We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect relaxing break in wonderful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Walford Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Walford Court
Ranked #2 of 9 Leintwardine B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“A perfect relaxing break in wonderful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

If we could rate this B&B even higher than a '5', we would. We were having a short break after a rather stressful year and couldn't have chosen a better place. The location is fabulous, near local restaurants, pubs and places of interest yet completely rural and quiet. We were in the Courthouse Suite which is undoubtedly the best accommodation we have ever had in all the B&Bs we have stayed in over the years. There is a massive bedroom with views over the garden and up to the Shropshire hills, an extremely comfortable large bed, a separate sitting room with sofas and chairs you just sink into after a hard day enjoying yourself, enough books, puzzles and games to keep you occupied if you don't want a snooze in that big bed. The bathroom is unusual in that it is L-shaped but it has a huge roll-top bath and lots of 'smellies' to indulge yourself in.

The breakfasts are delicious with eggs from the hens outside the window, sausages and bacon from the butcher down the road, locally baked bread and tomatoes from outside the kitchen door. Debbie and Craig are wonderful hosts, nothing is too much trouble and the little extras they provide are much appreciated. When we arrived after a long journey, there was a delicious platter of food waiting for us in the fridge, all we needed was the bottle of wine we had brought with us.

We cannot fault this B&B - we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Courthouse Suite is huge; light and sunny with everything you could wish for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
101
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Walford Court is run by Craig and Debbie, who are great hosts, very knowledgeable and helpful about the area and nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in the Court House Suite, which was worth paying extra for, it was lovely to have our own sitting room and to have so many little extra touches, such as fresh milk in the fridge, fresh muffins, etc. The character of the property is lovely, the produce used for the breakfast is fresh, ie eggs from 'the girls' and also using local suppliers, you can certainly tell the difference. There are loads of books everywhere, even puzzles and games if you get bored. If we had any criticism it would be that we didn't like to hear the noise of the family's television downstairs, but overall a lovely weekend, thoroughly relaxing, we certainly slept well and didn't even notice the cockerel!

Room Tip: I think all three rooms are of good quality and standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeanLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie F, Owner at Walford Court, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thanks for the lovely review, so glad you liked the little touches, we like everyone to feel at home!
Ooops over any TV noise,we are usually so careful! Glad Big Bob the cockerel didn't disturb you! He's a good boy and we don't let him out until after 8.30 so our guests enjoy a lovely lie in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

My wife surprised me with a weekend away in Walford court to walk the MagnaLonga in Ludlow (food and walking tour). Wolford Court, our beautiful room, low beams, the 4 poster (that I could actually fit in) our roll top bath (which I could practially do lengths in!), delicious dinner, no corkage so bring your own, the breakfasts, fun chickens, gardens, birdsong and all the little personal touches… all fantastic.

Perfect for a country break as it is fairly remote, close enough to Ludlow if that’s your destination. I would not hesitate to visit again and would certainly be booking an evening meal too, though make sure you're hungry for breakfast.

Room Tip: The 4 poster is a decent size and very soft!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalfordCourt, Owner at Walford Court, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Hello, and very many thanks for the kind words in your review! We love to look after people and are so glad you enjoyed the Aragon Suite. We would love to welcome you back to Walford Court.

Kind regards.

Debbie and Craig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Perfect - again! - Court House suite, spacious, lots of character and lovely views - breakfast, an amazing choice - evening meal, with vegetables and fruit from their own beautiful garden - and the hosts Debbie & Craig. Thank you - see you again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milingano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalfordCourt, Owner at Walford Court, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Very many thanks for your kind words, it is always a pleasure to look after you. Kind regards. Debbie and Craig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We were lucky enough to have been booked into this B&B by friends. So we hadn't done our own research into the B&B at all. But what a beautiful surprise. Set in lovely countryside this B & B has so much history in the 500 year old building. We were greeted on first name terms on arrival and shown around by Debbie. Home made muffins awaited us in our room, with fresh milk, tea coffee and water - just what we needed after our drive down. Our room "The Courthouse Suite" was spacious and very welcoming. It really was a relaxing stay. Breakfast was served between 9-10, perfect as we didn't have to rush to get up in the morning. The award winning breakfast buffet was delicious. Home made curds, jams. Lots of dried fruits and nuts, fresh fruit from the garden. A large selection of cooked breakfast options (eggs from the hens in the garden). Plenty of choice to suite everyone. We would definitely recommend this B&B for a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalfordCourt, Owner at Walford Court, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Very many thanks for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to look after all of you, and we're glad we didn't let down your friends who booked your stay with us. We'd love to welcome you both back to Walford Court.

Kind regards.

Debbie and Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This was our second visit to Walford Court. We were greeted like old friends by Debbie and Craig. Everything was perfect - the Court House suite was as comfortable as we remembered - the bath as wonderful, the breakfast as delicious. It would be hard to find a better please to stay - we are already looking forward to next time!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalfordCourt, Owner at Walford Court, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Very many thanks for your review, it is always a joy to look after you both. We look forward to welcoming you back to Walford Court. Kind regards. Debbie and Craig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Have stayed here twice and totally love the place. Once in Prince Arthur, this time Court house suite. Peaceful, relaxing and amazing baths! The food both breakfast, platters and evening meal is locally sourced, fresh and exceedingly scrumptious! Nothing is too much trouble for Debbie and Craig who ensure your visit is all you expected and more. If you're looking at these reviews deciding whether to go or not then please go, you will not regret your visit and will probably keep going once experienced! Thank you Debbie, Craig, Oliver, Big Bob(resident friendly cockerel) and wives for sharing your little bit of perfection!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khalessidragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalfordCourt, Owner at Walford Court, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thanks so much for the lovely review...so kind, and we appreciate you taking the time to write it...we live in a busy old world!
Big Bob is a bit preturbed with some of the work we've done by the stream in the front garden..but he's dealing with it in his own fashion! Lovely new walks now being created through the orchard field and broadleaf nearly forest!! Can we tempt you back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leintwardine
8.1 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
7.4 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lion
The Lion
#1 of 9 in Leintwardine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#2 of 3 in Wigmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walford Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walford Court

Property: Walford Court
Address: Walford | nr Ludlow, Leintwardine SY7 0JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leintwardine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Leintwardine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walford Court is a 500 year old listed property, which was once a Courthouse. Its sits amongst one of the most tranquil and scenic spots in the country just a short drive from Ludlow; one of our guests commented that it was "reminiscent of the Darling Buds of May era." At Walford Court, we take our green surroundings seriously and have been awarded both wildlife and environmentally friendly awards. A stay at Walford Court is a must for anyone who loves good quality food. You'll find local cheeses, local organic muesli and local apple juice on the breakfast table, and we are 3 times winners in the Flavours of Herefordshire awards. Everything possible is home grown and home baked in the Aga - we provide candlelit evening meals in the old dining room with the exposed bread oven - or in the garden by the stream. As everything is home baked we can cater for special diets. Treat yourself to a romantic stress relieving weekend at the old courthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Walford Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walford Court Leintwardine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing