We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful setting in a house full of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Walford Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Walford Court
Ranked #2 of 9 Leintwardine B&B and Inns
Somerset
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Peaceful setting in a house full of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We have just returned from a 3 nights stay in the Courthouse suite and what a pleasure it was, Debbie and Craig are very welcoming and make you feel relaxed as soon as you walk in the door. Breakfast was very good, loads to choose from and cooked to order. We had a superb cheese platter the evening we arrived, which Debbie rustled up and brought up to our room. All in all a real little gem, we would thoroughly recommend it. Thankyou for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie F, Owner at Walford Court, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thanks so much both for a lovely review - do hope we see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
101
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Just got home from a wonderful weekend at Walford Court. Room was excellent, food was excellent and Debbie and Craig were excellent hosts. Would definately recommend a stay at Walford Court, and will be going back in the near future. Gordon and Marleine.

Room Tip: Our room was the Aragon Suite, and would highly recommend this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie F, Owner at Walford Court, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thanks both - and especially also for the great gardening tips! Particularly keen on the manure aa a polytunnel heater! Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Just come back from our third stay at Walford Court, 25th to 27th April. Anyone running a B & B should go and stay there to see how it should be done. Debbie and Craig understand how to make visitors' stays as good as it gets with attention to every detail. First class home cooking, warmth of welcome, wonderful rooms, most comfortable bed we have ever slept in - I could go on but just go and try it for yourself. You won't be disappointed. (Would have brought the matress back with us if we could have got it in the car!). Thank you Debbie and Craig. We give you five stars.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of an equally high standard. Very quiet and better than any hotel rooms we have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank microsunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie F, Owner at Walford Court, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Wow - what a lovely review!
Thanks so much - a double whammy as you were such lovely guests too. We chatted that there was so much beautiful countryside to see and so many lovely National Trust properties so we really hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

From a warm welcome to fantastic food the stay was a dream. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pnktullett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie F, Owner at Walford Court, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
So glad you had a lovely time - thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

The best B&B we have ever stayed in. Wonderful hosts, gorgeous house, and we were treated like royalty. Can't wait to return. Thanks Debbie and Craig.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmasalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

We have just come back from the best weekend ever at Walford Court. From the moment we arrived, when Debbie was waiting in the dark with a torch to make sure we didnt get any more lost, the beautifully furnished rooms, the warmth, and the fabulous food platters, we could feel all the stresses begin to melt away.

The quality of everything is excellent, the detail is integral as your every comfort is catered for. The breakfasts are superb, healthy delicious and so much choice. The evening meal was planned and did not disappoint.

You can then relax in the most beautiful suites enjoying the 500 year old ambience, we could have stayed for so much longer. Debbie and Craig are so friendly, it is a completely wonderful experience and one that we hope to repeat very soon!

Room Tip: The Aragon Suite was beautifully furnished, warm, with a lovely cosy sitting room, a fantastic and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debraj r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie F, Owner at Walford Court, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Oh too kind,too kind! Thanks so much for taking the time to write such lovely things!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed for a long weekend and loved everything about this B & B. The room was lovely and full of character, the bathroom was one of the warmest I have ever used. The breakfasts were scrumptious with loads of choice and the 2 evening meals were excellent. Debbie uses fresh local produce (her herby chicken is wonderful) and serves up meals that are appetizing and substantial.
Craig and Debbie are wonderful hosts, recommending places to visit, and even booking a meal for us at a local pub. Oh and Debbie's "girls" are fun to visit in the morning!

Room Tip: Prince Arthurs room is warm and cosy but still has plenty of space with a large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalfordCourt, Owner at Walford Court, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Many thanks for your kind words, it was a pleasure to look after you. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks also for the birthday card left for Debbie in your room, what a lovely surprise!

Kind regards.

Craig and Debbie

PS - checked the road map, I reckon Tewkesbury is about an hour and a quarter from here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leintwardine
8.1 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
7.4 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lion
The Lion
#1 of 9 in Leintwardine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#2 of 3 in Wigmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walford Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walford Court

Property: Walford Court
Address: Walford | nr Ludlow, Leintwardine SY7 0JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leintwardine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Leintwardine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walford Court is a 500 year old listed property, which was once a Courthouse. Its sits amongst one of the most tranquil and scenic spots in the country just a short drive from Ludlow; one of our guests commented that it was "reminiscent of the Darling Buds of May era." At Walford Court, we take our green surroundings seriously and have been awarded both wildlife and environmentally friendly awards. A stay at Walford Court is a must for anyone who loves good quality food. You'll find local cheeses, local organic muesli and local apple juice on the breakfast table, and we are 3 times winners in the Flavours of Herefordshire awards. Everything possible is home grown and home baked in the Aga - we provide candlelit evening meals in the old dining room with the exposed bread oven - or in the garden by the stream. As everything is home baked we can cater for special diets. Treat yourself to a romantic stress relieving weekend at the old courthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Walford Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walford Court Leintwardine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing