We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice,nice restaurant”
Review of Loch Fyne

Loch Fyne
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Knowle
Price range: US$43 - US$78
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Loch Fyne restaurants present a fine selection of fresh shellfish and oysters, along with seasonal fish and seafood specials. Each restaurant is rustic yet contemporary, with an elegant ambience. Grilled meat dishes are available at Loch Fyne, along with a popular kids menu. All of the fresh seafood is sustainably sourced.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good choice,nice restaurant”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We went for our birthday celebration,and spent over two hours there,the break in between courses was really good,with plenty of time to enjoy the atmosphere.The staff were so polite,couldnt have been better,they really made our evening special.Food was delicious and wine selected was just as nice.Will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank al c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    208
    106
    72
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing food, fast service ... ”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner came here for our anniversary meal, and having never been to a proper sea food restaurant we were really looking forward to a new tasting dining experience - and this place didn't disappoint ! All the food we had was amazing ! The staff were friendly, especially our waiter who was so polite and advised us well on what to try. The only small "disappointment" was the timing of the food was so quick, we had all 3 courses and paid the bill within a hour !! So between starter to main, and main to pudding , there really wasn't a lot of time to digest any food and take it all in.
However, a lovely experience and I plan on returning, next time I will just ask for some time in between courses !

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gairloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tasty meal”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived at 6 pm before anyone else. Lovely quiet start.
The crab and toast starter was shared between 2of us and was very good.
My smoked haddock and poached egg on leeks and mash was absolutely delicious. The other members of the party enjoyed their mussels and then fish and chips and fish and salad.
Atmospheric wooden style tables and chairs spaced comfortably with a divide in the middle of the room with the fresh fish in ice on display.
A very successful meal I would enjoy a revisit I am sure.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Whilst the staff were extremely friendly and nice the food was average, m.y new potatoes were hard in the middle, the vegetables were also a little limp, the fish however was good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Meal... Not enough staff”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had a lovely meal here, the food was really well cooked and everyone enjoyed their fish meals, even though i'm not a fan of fish i really enjoyed mine the Line caught cod with cream pea and bacon sauce (although it needed more peas and bacon in my opinion and less shallots which weren't on the menu) The only problem was the staff there was were so over worked, we saw 3 waiters, ours was lovely but she just had so much to do she couldn't concentrate enough on each table, after we ordered drinks we waited and waited (we were sat in front of the bar) i saw them sat there for 10 mins, i was sure they were ours in the end i got up myself and got them off the bar!
If you wanted anything there was a long wait, but we felt for them as they were running around like headless chicken, and it was a very hot day, they looked like they were all going to pass out, one guy hurt his leg at one point and was limping around, it didn't put me off though and i would go again but please get more staff, it would have been perfect then (and i'm hard to please)
Oh and air con, we had to go outside and get fresh air it was so so hot in there couldn't stand it!

I would recommend going just arrive an hour before you want to actually eat and sit by the door if its a hot day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissC17Coventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loch Fyne also viewed

Solihull, West Midlands
 
Knowle, Solihull
 

Been to Loch Fyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing