We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend away at Walford Court”
Review of Walford Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Walford Court
Ranked #2 of 8 Leintwardine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2009

What a place! If you want a great place to stay, the best home cooked tasted in years, great hosts, value for money, peace and quiet and everything you need while away from home, then you need to visit 500+ year old Walford Court. Debbie and Craig were the perfect hosts for our weekend away to celebrate our 3rd anniversary. We had the priviledge of staying in Prince Arthur's room with its huge bed, uneven floor boards, freestanding bath and great character. Debbie kept us readily supplied with freshly baked muffns. Yum, yum!! The three course evening meal was exquisite and the pate was to die for. Ideally positioned for easy access to Ludlow, Leominster and Craven Arms. We will definately be back. Thankyou Lynda and Andy.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cuddlydudleydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 123 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2009

My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend at the Walford Court. We received a warm and genuine welcome from the owners Craig and Debbie, and warm muffins as well.
The breakfast was OUTSTANDING and completely deserved the award they have received for it. Our evening meal was also beautifully cooked and everything was fresh from the garden, straight onto your plate.
We stayed in the Courthouse Suite, a wonderfully bright and spacious room. The bed was extremely comfortable and the sitting room was relaxing and bright.
Everything you could want has been supplied either by nature in the setting, or by Debbie and Craig in their hospitality.
We will be returning.......

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siliqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

If you are looking for luxury accommodation and genuinely kind, friendly hosts then this is the place for you.

I stayed at Walford Court with my husband for a couple of nights recently and came home feeling totally refreshed and relaxed. The accommodation is simply glorious - quirky wonky floor boards, super comfortable bed, spotless cleanliness - you really couldn't ask for more. The food is tasty and plentiful - I thoroughly recommend dining at the accommodation. The hosts are very personable and make you feel genuinely welcome. They have a solid environmental policy and are silver award winners in the Green Tourism Business Scheme.

Anything you think was missing when you visited B&Bs before will be found at Walford Court. If you are thinking of travelling to the Herefordshire/Shropshire border area, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CocoWyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We found this B&B through Alastair Sawday's Faboulous Places to Stay series, and it certainly lived up to the billing. Fantastic old building, lovingly restored but maintaining the period charm of a very old property. Debbie and Craig are wonderful hosts - we arrived to be met with freshly made apple muffins with tea and the room is an absolute dream with a separate living room and bedroom, with a huge oak four-poster bed and a roll-top bath in the window. All very romantic!

Breakfast was superb - they were winners of the Herefordshire Best Breakfast of the Year 2008, and deservedly so! Eggs come fresh from their own flock of free-range hens and the bacon and sausages are both locally sourced and very delicious! There were of course more fresh apple muffins baked that morning. All this despite us being the only room occupied and we were only staying the one night.

Overall, this was the best B&B we'd ever stayed in in the UK and put many others to shame! Highly recommended.

Visit www.romanticbreak.co.uk for further details.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scratch113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2006

Title: Best B&B in Herefordshire?

Subject: Walford Court, Walford, Herefordshire, UK
Location: Walford, Near Leintwardine, Herefordshire, SY7 0JT




A beatiful grade 2 listed 15th century building set in 20 acres with stream and gardens.
Free range eggs from chickens in grounds - homemade bread/ scones/ cakes/jam/marmalade and well cooked breakfast set you up for the whole day!
Very comfortable room with ensuite and extremely friendly hosts.

We had one of the best 'long weekends' away ever.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tone P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015
Thank Fivemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leintwardine
8.1 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
927 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 2 in Wigmore
44 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lion
The Lion
#1 of 8 in Leintwardine
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Brick House Farm
Brick House Farm
#1 of 2 in Adforton
22 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lower Buckton Country House
0 mi away
Upper Letton Farmhouse
Upper Letton Farmhouse
#3 of 8 in Leintwardine
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walford Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walford Court

Address: Walford | nr Ludlow, Leintwardine SY7 0JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leintwardine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Leintwardine
Price Range: £104 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walford Court is a 500 year old listed property, which was once a Courthouse. Its sits amongst one of the most tranquil and scenic spots in the country just a short drive from Ludlow; one of our guests commented that it was "reminiscent of the Darling Buds of May era." At Walford Court, we take our green surroundings seriously and have been awarded both wildlife and environmentally friendly awards. A stay at Walford Court is a must for anyone who loves good quality food. You'll find local cheeses, local organic muesli and local apple juice on the breakfast table, and we are 3 times winners in the Flavours of Herefordshire awards. Everything possible is home grown and home baked in the Aga - we provide candlelit evening meals in the old dining room with the exposed bread oven - or in the garden by the stream. As everything is home baked we can cater for special diets. Treat yourself to a romantic stress relieving weekend at the old courthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Walford Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walford Court Leintwardine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing