We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rushed Fawltey Towers style meal” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Saffron

Cafe Saffron
Ranked #6 of 24 Restaurants in Knowle
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Pakistani, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Regional cuisine of India, Pakistan and Bangladesh. All of our dishes are prepared with care in the Saffron kitchen using the finest ingredients and an authentic combination of spices.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rushed Fawltey Towers style meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We were in a group of 5 dining at this place on Saturday night- things started well catching up with friends but soon the evening started to nose dive. The staff were over the top mithering us for our drinks order and then starters before we had even managed to have a read of the menu. The starters came which were ok. I'd asked for my main to come without onions after the starter had been riddled with them. Epic fail. Not only did they serve the main with fried onions on top, the salad was still riddled with them and then to top it all they brought a huge bowl of chopped onions asking if anyone wanted any complimentary ones!! I was done by this point & had to take a bit of fresh air. My main eventually came back without the onions on but again a bowl of onion enriched salad came along. I think language barriers may have been an issue as the staff seemed genuinely surprised at my dissatisfaction. The rest of the tables meals seemed fine & an apology was given but the evening was spoilt for us and we couldn't wait to get out. I'd avoid this place if you want a relaxed meal on a Saturday night.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    32
    13
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This Knowle restaurant has excellent ambiance and the staff are very attentive.
The food is excellent without too much spice making the flavours delicious.
try it soon
You can park at the back in the Knowle car park which is free after 6pm.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Our favourite curry house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We've been going to Cafe Saffron for a number of years now and it never disappoints. Food is always excellent & a great choice, service is efficient & staff are friendly. The manager is attentive & always makes the effort to check how we are as we've become regulars here over the years. Their local takeaway delivery service is also brilliant! The restaurant does get very busy so we would recommend to book in advance. Their Monday night meal deal is brilliant value for money & we've often eaten there with this deal with groups of friends - again it gets very busy so booking is essential.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WestMidlandsSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, great service and excellent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We live not too far away from this restaurant and I think it says it all they we use it at least twice a month!

The food is always superb and most definitely a cut above the rest.

You can tell the staff all care and enjoying serving their customers.

It gets busy Friday and Saturday night so best phone and book!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
240 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Modern premises, good value, attentive manager”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

The premises are bright, modern and attractive. The menu was fairly typical Asian food, with a range of interesting dishes. The honey on the pashwari nan gave it a beautiful flavour. Service was average really, but the manager quickly attended when necessary. We had been recommended that this was one of the best of the many asian restaurants in Knowle, although there are others that would certainly compete for that title. However, worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlbertSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Saffron also viewed

 
Solihull, West Midlands
Solihull, West Midlands
 

Been to Cafe Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing