotlessly clean if essentially basic. The breakfast was good - traditional English - with excellent locally sourced bacon and sausages. In this area £70 per room per night including breakfast is a very good deal. However, the rooms at the front are close to the road, so can be noisy and if you open the window you may just knock over anyone sitting on the picnic bench outside ... Guess the upgraded rooms further back will be more expensive but will be a lot quieter and private.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are much quieter & have been upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianBatstone, Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, they are much appreciated. We too look forward to seeing you back at the ship yet again. Best wishes Siggi & Adrian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Returned to the Ship for the third time to the same warm welcome and ambience as previously enjoyed . No pretentiousness just a good old fashioned pub with a great atmosphere and feel to it . Mine hosts Adrian and Siggy are true publicans in every sense . They know how to run a good honest Inn in a beautifully peaceful setting . Relaxing and welcoming . Good home cooked food puts the icing on the cake and for us personally the presence of canine friends is an absolute joy ! We will be back soon !!
Thank you . X

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GAPfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianBatstone, Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, they are much appreciated. We too look forward to seeing you back at the ship yet again. Best wishes Siggi & Adrian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Our first impressions, after a whole day out at Sutton Hoo and the surrounding areas, were very good, of both the Inn itself and the bedrooms - we got exactly what we had ordered from the internet and the beds were very comfortable with lovely fresh white linens and towels. The Inn is just what many visitors to the area are looking for I'm sure - a charming old pub with good beer and food and comfortable, modern accommodation to stumble back to. Perfect!
The atmosphere in the Inn was friendly and the hosts genial but they just let themselves down by not having made sure our rooms were properly cleaned - the dust, dirt and stains on the otherwise lovely hard floors was frankly appalling: that sort of level of room hygiene is unacceptable generally and particularly for the 'premium room' that costs more. It would also be a nice touch to put a small bar of soap at the shower room sink - the 1 tiny bottle of shower soap between 2 adults did not stretch to use as both. For the cost of the rooms, more soap should be included.
We had dinner in the Inn and 3 out of the 4 of us had very nice 'gastro-pub' type food but unfortunately one meal was not good. These things happen, errors can be made BUT the way it was dealt with was very upsetting, with no replacement meal offered, even though they did not charge for the dish when we said we should not be expected to pay for it. Steak is expensive and if you can't cook it properly, don't offer it! The breakfast included in the price was very nice although I think 2 rashers of bacon could have been provided particularly for the member of our party who did not want baked beans: no baked beans were on his plate but there was nothing provided in place.
We really enjoyed our trip and want a 'go-to place to stay' when we return to the area. Still looking!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D4yTr1pper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianBatstone, Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Welcome to the world of Trip Advisor Reviews, as a regular reviewer myself, I am delighted to see more people joining up and writing their first reviews. Guest feedback is vitally important to the hospitality Industry and we use it not only as a barometer but also as a valuable training tool.

It is very important that reviews are factual, accurate, truthful and objective if they are to provide meaningful information to fellow travellers.

Siggi and I are very disappointed that the floor of your room was not properly cleaned and I can only apologise. I have spoken to the housekeeper about this and we have changed the way we do spot checks to prevent a 'repeat performance'.

The reason there is a small difference in the chalet rates is simply due to the size of the rooms and that the 'superior chalets' have kingsize beds. All our chalets offer the same level of comfort.

We provide good quality Shampoo and Shower Gel in each chalet, these are replaced daily if used. When you were shown to your chalet you were told that if you needed more of anything at all, be it tea bags or shampoo - 'please let us know'.

It is with great concern that I turn to your comments regarding the lady's steak. As you rightly say, steak is expensive and we take great care to buy the very best 25 day hung ribeyes which are sourced locally. Our chef has an enviable reputation for steaks and I can honestly say that the steak in question was cooked 'textbook' medium rare - nicely browned, pink through the centre with just a little blood. I think the problem is that the steak was not cooked to her liking and when I went to take it back I didn't listen properly. I like medium rare with no blood, and wrongly assumed it was 'under cooked' by the lady's taste - I did say I would get it cooked some more. That should have been a clue that I had misunderstood! When I returned with the steak which had been re-cooked more towards 'medium', nothing was said. It was only a few minutes later that I realised that all was still not well. Now, I did ask the lady if could get her something else instead, and she declined. I also removed the steak from the bill at check out the following morning. This was done voluntarily without any prompting from anyone in your party. It is only when I told the lady what I had done that she said that she hadn't expected to pay for it anyway. At the time she seemed very amiable about it, saying that she did outside catering herself and sometimes these things happen.

I take full responsibility for not listening properly and for making 'wild' assumptions and again can only apologise.

Finally, at breakfast, if a customer doesn't have one item that is on offer we do usually substitute it for something else, I am surprised that this didn't happen. As I mentioned before, if a guest would like more of anything - even bacon - simply ask.

Clearly we haven't met your expectations and that is a big disappointment to us too, we genuinely try to treat our customers as we would like to be treated ourselves. On this occasion a dirty floor and poor communication got the better of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We were doing some recording near this inn, and I had my reservations that such a place would be good for "business" people. It was lovely. The rooms are quiet because they are not in the same building as the pub. The hosts could not be more welcoming and accommodating. All in all, a lovely experience. All of us on this "gig" agreed that we'd come back again if in the area.

Room Tip: I think the cabins up the hill are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSNYC645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianBatstone, Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
It was fascinating talking to you about your work at Snape Maltings and to experience the passion & enthusiasm for the project. We look forward to hearing the finished product.

Thank you very much for the review, your kind words and positive feedback mean a lot to us.

We get a lot of visitors from 'The Maltings, both musicians and audience alike. I think everyone is attracted to the peaceful beautiful countryside that surrounds us, yet we are within easy access to everywhere.

Siggi and I wish you all continued success and hope you will visit us again.

Kind regards,

Adrian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaxhall
6.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
7.6 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel - Framlingham
6.0 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship Inn Blaxhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn Blaxhall

Property: Ship Inn Blaxhall
Address: School Road, Blaxhall IP12 2DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Blaxhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blaxhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship Inn is a traditional country pub with detached accommodation in the beautiful village of Blaxhall, just 2 miles from Snape and 6 miles from the Suffolk heritage coast at Aldeburgh. We offer a real taste of the country with fine homemade food and Real Ales served in our two interconnecting dining areas. Alongside the inn, we offer high quality chalet accommodation complete with a real English breakfast.In easy reach of Aldeburgh, Snape and Woodbridge Traditional interior with exposed beams Detached bed & breakfast accommodation Home-cooked food and authentic Real Ales. Regular live music and events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ship Inn Blaxhall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Inn Blaxhall Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing