We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This could be heaven.........”
Review of Walford Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Walford Court
Ranked #2 of 8 Leintwardine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I'm sure heaven is something like this, huge rooms, roll top baths, a 4 poster bed in the Arragon suite,peace and quiet, blisssssssss... . The food is brilliant, none of this pretentious spoon sized dinners here, oh no, a plate full is what you get, and you will love it. Puds? fantastic, soup that you must try. Everything grown at home , or very locally at least, Well, I could go on if you've read the other posts you will see they have all said much the same. This IS the place to go and unwind. We do, and have before and will continue to do so. Thanks to Debbie and Craig and all the chickens for a great break, see you soon X

Room Tip: Book, you will not be diaspointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dibbo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalfordCourt, Owner at Walford Court, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

You are both such SWEETIES!

Thanks for the lovely review... I should substitute written responses with a wee video of me coming out like the lady at the end of the Morecombe and Wise show saying "....and I love you all!!"

See you again soon I hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

Neil and I just spent a lovely weekend at Walford Court - a very romantic B&B near Ludlow. Highly recommended if you want some great food, comfy beds, romantic atmosphere, wood burning stoves and very friendly and warm hosts in Debbie and Craig! The breakfast is fantastic - varied and made with fresh ingredients. We were treated to home-made lemon curd and freshly baked bread on top of a fine range of cooked options. Make sure you try the Blue Cheese tatty scones for breakfast and treat yourself to a home-cooked meal when you get there (phone up in advance or ask on booking) - the Beef special was melt-in-the-mouth. Lovely roll-top baths. We stayed in the Courthouse suite and loved the room. It would have been very easy just to stay in the B&B all weekend! I would recommend visiting the Ludlow Food Court nearby too. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalfordCourt, Owner at Walford Court, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

...and indeed we would both love to see you both back here for some rest, relaxation and more tattie scones!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Debbie and Craig were fab hosts and could not do enought for you ,but at the same time gave you the space and privacy if required , the room we had was lovely and the double roll top bath was big enough to swim in !!! ,breakfast amazing with a huge choice on offer,and Bob the rooster was fun to watch rounding up his girls , who provided wonderful eggs each morning .
If you enjoy a day at the races check out Ludlow race course which is just a few miles down the road, also the town of Ludlow it's self for a lovely cream tea at De Grays Tea Rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Amazing room! Everything was just right. Lovely roll top bath and toiletries. Cool little sitting room with really comfy sofa/chair and mini fridge (Loved the apple muffins!). Room was really nicely decorated and huge.
The greeting was warm from Debbie and Craig and we felt at home straight away. Breakfast was a delight with so much lovely local produce to choose from. The free range eggs (thanks girls!) were the best I have ever tasted.
This place is amazing, We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stopped at Walford Court for one night last year and loved it so much we just had to go back again, but this time for two nights. Debbie and Craig make you feel very welcome, but not to the point of bring intrusive. Your comfort is so obviously important to them, nothing is too much trouble. Fresh apple muffins on arrival, a breakfast fit for a king (the eggs laid by Debbie's ladies are the most golden you can imagine) and a wonderful three course evening meal, all in a lovely relaxed atmosphere make you sad to go home. The four poster bed and rolltop bath just complete the idyllic picture. I defy anyone not to come away feeling chilled after a visit to Walton Court.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAT_70tul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Just back from a wonderful weekend at Walford Court. From the minute we arrived, relaxation was the order of the day. The suite was wonderful, and a real joy to come back 'home' to. Debbie's breakfasts are superb, plenty to keep you going all day - all local produce, beautifully cooked. [The tattie scones are to die for]. After a busy day of sightseeing what more could you ask for but to come home to a delicious home cooked feast, cooked by Debbie, and served with panache by Craig. Craig and Debbie were wonderful hosts - even turning out with a flashlight on a cold evening when we were struggling to find them! We couldn't have had a better place to stay, and will certainly be back. Thank you both for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hadenmaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We were looking to book a romantic "boutique" hotel or B&B near ludlow for a weekend away, but had an extremely strict budget of under £100 a night.
I stumbled upon Walford Court online, and booked the Aragon Suite, however given the extremely reasonable price, I was somewhat hesitant, thinking that a two room four-poster large-bath suite was surely too good to be true for under £100 a night...
Well, it wasn't. The room was just perfect: quaint, clean, full of character, well equipped with tea-making facilities, glasses, cutlery, fridge, as well as some home made muffins, bath products etc etc.
The bed was just as amazing as it looks in the picture, and given i was five months pregnant at the time, the bath in the bay window overlooking the beautiful countryside was idyllic.
The drive to ludlow was easy, and it was lovely being in the middle of nowhere - quiet, dark and so relaxing.
Breakfast is an informal and home-cooked affair, very very tasty with a great selection to suit every taste.
Almost didn't want to review Walford Court as it was such a good find we wanted to keep it to ourselves!
Hoping to go back with baby next year and make the most of the location for great walking in the area.

Thank you Craig and debbie for being fantastic hosts and making our weekend so lovely!

Room Tip: Go for the Aragon Suite if its free - well well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionapage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leintwardine hotels
0 mi away
Brick House Farm
Brick House Farm
#1 of 2 in Adforton
22 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lion
The Lion
#1 of 8 in Leintwardine
337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lower Buckton Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 2 in Wigmore
46 reviews
0 mi away
Upper Letton Farmhouse
Upper Letton Farmhouse
#4 of 8 in Leintwardine
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walford Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walford Court

Address: Walford | nr Ludlow, Leintwardine SY7 0JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leintwardine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Leintwardine
Price Range: £103 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Walford Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walford Court is a 500 year old listed property, which was once a Courthouse. Its sits amongst one of the most tranquil and scenic spots in the country just a short drive from Ludlow; one of our guests commented that it was "reminiscent of the Darling Buds of May era." At Walford Court, we take our green surroundings seriously and have been awarded both wildlife and environmentally friendly awards. A stay at Walford Court is a must for anyone who loves good quality food. You'll find local cheeses, local organic muesli and local apple juice on the breakfast table, and we are 3 times winners in the Flavours of Herefordshire awards. Everything possible is home grown and home baked in the Aga - we provide candlelit evening meals in the old dining room with the exposed bread oven - or in the garden by the stream. As everything is home baked we can cater for special diets. Treat yourself to a romantic stress relieving weekend at the old courthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Walford Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walford Court Leintwardine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing