We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lion Inn

The Lion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$40
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set in stunning surroundings on the banks of the River Teme in the picturesque village of Leintwardine, this quiet country inn with bars, restaurant and rooms, is the perfect setting for a meal, a drink with friends or a comfortable stay in a countryside idyll.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,128 reviews
539 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Fantastic, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Love this place! We left our cars here and went on a cycle ride around the beautiful countryside and arrived back just a bit late for the restaurant menu but we had been advised that they stopped taking orders at 2.30pm- but the (limited) choice of tapas style mini-bites was available as well as triple-cooked chips, which was actually plenty for us. Service was exemplary and incredibly welcoming. They had saved us a prime table on the terrace overlooking the river despite not knowing exactly when we would be returning. The food was lovely and we'll definitely be back- the inside looks lovely too so even if it's raining it would be a cosy place to come and eat and stay over.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn01, Owner at The Lion Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Moot
Thank you for taking the rime to review us. What a shame you didn't manage to get back in time for lunch! I am glad that you enjoyed your selections from the nibbles menu though and that we could boost them with the chips. You certainly had a wonderful weekend for cycling in the Herefordshire/Shropshire countryside - and it was also excellent for sitting on the terrace with a glass of wine and some tapas.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    47
    9
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“"Gastro pub" but don't let that put you off.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I hate "stripped out pubs" that try and be pretentious. I do like pubs/inns that use their space well. The Lion in fits squarely into the second category.
They have managed to retain some of the old inns atmosphere in the main bar area, it's a little too sparse for my taste, but what they have done is ok. A nice bar area, serving a good selection of beers, wines etc. And a room with a number of tables where you can eat. I would have liked a little more colour in the room...but that's my taste and not everyone's.
The dinning room is a nice size/shape and you feel that you have a pleasant location, good atmosphere, but also a little privacy. Nice
The food however is what makes this place worth a visit. The menu is a bit over the top in descriptions, but the food we had was exceptionally well cooked and a pleasure to eat. Service was spot on too, prices reflect the target clientele.
We were only passing, do unlikely to return, which is a shame because if we lived locally we be regulars.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank OldPos1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn01, Owner at The Lion Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Good morning Oldpos, thank you for your review, I am really glad you enjoyed your meal with us - what a shame you were only passing through and not likely to be back, I think we would enjoy having you as a regular!

You never know you might pass through again one day and remember us - we change the menu regularly and so it would be a good chance for you to try some of our Chef's other dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Loved the sunday lunch here. Couldn't fault it. Just wished we had walked and not driven so we could have tried a few cocktails!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Juliet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Out & About on trip to Ludlow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

On a recent break to Ludlow we came across The Lion at Leintwardine, it had just started to rain so we thought a perfect time to stop for lunch and we were not disappointed. It's a lovely pub and the staff are very pleasant and best of all the food was excellent as well as a good atmosphere would highly recommend it

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeeSunborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn01, Owner at The Lion Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Good afternon,
Thank you for review and I am glad we were able to offer you shelter from the rain as well as a good lunch.
Please call again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great meal out by the river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Arrived early and were welcomed to very comfortable lobby to wait for our friends. Excellent service and a really good lunch really well presented. Portions were just right with a good selection though more vegetarian choices would be a bonus.
Would definitely pay another visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tutnalltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn01, Owner at The Lion Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Good morning

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your meal.

I have noted your comment about vegetarian dishes and will discuss this with the Chef.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lion Inn also viewed

Wigmore, Leintwardine
Leintwardine, Herefordshire
 
Leintwardine, Herefordshire
 
Wigmore, Leintwardine
 

Been to The Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing