We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch, rather dried out and expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle
Ranked #4 of 5 Knowle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We spotted at the hotel for a late lunch on a Sunday. First impressions were very good, great surroundings and attentive waitress. We ordered a lamb and vege Sunday lunch, and a child's Sunday lunch. Sadly when it arrived it had clearly been knocking about for a bit, and I suspect reheated. Tasted ok, but all rather dry and overdone. For the price, a very bad deal indeed. So in all, a fairly disappointing affair. With competition so great around this area, I sadly won't be returning.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank The_Goats_Warwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday night whilst attending a wedding at a nearby hotel. The summer special rate was an absolute bargain at £25. The room was very clean, had a large bed and a tiny but adequate bathroom. There was a TV and tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

Had a quick drink at the bar, the staff were very polite and freindly.

Breakfast was let down with very poor coffee, everything else was good.

Very good value and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrummieVegasFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I ate here over the weekend for a catch up with a friend. Neither of us had been here before but we'd heard it was a nice place for lunch. The location is lovely, right on the edge of the canal so you can sit and watch the canalboats go by. We had on lunch Saturday and was surprised by how dim the pub was, the setting was lovely (lots of candles for atmosphere but more suited to an evening than a bright summers day). We ate from the fixed menu, 3 courses for £10 which was excellent value and for the price we could not complain as the portions were extremely generous. Service was great, even if you have just a sandwich the presentation by the staff is lovely, no mayonnaise plonked on your table here they come separate and you choose from the board that the waitress carries. The Herons Nest is clean, welcoming and cozy - a lovely spot for lunch and I think it would lovely in the evening with the candles. Looking forward to returning.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank BrummieMoneypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here . The room was on the small size but very clean and more than adequate for our needs. The position right beside the canal was very picturesque and very handy to get around to see the local sights. The car park is well marked out and very well lit.

Room Tip: we were in room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Visited on spec for a late Sunday lunch. Six in our party and got a table straight away after two tables put together. Service was prompt as menus arrived immediately and orders taken for starters and mains soon after. The starters were pretty good and as described on the menu. Starter plates cleared away promptly and mains arrived soon afterwards. I'd ordered the rump steak medium there and that's how it arrived, tender and cooked correctly . As previous reviewers stated, the vegetables were not up to much and the steak cut chips were well overcooked ...... and who invented this stacking of a few oversize chips ? I like my chips English style, crisp on outside, fluffy on the inside and haphazardly dumped on the plate like they've been fighting! Desserts were ordered and were average. Overall cost was less than £20 a head (excluding drinks) so can't complain about the value. Would I go again .... only of they upped their game on the veg. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Location is very good with lovely terrace for warm days.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank techbink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

I've been going to the Herons Nest Restaurant for ages on a regular basis, as it's a great place for food. I've had Christmas meals, family get togethers, birthday meals & regular meals with my partner. Out of all the places I eat out, the Herons Nest is the top place. The staff are exceptionally good at their job & go out of their way to look after their customers. Some of those staff whose names i know include Jenni-Lee, Sean, Alex, and Adam (one of the managers) who is laid back but works really hard. They ALL work really hard. I've seen them work when it's been extremely busy & they cope well & professionally. I've been reading some reviews & can't understand why some are so negative. I'd always recommend the Herons Nest.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Wes1andJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Once again we stayed here for three nights upon our arrival in England. Because we fly into Birmingham airport this is perfect as it is about 15 -20 minutes away by car-picking up your hire car at the airport. Small but perfectly comfortable rooms with all facilities and a great pub restaurant. B/fast is continental (cannot have cooked brekky) but plentiful and filling. This pub is on a canal bridge and there is a lovely towpath walk in both directions. Friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms are basically the same so no advantage gained anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knowle hotels
1.3 mi away
Greswolde Arms Hotel
Greswolde Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knowle
385 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Stables- Deer Park Farm
1.5 mi away
Achill Guest House
Achill Guest House
#2 of 5 in Knowle
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle

Address: 2110 Warwick Road | The Heron's Nest, Knowle, Solihull B93 0EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Knowle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Knowle
Price Range: £49 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the charming village of Knowle, this historic lodge provides convenient yet characterful budget accommodation near Solihull, Dorridge, Birmingham and the NEC.Dating back to 1816, The Heron's Nest is furnished with 10 comfy rooms and a cosy pub serving up seasonally inspired food and drink together with bags of rustic charm. Its canal and countryside setting brings further appeal, especially during the summer when the outdoor dining area springs to life.Knowle is a lovely place to unwind, with a pretty village square, an early 15th century church and lots of idyllic, timber-framed cottages. You could also take a stroll down the Grand Union Canal - but be sure to pack some sandwiches, as there are 147 miles of towpath.The wider area offers attractions to suit every taste. Shopaholics will love Solihull's Touchwood Centre, history buffs will enjoy the moated, medieval charms of Baddesley Clinton and families will relish a trip to Warwick and Kenilworth Castles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herons Nest Hotel Knowle
Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing