We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B & B”
Review of Far End Guesthouse

Far End Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knowle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Far End Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 5 Knowle B&B and Inns
Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic B & B”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My sister actually found it, and I joined them for 2 nights. My room was comfortable, quiet, even had a fridge! Dawn and Steve, the owners, were helpful and friendly -- really made us feel at home. The surrounding countryside was wonderful with the canal nearby and the public walkways. The small town of Knowle was quaint and within walking distance. What more could you ask for? I will definitely return!

Room Tip: The largest of the 3 rooms is good for stays of 3 nights or longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarJSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights whilst working in the area. A real haven to come back to after work. Great owners, Dawn and Steve, made to feel at home. Fantastic breakfast, comfortable room with brilliant bathroom / shower.
Will defo come back with wife if visiting area again.

Room Tip: Appears all rooms same quality. But my double at rear has a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kixley, Owner at Far End Guesthouse, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Hi nice to see you again. I hope life is not too hectic and we will see you soon.
The horses have been moved away now.

We now have a private entrance through the porch foir visitors and hope you like the changes when you come again.
Regards, Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary recently and it was just perfect. Such a relaxing and beautiful place to be, right by the canal - perfect for a stroll along to the nearby waterside pubs. We ate our excellent breakfast in the sunny garden and found the proprietors to be warm and helpful, plus a great source of local knowledge. We'll definitely come here again.

Room Tip: The en-suite double is gorgeous and overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

What a great B&B.
I stay in hotels at least 4 nights a month with work and when I book myself anywhere always stay at a B&B, and this is one of the best.

A stones throw from Knowle, which is a lovely little town with everything you need and restaurants to suit all tastes and pockets.

Lovely modern room, freeview tv, free wifi, kingsize bed all to myself, vast array of teas/coffees.

Really friendly owners, I had to leave at 6.30am and, despite my protestations, the owner got up early to make me a continental breakfast. But the best thing was the peace and quiet.

Spend £65 a night at a Premier Inn with doors banging and no breakfast, or spend £38 for my most peaceful night away from home at the Far End?
I know which I'd choose everytime!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bel04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knowle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I booked this guesthouse for relatives, because of the quiet location and the choice of eating places nearby.
They loved the beautifull location (as it turned out they love walking and a canal is nearby with locks, narrowboats and herons) and the lovely room with the comfortable beds.
My cousin said he had the best and most generous breakfasts he had ever had!
The owner made my relatives feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
I can recommend this guesthouse!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helga6121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The Far End guest house is a lovely place with very kind and hospitable hosts. The house itself is in a lovely peaceful location where we felt completely at home. It is a stones throw from the centre of Knowle, where we found a pub with some amazing food. My girlfriend's steak was the best she had ever tasted!

After spending a very comfortable night in one of their lovely rooms, we awoke to the biggest and most complete breakfasts I have ever seen. Our only regret was that we couldn't take full advantage of all of it!

I would whole heartedly recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay near Birmingham and it is in a perfect location for anyone wanting to make a stop off when travelling from south west to north east or vice versa.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selwyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kixley, Owner at Far End Guesthouse, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Hi,thanks for the review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and your special day.
Both the double rooms are now ensuite and we have made aprivat entrance for visitor an dhope you like the changes when you come again.We look forward to see you again.
Regards, Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon,England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I have been using the Far End for a few years now as it is the perfect place if doing a show at the NEC. It is just a short drive to the NEC but so peaceful and in an idyllic location. It is at the end of a lane from the village of Knowle, just next to the towpath of a canal. Knowle has a great selection of restaurants and the breakfast at Far End is of the highest quality. They will cook you any combination of breakfast ingredients (I was given fresh Duck eggs with my breakfast - from the farm next door) The decor is stylish, contemporary in an old cottage setting and very comfortable. Can't recommend this more to business travellers but also to couples wanting to explore around Birmingham.
And did I mention - it is also the best value in the area! £35 for my room and breakfast

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knowle
0.4 mi away
Greswolde Arms Hotel
Greswolde Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knowle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 25 in Solihull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far End Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far End Guesthouse

Property: Far End Guesthouse
Address: Far-End Kixley Lane, Knowle, Solihull B93 0JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Knowle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Knowle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sephen and Dawn invite you to visit our 18th century country cottage that was once a pub, located 50 yards approx from the Grand Union Canal but five minutes walk from the centre of the historic village of Knowle. It is ten minutes drive approx from the NEC and Birmingham Airport. There is ample safe car parking.The house has two ensuite guest bedrooms and one guest bedroom with shared bathroom. All rooms have access to wifi(free) and tv and coffee making equipment. Ensuite rooms have a DVD recorder.There is a lounge with ingleknoock fire place where guests can sit in front of a roaring fire in the winter.Trip advisor guests have commented on the quality and variety of the breakfast ie fruit, cereals, yoghurt, toast, fruit juice,coffee and then a full Engish cooked breakfast to follow. Alternative breakfasts can be provided or room only can be arranged without breakfast.Birmingham, Stratford and Warwick are a short drive away but guests wanting a longer day trip can go to the Black Country Museum or the Costswolds.There are many National Trust properties around this area or alternatively, sports enthusiasts can go to Edgbaston cricket ground.Plant lovers can visit the Birmingham Botanical Gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Far End Guesthouse Knowle, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing