We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Bed and Breakfast we have stayed in, exceptional quality”
Review of Walford Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Walford Court
Ranked #2 of 8 Leintwardine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2009

We booked Walford Court having had read the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and I can now say that the reviews were spot on.

We stayed in the Aargon Suite for two nights which has a separate living room as well as a large bedroom with beautiful four poster bed. Each room was larger than any I have stayed in before in any hotel including ones which are triple the cost. Craig and Debbie the owners have a lovely relaxed approach, are very helpful and friendly. The breakfast in award winning and it is clear to see why. Dinner is available, we did not have dinner but I am sure it would be of the highest order. The owners also run a tea room from Walford Court, which is a great bonus for people who like cream teas in the summer! They have a woodburning stove in the tea room for the winter. Everything is cooked fresh on the premises.

We took time to look around the area during our stay. It worth it as the area is beautiful, however we both agreed that Walford Court is so lovely and the accommodation so comfortable and welcoming that should we get the opportunity to return we would not leave at all and instead enjoy having a relaxing stay by walking the grounds, eating creams teas and evening meals and soaking in the large roll top bath.

I doubt you will experience better value for money in a UK bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulguinea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2009

We have just returned from a throughly relaxing break at Walford Court to celebrate my birthday.

The place is delightful, the hosts Debbie & Craig are welcoming and attention to detail is meticulous. The food here is excellent, the breakfasts set you up for the day, Debbie's free range eggs from her own hens are the best I've tasted and the evening meals are mainly from produce grown in the garden and the local butcher supplies all the local meat too. Debbie is an excellent cook with her AGA and offers a good choice of meals and Craig is front of house making sure all the guests are happy.

The rooms are tastefully furnished with plenty of candles lit to create a romantic mood and so peaceful at night. We eat in both nights and you can take your own wine & drinks and they are happy to keep anything chilled for you. Thank you both for a wonderful time we are already planning to return.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

My husband and I stayed for just one night, together with relatives over from New Zealand. I thought the place looked interesting on the website, and the owners sounded like lovely people. Hurrah! We were not disappointed in any way, in fact, we all agreed it was the best B&B we have stayed in in England. The rooms were spacious (we even had a sitting room to relax in), comfy and full of character. We had a delicious evening meal cooked by Debbie our hostess, followed by a great breakfast the next morning. Most of the food is grown/laid in their garden. Debbie was ably assisted by Craig, who came to the rescue with ice and lemon to go with the gin we had bought with us!!
I wish we could have stayed for longer. If you want sheer relaxation in characterful surroundings, together with great food- book now!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnababySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Just where to begin, there really is so much to say about Walford Court! Our 13th wedding anniversary was made truly romantic and relaxing from the moment we arrived. Set in beautiful countryside you begin to switch off and relax the moment you enter Walford Court. Greeted by both Debbie & Craig on arrival we knew immediately we were in for a real treat. The place and the hosts were as wonderful as described on their own website. We stayed in the gorgeous Courthouse suite, a lovely large bed, sitting area and magnificent bathroom with huge roll top bath for 2. Plus a well stocked tea tray with home cooked apple & cinnamon muffins yum yum! Just full of character and to have a sitting area you could sit in that was comfortable and relaxing with views over the gardens was really lovely. We had lovely weather and enjoyed venturing around the grounds of which there was plenty to explore. Accomapnied by Jess & George the 2 cats we felt right at home as we were missing our felines. The meals were out of this world too! Slow cooked on an AGA meant the Herefordshire beef stew was truly to die for but then we experienced the Beef Carbonnade and goodness me - it just just doesn't get better than this. A roast dinner of both Lamb and Chicken was also a huge enjoyment to us both. Everything served with vegetables grown from their own land. The cooked breakfasts ensured you had a good fill before your days out and about and the pork sausages with Stilton and leek were a good choice. We have never seen eggs look so delicious and with golden yolks but these come from Debbie & Craigs hens and are so tasty! Desserts are out of this world.....................chocolate pudding with chocolate centres & cream, apple crumble with delicious custard and a truly wonderful and very indulgent syrup sponge pudding and custard are all highly recommended.

This is a place we will go back to without a doubt and a place we are sharing with everyone we know from putting details on our own personal website and telling people about it we meet. Places like this today are very few and far between, it is a real hidden gem and it is a place that can't be changed and modernised over time as it is so steeped in history, it can't become commercialised and overcrowded as Debbie & Craig would just not let that happen, it is put simply.................pure paradise and you can simply just relax and unwind here and enjoy what can only be described in our opinion as 5 star luxury, servie and food!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you Debbie & Craig for a wonderfully romantic wedding anniversary break, we will see you soon x

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

When I rate B&B establishments there is a rating you can't get higher than. And Walford Court has the rating you can not get higher than.

How can I do it justice?

Awesome and huge rooms, ensuite baths for two people, and yes we did try it out! Total peace and quiet at night. Owners who CARE in block capitals. Unobtrusive service and attention to the smallest details. Fresh milk in a jug! Free range eggs straight from the Walford Court chickens. Luxury bed linen. Candles for a romatic evening in your room. Chairs you can sit in and be comfortable in. I could go on, but the only way you're going to find out is to book a couple of nights there.

And the food. We're talking about a genuine award winning breakfast. And we hit home frown tomato season to go with the fresh free range eggs. The bacon, cheese, sausages, everything meaty has almots no food miles. It comes from the master butcher a couple of miles away in Leintwardine. You can walk there! And he is a true butcher who slaughters local meat on the premises. And he cares about his customers.

Breakfast is a glorious treat and there are too many variations to list. The sausages I liked best were pork, spring onion and Stilton, but the beef and horseradish ran them a close second. The bacon's thick and well cured. The eggs have the most golden yolks you've seen and the presentation is part of Debby and Craig's attention to detail.

And, if you stay there, treat yourself to a home made, AGA cooked supper. I challenge you to have room for three courses, but you'll hate to leave a morsel!

So comfort, value, quality, real food, and they can do vege and vegan options if you need them

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gtbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Best B & B I ever stayed at; location is very peaceful, with lovely garden.
3 bedrooms, all very comfortable, one is a good sized room and the other two are would be classified as junior suites in a hotel. Furnishings are very personal and quirky; the house is 16th century, so don't expect straight walls and non-creaking floors!

The food at dinner was all home cooked, and the vegetables were picked from the garden 1 hour before we ate. Breakfast is superb. Home made blueberry muffins are excellent and the apple crumble was just about the best I have ever tasted.
The couple who run the B & B do so with immense charm.
We will be staying there again as soon as we can manage it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orcherdgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

A wonderful wonderful place. Will book again soon for another get away !! The hosts Craig and Debbie were just so friendly, everywhere was spotless and the food was just so tasty. Well done Debbie and Craig for turning your beautiful home into a place of leisure, you made us feel so welcome.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank helena_wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leintwardine hotels
0 mi away
Brick House Farm
Brick House Farm
#1 of 2 in Adforton
22 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lion
The Lion
#1 of 8 in Leintwardine
337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lower Buckton Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 2 in Wigmore
46 reviews
0 mi away
Upper Letton Farmhouse
Upper Letton Farmhouse
#4 of 8 in Leintwardine
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walford Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walford Court

Address: Walford | nr Ludlow, Leintwardine SY7 0JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leintwardine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Leintwardine
Price Range: £103 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Walford Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walford Court is a 500 year old listed property, which was once a Courthouse. Its sits amongst one of the most tranquil and scenic spots in the country just a short drive from Ludlow; one of our guests commented that it was "reminiscent of the Darling Buds of May era." At Walford Court, we take our green surroundings seriously and have been awarded both wildlife and environmentally friendly awards. A stay at Walford Court is a must for anyone who loves good quality food. You'll find local cheeses, local organic muesli and local apple juice on the breakfast table, and we are 3 times winners in the Flavours of Herefordshire awards. Everything possible is home grown and home baked in the Aga - we provide candlelit evening meals in the old dining room with the exposed bread oven - or in the garden by the stream. As everything is home baked we can cater for special diets. Treat yourself to a romantic stress relieving weekend at the old courthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Walford Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walford Court Leintwardine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing