We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ladies and great food”
Review of Blue Chook Inn

Blue Chook Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Kawhia
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely ladies and great food”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

They welcomed us like long lost friends, bossed us around like they were our mothers and fed us like we were underweight.
I hear they're up for sale, the Blue Chook I mean and it wil be a loss for Kawhia.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Horoeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great dinner at Blue Chook Inn”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Blue Chook Inn is run by Barbara and Trish, great hosts. I had the John Dory which was cooked perfectly and a delicious salad, my husband had the lamb shanks which was also excellent, then we had a feijoa and apple pie with lashings of cream and custard, the fruit came from Barbara's garden. When she discovered that we are both big feijoa fiends she went out the back and returned with a huge bag of them for us. We were the only people dining that night, we didn't mind, the feeling was that we were getting a really good home cooked meal in Barbara and Trish's home using their own produce from the garden. The second night of our stay in Kawhia we went back because we wanted that John Dory again! There were a few more folks there the second night, it had a nice lively atmosphere. My only criticism would be regarding the decor - a lot of establishments in New Zealand seem to favor a sort of teal(y) colored formica, used rather generously on chairs, countertops and tables - the Blue Chook has it - given the warm personalities of the hosts and the delicious home cooking I would love to have seen a more pubby and cosy feel in the place, with a big dark wood bar and rustic furniture, but hey, it was a grand experience anyway.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Apintofcockles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruakaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A top experience”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We found that this was the only restaurant (other than the pub) that was open, but what a find. The service was top rate,Trish was a wonderful host and Barbara a wonderful chef. The meal was of the highest standard,beautifully presented,fresh,and the meat so so tender. I have paid much higher prices for meals of a much lesser standard. The wine selection was very good and again at a reasonable cost. The whole experience including chatting to some of the locals who also frequent this restaurant-bar, was something that we have decided that we would like to do again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ruakakakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Pahu
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Our family had dinner here and were really impressed. We had been told it was supposed to be quite good and were not dissapointed. Even though it was a small menu we managed to find something for everyone.
The biggest selling point for us was that the two ladies were FANTASTIC! No other hospitality like it in Kawhia, they went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed, and were great with the kids! They were super friendly and the whole place felt like it had a great atmosphere.
It is situated directly opposite the playground which was awesome as we could watch the kids play from our table outside while we waited for our meals.
The only dissapionting thing was it doesn't open until 4pm so we had to go elsewhere for lunch the following day!! Couldn't fault them otherwise!
We will be back here for sure next time we're in Kawhia

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickielisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Great Visit to Kawhia”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My partner and I, along with my mother, stayed and dined at the Blue Chook for a night between Christmas and New Year while on an expedition to explore Kawhia while staying with family on Hamilton. It's a pity Blue Chook is not listed under accommodation on Trip Advisor as Barbara & Trish made us most welcome. Their motel unit linked to the 'Inn' (and which sleeps 6) was very comfortable and spacious. We then enjoyed a very pleasant drink and dinner sitting outside the front of the bar that evening experiencing the comings and goings of this seaside town. Both the accommodation and meal were excellent value and we would stay here again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WTB61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Chook Inn also viewed

 
Kawhia, Waikato Region
Kawhia, Waikato Region
 
Raglan, Waikato Region

Been to Blue Chook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing