We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a last minute booking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Greswolde Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knowle
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Got a last minute room booking at reasonable price. We needed to be near B'ham International for train to London next morning so this was very convenient.Very pleasant welcome from reception. No lift so had to carry cases up a couple of flights of stairs which not good for elderly or disabled even though offer from reception to carry the luggage. Room very spacious with large comfortable beds. Tea/coffee fascilities etc. Large screen TV. Good bathroom. All very clean.Must have had room over kitchen/delivery area because we had quite a lot of late night clearing up bottles/dishes etc and also refuse collection and delivery vehicle...very noisy. Booked for dinner which was your average pub grub...nothing special but okay. We opted for the Continental breakfast which again was pretty average but okay. On checking out I asked for an itemised bill because we had the evening meal and drinks added. I was told that the printer was broken so couldn't have an itemised bill but I could look at the screen. Good job I did because we had been charged for breakfast again which was already paid for when we booked online.Fortunately I had the online printout as proof. Got refunded but pretty much with a shrug of the shoulders and "oh yes, you're right" rather than an apology. Also got overcharged at bar previous evening by £6 which had to be corrected. Bit disappointed with all that but hey ho! Glad we got an offer rather than pay full price. Having said all this I would stay again if the need arose.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayP202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

I've stayed a few times on business and it's fine for a short stay. Easy to find, just off the main motorways and very convenient for the NEC and main Birmingham routes. The rooms are fine, well furnished, all mod cons, spacious, big comfortable bed, good range of shower/tea coffee supplies etc. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The main draw back is the noise. It's hit and miss. Make sure you ask for a quiet room and check to see if there's a function on before you book. If you are unlucky enough to stay either over bar, function room or at the end of the main corridors you won't get much sleep. The bar and restaurant are fine, serving a good selection of food and drinks at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and check to see if there's a function on before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllisonTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Greswolde Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear AllisonTuck

Thank you for your review of the Greswolde Arms Hotel, we are pleased to hear that overall you have enjoyed your experiences with us.

Many Thanks

Chef & Brewer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed here for a night to attend a wedding at nearby Hogarth's Hotel. I must admit I wasn't expecting a lot but was very pleasantly surprised.
Good for money - think we paid about £54 (preference rate through the wedding party) I was impressed with the rooms - they are huge! Big flat screen TV, tea coffee making facilities and a saftey deposit box which was useful. Staff very friendly and helpful...the wedding was at 2pm (same time as check in) but I called up in the morning and they made an effort to get our room ready for us at 12.30 so we could freshen up before the ceremony. We did not have breakfast here - but we ate at the Toby Restaurant just a short walk away as we had a voucher for a £3 breakfast there.
The only slight let down was the noise - little noisy in the morning from the high street, but this would not put me off stying in this hotel again should I be in the area,

Room Tip: Maybe one not overlooking the high street sue to traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank +PrincessSarah+
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Greswolde Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear +PrincessSarah+

Thank you for providing your review of the Greswolde Arms Hotel, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would consider us again in the future

Many Thanks
Chef & Brewer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Ate here with friends and young children recently on a Sunday. No problem in getting a table, as there weren't many people eating. The Sunday menu is different to the normal menu. Less choice, and looked to be trying to push Sunday roasts. I opted for salmon, but that was on The Jubilee menu which was a minimum of 2 courses for £15.99, so had to have 2 courses which I didn't particularly want. Why wasnt there an option of 1 course! Food was enjoyable, service was friendly. The kids menu had. Good selection, and the portion sizes of all meals was generous. All in all, we enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

I have just held my evening wedding party here for my 100 guests after I got married in Italy a couple of weeks before. Everything went to plan the buffet was lovely all in all a great night had, especially for the all inclusive price we paid.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lozeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Owner at Greswolde Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

HI Lozeves
Congratulations on your wedding, thank you for your feedback, we're glad to hear you had a good day!
Many thanks
GNI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a Saturday night in may, booked in advance through Good Night Inns, at the time of booking the cheapest room available was the ground floor king room - obviously very well equipped for those with mobility limitations, it was an amazing room, and half the price of what I would expect to pay for a room of similar size and standard elsewhere in the country.
The bed was massive, there was a large flatscreen TV in the room and everything you would expect including tea and coffee making facilities. The only slight downside of this particular room is being at the bottom of the staircase, everyone else has to pass to go to their room, so if you're a light sleeper, it's not the room for you!
Free parking was an added bonus, so nice to not have to worry about if you'll get a space or how much you're going to clock up over the weekend.
Our tariff did not include breakfast but the adjoining pub/restaurant was more than adequate, we were lucky enough to be able to take a leisurely breakfast outside in the sun with options for everyone, from lighter options like porridge or eggs on toast, through continental selection and up to the full English!

I didn't get to try out the gym, sadly, but I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again. Lovely village, lovely setting, and easy access to Birmingham and the motorways.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missfrogstomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Owner at Greswolde Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear Missfrogstomp,
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would consider booking again in the future. Hope to see you soon,
Many Thanks GNI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I took some American visitors for a typical English Sunday roast on a cold and very wet and windy Sunday. The meal was delicious, well cooked and plentiful. My friends enjoyed their first Sunday roast with yorkshire pudding and roast beef which they hadn't tasted before. We were seated at a table in one of the bay windows and could look out on the quaint high street with its old buildings and history. The waitress was friendly, helpful and cheerful and made us feel very welcome and we weren't rushed. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Billsbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Brand Manager at Greswolde Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Dear Billsbabe, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal, where the team made you feel relaxed and well looked after. Your comments have been duly noted and will be passed onto the Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knowle
1.8 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
877 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
5.2 mi away
Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
2.3 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
3.8 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greswolde Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greswolde Arms Hotel

Address: High Street, Knowle, Solihull B93 0LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Knowle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knowle
Price Range: £62 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Greswolde Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its distinctive fresh white exterior and a prominent position on the High Street in the historic village of Knowle, The Greswolde Arms Hotel is a 17th Century former coaching inn on the old turnpike road from London to Birmingham. Situated three miles south of Solihull and midway between Birmingham and Warwick, it is the perfect West Midlands hotel location to explore either city, or enjoy some of the lovely surrounding Warwickshire countryside. Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Royal Leamington Spa are within easy reach, and Knowle itself retains much charm, with many attractive timber-framed cottages and a 15th Century church and Guild House. The hotel is located just three doors up the High Street from Knowle’s famous 15th Century Chester House Library, a beautifully restored timber framed listed building boasting an authentically designed Elizabethan Knot Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Greswolde Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greswolde Hotel Solihull
The Greswolde Hotel Brasserie
Greswolde Arms Hotel Knowle, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing