We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find in the Marches”
Review of The Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lion
Ranked #1 of 8 Leintwardine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
midhurst
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real find in the Marches”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

If you are going the pretty way into Mid Wales ,the Lion is well worth a stop/stay.
Well renovated and equipped rooms with nicely kept antique furniture,spotlessly clean.
Menu interesting,ambitious,and well presented.Immaculate,cheerful ,helpful and well trained staff.
These people have set themselves high standards-they reach them.
A delieght.

Room Tip: Rooms off the road frontage-less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonMidhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Simon

Thank you for your review. Your comments are really appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    62
    13
    11
    3
See reviews for
56
148
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

On walking in you can tell The Lion is a class establishment in a loverly setting. We selected this wonderful gastropub after other comments on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. We enjoyed an excellent lunch in the modern Victorianesque dining room. The real ales are spot on as is the choice of good wines and if you want to eat outside there are numerous tables on the terrace and along the River Teme frontage. The Lion deserves patronage and is definitely worthy of its rating. We'll be back, soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Good morning Stuart

Thank you for taking time to leave us such a positive review.

It can be difficult not to sound smug when responding to good reviews, but I can assure you we are far from smug, we do endeavour to keep our staff really motivated to give the standard of service which we are beginning to gain a reputation for, and positive reviews really help, they show our team that their efforts are appreciated. So thank you.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Six of us stayed a couple of nights here recently at this charming and comfortable inn. Friendly and efficient staff welcomed us and dinner that evening was extremely good with excellent moules mariniere, potted crab, well cooked rack of lamb, good hake, chips and peas and a steak, requested blue which came blue - well done the kitchen. Puddings were also delicious although the mille feuille was not quite as light as I would have liked.

I found our room (7) slightly on the small side and without a view, but it was quiet and comfortable and we were out all day, but I think if I were staying longer or wanted to relax in the room I would have preferred one of the slightly larger rooms.
Breakfasts were excellent and cooked to order, service was good and it was particularly nice to have a guests' breakfast room rather than eating in the dining room. This pub/hotel is right on the river, but sadly none of the rooms seem to overlook it which is a shame. It has recently been refurbished and our bathroom was particularly nice. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tootlepip3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your review. It is good to hear that you all enjoyed your stay, it is a shame that no-one in your party seems to have had a view of the river, Rooms One, Three and Four all have river views so perhaps if you come again you could request one of these.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We have past this place often and always thought it looked nice. We decided to have a nice quiet relaxing drink before visiting friends in the area. We were welcomed by a lovely batman very polite and friendly. My Pinot wine was lovely and my husband loved his local beer. We sat outside to start with which was very pleasant watching the river but of course our English weather it started to rain and we went into a small bar area which was very comfy and relaxing. A good choice for us and we will be back to have a meal off the lovely menu that we had a peek at

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Good afternoon Susan
Thank you for your lovely review. We look foward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just returned from a business trip that included a splendid night at The Lion. Great setting by the river, fantastic choice of drinks including many cocktails, local beers and cider and a well equipped bedroom with great facilities. Food locally sourced and the lamb from the local Radnor farm was just out of this world. I will return again soon

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiingbuffy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Good afternoon
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially that you liked our very own lamb.
Hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and myself came here for our silver wedding anniversary . The room was fabulous and our evening meal was equally good. Great menu , lovely wines and very friendly staff .Would highly recommend it to everyone for that special occasion .

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Congratulations on 25 years of marriage, I hope our staff were extra specially welcoming for your special stay.

I am really glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you will visit us for future anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abermule, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Pleasantly surprised,great décor, a lovely well priced menu servicing tasty meals in a great atmosphere.

Brilliant service, especially enjoyed retiring to the comfy leather sofas following our food, only downfall being the wine tasted although it had been open a couple of days - a Marlborough sauvignon.

Generally very impressed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlizzle702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Good afternoon

Thank you for your positive review, I am glad you enjoyed your evening with us.

I have noted your comments on the Marlborough Sauvignon and we will taste and check our stock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leintwardine
6.3 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
444 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
770 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
7.7 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
1.5 mi away
Old Downton Lodge
Old Downton Lodge
#1 of 1 in Downton on the Rock
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion

Property: The Lion
Address: High Street, Leintwardine SY7 0JZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leintwardine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Leintwardine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lion 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion Hotel Leintwardine
The Lion Leintwardine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing