We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Enjoyed outside in the sunshine - stunning!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Boy

The Black Boy
Ranked #16 of 24 Restaurants in Knowle
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Enjoyed outside in the sunshine - stunning!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

A very pleasant and enjoyable experience at this gastropub with nice food and excellent facilities right by the canal side - very worth a visit but be prepared to queue for food at busytimes its very popular but worth it

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carnarvon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    122
    73
    61
    96
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Black Boy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Felt like outsiders when walked in. Bar staff didnt appear happy. Food overcooked, avoid the cottage pie tasted metallic, the bar kept my husbands credit card in order for him to open the tab, so to get it back we asked for cashback, apart from one decent waiter who served us, we all decided never to return!

Oh nearly forgot, signs plastered around the toilet area basically saying due to health and safety children must be seated and if visiting the establishment with family they MUST eat there???

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Place but always busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Have been going here on a regular basis over the years. It is a very popular place so always busy. Your can't fault the food or the prices. We went one evening a fortnight ago with son & daughter-in-law with small baby in pram. It wasn't quite so packed so we managed to get a corner table with plenty of room for pram up corner easily. For a special occasion it is better to book a table in advance.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jf40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“There wont be a repeat visit anytime soon”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We used to pop in here once a month or so on Friday evenings but after the last visit, no way. My partner had to queue up for 40 minutes just to order our meals (there were only two of us to order for) and then we had to wait a whopping 90 minutes for the food to arrive. When the food eventually did arrive the waitress, if you could call her that, slammed the plates down so hard on the table, some of the chips came off the plate. I politely asked for mustard but it never arrived and the meal was only lukewarm anyway, so we had to eat it quickly. Admittedly the place was busy, but on Friday evening one would expect that and it was clear that the place was understaffed. Now summer's here this place really needs to get it's act together!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid - not at all family friendly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Absolutely shocked that we were refused a seat in the black boy on a quiet rainy day today just because we had a small baby with us. Staff watched as we struggled our way into the pub with a pushchair finding a table (which was dirty) that would mean we were not blocking any access to other diners/staff. We had just got sat down before staff told us we were sat in the 'adult only' section and could only stay if we moved two tables up to a cramped table just outside the toilets which was where we 'were allowed' to be. I've never been more appalled at such shocking service- this place advertises on it's website as a family run place that wants to 'serve your family'! Well apparently not all the family! They do not deserve families business. Perhaps the venue's name actually harks back to when it was also considered necessary to segregate black people into cordoned off areas! Disgusting!

We subsequently left and had our faith in humanity restored during a delicious meal at The Orange Tree just down the road where the staff couldn't do enough to accommodate us...baby (who might I add is my golden child niece who didn't make a sound the entire time!) and all!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bumblebeebecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Boy also viewed

Solihull, West Midlands
 
Lapworth, Warwickshire
Solihull, West Midlands
 

Been to The Black Boy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing