We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Coast S-Cape”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kawhia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park
Ranked #1 of 3 Kawhia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“West Coast S-Cape”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

It's Kawhia, it's West Coast, it's miles from anywhere and we loved it, the owners were very helpful, the 2 bedroom we stayed in was clean and the beds comfortable.

It is beside a beach on an estuary which was not a swimming spot but it's a 10 minute drive to Ocean Beach where you can dig hot water baths at low tide so who cares.

We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Beach front is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horoeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwicarolyn2, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi
Thank you for your positive comments. Please come again if you are in Kawhia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    43
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
75
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom unit right on the water's edge, it was very clean and tidy and the kitchen had everything we needed for a two night stay. Kawhia is a sleepy, peaceful town, with an old New Zealand seaside town vibe with a good amount of charming rustic baches, there's a pub, general store, fish and chip shop and a couple of cafes (see my review of the Blue Chook Inn) we loved it here. If you are looking for more then Raglan is the place for you. I read another review about the beach....I guess if you are looking to put a deckchair on the sand go for a swim, this is not the beach for you, the cottages are located in Kawhia Harbour (it's a large inlet, shallow and tidal) we happen to enjoy watching the changing tides and walking at the water's edge and the view from our deck looking out over the bay was beautiful especially at sunset. A short 10 minute drive and you can enjoy the natural hot spring pools at Kawhia's Ocean Beach. I hope we can go back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Apintofcockles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.
The two bedroom unit is our most popular unit and enjoys splendid views.
Yes, The Blue Chook is a great place for a meal and a few laughs, and we always are happy to recommend it to our guests.
All the best on your future travels.
kind regards,
Bronwyn Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Website made the place look amazing. Truth is you can't walk on the beach and the site is right on the road. Facilities are average at best and the kitchen smells like a toilet. Not much going on in Kawhia. We won't be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SueJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
I do not believe the website is misleading.
We state on it that we are on the water's edge by the harbour. Maybe some people find it difficult to read the print and for that I am sorry.
However, what your review does do, is highlight that all the other reviews that are before yours must be genuine, and in that way gives our establishment even greater credibility.
You have given us average, so for a customer than seems less than happy I am thankful for that at least.
We do try our best, and I am sorry in this instance it did not seem to be good enough for you.
All the best on your future travels.

Kind regards,
Bronwyn Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I spent 4 days at the Beachside sCape in January, several more than anticipated owing to news of a double family bereavement in UK & Canada. The proprietor was very accommodating, & even gave me vouchers for as much internet time as I could use. I was in a tent, pitched at the water's edge, overlooking the bay, where the evening sunset on the cliffs was beautiful. The laundry, showers & toilets were well maintained; the kitchen & TV room were well stocked & functional, & were quirky with a distinctly 1960's/70's feel, which is totally unique. The town is a quiet, off the beaten track place, with lovely beach walks, store, & petrol station. The perfect place to hole up for a few days with no distractions away from the madness of nearby Raglan.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nosnibor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you very much for your generous review.
We are always pleased to assist our guests in any manner that we can.
You must have enjoyed our village to stay as long as 4 nights.
All the best in any future life journeys.

kind regards,
Bronwyn Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had a nice stay here a few nights ago. The main thing I would point out is that the owner was very accommodating and came out and gave us a room getting close to 10pm.

We'd been struggling tofind somewhere to stay and this was perfect and really reasonable in one of the backpacker cabins, nothing fancy but perfect for us. The grounds were well kept and even free wifi even though we didn't get time to use it.

Thanks Ill come back if I come north again and stay a bit longer maybe!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stv27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
I was pleased to be able to accommodate you even at 10 pm at night.
That is the benefit of having someone live on the premises. Seldom is the place ever left unattended.
I am glad you found the backpackers satisfactory. The buildings are old but our shower and ablution amenities are recent, and we have a big functional kitchen.
We do offer free wifi for our guests to contact home.

Kind regards,
Bronwyn Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Kawhia is probably off most tourist routes, if at all they go to Raglan. Hey, Raglan may have more facilities, but Kawhia has as good scenery and is not nearly as crowded. Wonderful place to stay. Accommodation options are limited too and while Kawhia Beachside may look like nothing special when passing by, the unit was really well equipped with many little details you wouldn't expect. We only stayed one night but really enjoyed it. Definitely recommended to other travelers..

Room Tip: We had a large studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouringCyclists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review.
We do try to accommodate our guests and offer that little bit extra.
We are easily missed as our best asset is not always seen from the road.
The older backpacker cabins are the first buildings you see.

kind regards,
Bronwyn Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruakaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had a studio motel right at the waters edge. Reasonably well equiped although the microwave was the only means of cooking. A lovely setting which got all the morning sun. The other motel in this town was fully booked and as all the other motel units in the complex were empty I would take it travellers agree the price charged is just too high for what is offered.
The complex as a whole is very rundown and visually not very inviting.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruakakakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oysterfiend, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you for your review.
Unfortunately the older backpacker- cabin areas are from the 1950-60's era and despite a huge capital investment still have the appearance of being old.
The waterfront units, however are recent and have prime views. They are not sold as cooking units, and you may well have been better served in one such unit that did offer cooking. I am sure you would have been explained the differences in making your choice, and also told that you could use the camp kitchen to cook in as well.
The motel in town may well have been full, but given that it has only 3 reviews and we have 72 reviews, that does not necessarily mean it is better value for what it offers. Sometimes it is full for family or whanau functions.
It seems that you were less than impressed.
At least if you come again to Kawhia, you know that you can book ahead and try the downtown motel out for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kawhia
20.7 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
20.5 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
17.8 mi away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
20.6 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
20.7 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park

Property: Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park
Address: 225 Pouewe Street, Kawhia 3889, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Kawhia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kawhia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kawhia's only waterfront accommodation. 6Km from Ocean Beach. We have 5 self-contained motel units(SKY TV), 9 comfortable cabins, large communal kitchen, lounge SKY TV,communal ablution block and 14 tent/RV sites. Perfectly situated on Kawhia's beautiful harbour frontage, and 600 metres from Kawhia village. Free Wireless internet. Kayaks for hire. Spring free trampoline. Kawhia is well known for its Maori heritage and Te Puia Hot Springs at Kawhia's Ocean Beach (loan spades for digging your own spa). We are 1.5 Hours drive from Waitomo, 1 hour from Raglan and Te Awamutu, and 1.15 Hours from Hamilton. 2.5-3 Hrs drive from Auckland and the ideal first night stop from Auckland airport. Make Ocean Beach Hot Springs and Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park your next destination. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing