We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service booking in and checking out; but excellent spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle
Ranked #4 of 5 Knowle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We were recommended this pub by associates so didn't research it prior to staying. At 55 pounds it was the cheaper of the two alternates we had so elected to go the cheaper option.

The phone call to actually book the room took an excruciating 8 minutes and 35 seconds. What do you need to book a room? Name, credit card number and a phone number. In between long silences from the chap on the phone we finally relayed those details.
Checking in was fast and efficient which was great.
The room however was one of the smallest I have ever been in as a bedroom in a commercial property. There really was no where for 2 adults to put 2 large suitcases and be able to walk around the bed. Luckily there was a closet and our 2 x smaller bags were quickly stuffed in there. We stepped over bags everytime we wanted to move.

WiFi is available and free and works well. There is a small desk to work at which is good.

The bed was a double and was comfy enough.

The en-suite was also quite pokey - the shower was far too small and the curtain kept clinging to me. Dunno about you but clingy, cold, unknown cleanliness shower curtains on me are my 'The Birds' shower scene moment. I just don't want to be there.

Breakfast was included in the rate of 55 pounds and was staple continental with cereals, breads, coffee (drip filter) and teas. Nothing great, nothing different.

The real attraction of this pub is its location - right beside a canal and canal boats tie up right outside the large and well laid out gardens. Having a pint whilst a boat motors past is cool. And you can watch the ducks if no boats are to be had.

Checking out - guess what? Took a long time. The computer had to be powered up, the printer had no paper nor did the immediate surroundings but they found some (I recall it was around 5 sheets so an order must be due)

Staying here again? I'd probably look at alternatives but if I couldn't match or better 55 sobs then I'd come back.

Room Tip: Ask if they are much bigger than the bed
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UteBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent stay at The Heron's Nest, Knowle, Solihull.
Innkeeper's Lodge .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

We have been coming to Herons Nest for a long time and normally we have a good time, we booked a table for 4 at 7.15 on a Saturday night and was seated on time, but that's when the problems started, The waitress came and took our order at nearly 8pm ,which was a long wait, but our starter didn't appear until 8.30 , and that's after asking how much longer it was going to be .The main was an age coming also, The waitress didnt want to serve us, so asked another waitress to serve us after we complained to her about the length of wait for the meals, couldnt be bothered with puddings as it was now nearly 10pm !!!

Basically. the were trying to do to many covers without having more staff and the kitchen staff

Poor service will stop us going back here until I read better reviews

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank megan384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

We are very sorry that you left disappointed, following your meal at The Heron's Nest, Solihull. . We have emailed you personally as it is our goal to give every customer the best service possible and your feedback can help us achieve this.
Kind regards
Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Not being able to decide between knowle and lapworth I thought I would try the HN. Lovely sunny evening, staff accommodating and informative of best sellers. Cod and chips has to be the most amazing battered cod I have out since I don't know when. All fish and no batter. Haddock and chips was bigger but less fish, but nevertheless a hearty plate, but I did aquire a few bones. Gourmet chips is a must. Will be back

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Solihull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just a few lines about our lunch in the gardens of the Herons Nest by the side of the Grand Union Canal in Solihull,firstly the food was just perfect and at a perfect price as well,one of our party of six had trout with a lovely crusty dressing and new potatoes,I chose a brie and bacon baguette which also was good,but the main point of this review is that the food was just that much better than your average pub fare and the service was as well,it was served with class and patience and so deserved a little nod at a set up way above the average.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank eddiebLiverpoolUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We visited the Herons Nest on 28th June 2013. to celebrate my mother's 92nd birthday. Staff were talking amongst themselves when we arrived they did not bother with us, we had to interrupt them to ask to be shown to our reserved table. Table was not very clean. Waitress had no product knowledge, when we asked for a dry sherry we were told that she didn't know if they had dry sherry, all she could tell us that the only sherry they had was in a blue bottle!! We had to ask her to check what the label said, it was a sweet sherry! Several dishes on the menu were not available. Staff were unable to give us information about the food they were serving. They seemed very uninterested, and poorly presented, dirty aprons and scruffy clothes. We arrived at 12.30pm and eventually had our food at 1.40pm. My drink was served in a dirty glass, lip marks on rim of glass. There seems to be a complete lack of leadership and clearly the staff do not want to be there. What has happended to this once lovely pub? Can't believe how it has gone so down hill, no wonder there were not many people in the place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We booked an overnight weekend stay for a family birthday celebration nearby. The Inn is next to the canal with a large car park and outdoor eating area however, due to inclement weather we didnt get to enjoy this. An obviously popular local eating haunt the Inn itself was busy and we checked in at the bar area where we were given the room key and directed to our room.

The room itself was quaint and reflected the character of the olde worlde inn itself, however, I felt it was a little tired and dated and the bed a little uncomfortable. That said, it was clean with a modern hot shower head and was perfectly adequate for one night given the price of B&B at £50.00.

Breakfast was continental, the staff helpful and pleasant and is taken in the bar area. A choice of cereals, fruit juice and toast with the offer of a heated croissant if wanted. Again perfectly adequate however, if I was to visit the area again I would probably choose to stay in the Centre of Solihull as this is a short car journey away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanRoger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I've been to a Village Inn chain restaurant before so Knew what to expect.
Its a nice old style place,the food is very tasty and well presented,though portions are a little on the small side for me..Staff very attentive and pleasant.Will go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knowle
1.2 mi away
Greswolde Arms Hotel
Greswolde Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knowle
356 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
854 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
3.8 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Balsall Common (Near Nec) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle

Address: 2110 Warwick Road | The Heron's Nest, Knowle, Solihull B93 0EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Knowle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Knowle
Price Range: £47 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the charming village of Knowle, this historic lodge provides convenient yet characterful budget accommodation near Solihull, Dorridge, Birmingham and the NEC.Dating back to 1816, The Heron's Nest is furnished with 10 comfy rooms and a cosy pub serving up seasonally inspired food and drink together with bags of rustic charm. Its canal and countryside setting brings further appeal, especially during the summer when the outdoor dining area springs to life.Knowle is a lovely place to unwind, with a pretty village square, an early 15th century church and lots of idyllic, timber-framed cottages. You could also take a stroll down the Grand Union Canal - but be sure to pack some sandwiches, as there are 147 miles of towpath.The wider area offers attractions to suit every taste. Shopaholics will love Solihull's Touchwood Centre, history buffs will enjoy the moated, medieval charms of Baddesley Clinton and families will relish a trip to Warwick and Kenilworth Castles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herons Nest Hotel Knowle
Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing