We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Greswolde Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knowle
UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Basic and ok”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Tired and a bit shabby, but clean and everything worked. Comfy bed, large thick towels, plenty if hot water. No toiletries at all, not even soap on the basin. Staff helpful and cheerful. Large bar area, food all day into the evening, opposite a curry house and right in the village of Knowle with all sorts of other shops etc, five mins form M42 junction 5.
Only stayed one night. Room 8 - tv remote control absolutely filthy, toilet needed some enthusiastic flushing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalamityJaneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    121
    74
    28
    33
See reviews for
75
97
19
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I spent 2 nights here in Jan 2014. The service was excellent, the room was clean, quiet and comfortable. It has a (very) small gym and sauna which I used - good facilities. The bar area is large and comfortable with a reasonable range of beers. I didn't eat there but the menu looked very good. Its right in the centre of the village which has a number of pubs and restaurants in walking distance so very handy.

I'm looking forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Let's deal with the rooms first. My room was pretty much what you expect for the price. Probably on par with a Premier Inn, functional, clean, decent bed etc. Perfect for an overnight stay for work. Now the service. Appalling would be a positive statement. Couldn't get wifi in room so dialled reception, rang for at least 15mins. Then I rang the hotel landline to be told that they were short staffed which is why they didn't answer. That's good to know. My £90 quid room rate isn't worth someone to be on reception & after a promise to sort the wifi it still doesn't work. The website say wifi throughout-not my experience. . Now the bar - there's a nice pub 4 mins down the road that is about a pound cheaper per pint, plenty of staff to serve who do so with a smile. Draw your own conclusions.
In summary then: rooms ok but the rest is shocking. Value =low

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GS-Smugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Greswolde Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear GS-CVT

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Greswolde Arms Hotel in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Knowle hotels

Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stay here a lot while traveling on business. Always clean rooms, food is good and the service is always spot on. No fuss just does what a decent hotel should.

Bar area is clean and a decent atmosphere. The gym is a bit basic but I only stay for periods or normally one night

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mancitymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My visit was a real tale of two halves. However I have to say my complaint was dealt with extremely professionally so I will give a very brief comment with regards to this as I have discussed the detail with management.

The positives
+ Food and the service I received in the dining room. A very tasty meal and very friendly service.
+ Room was well appointed and nicely decorated bed was very comfortable.
+ Prompt and efficient check in

The negatives
- pay and display parking meant I got soaked twice (they refund the ticket but you have to put another ticket in the car)
- very noisy at night / early morning just couldn't sleep at all constantly woken up

Would certainly recommend for food, if you can be garunteed a quiet room then I guess it would be a good stay too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingercat_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night in September before travelling on to Birmingham airport. On first impression, public areas very clean and staff very friendly. Having read the reviews I had pre-booked a quiet room to the rear of the Hotel. Room very clean and tidy with no complaints other than there was no phone. We questioned reception regarding this, to which they stated that head office in their infinate wisdom had had them removed from all rooms. We feel that a phone is necessary in case of emergency. Bar prices are quite high. Food in the restaurant is nothing special and predictable. Breakfast was very disapointing. In this day and age - I would expect a buffet. When you dont eat tinned tomatoes and baked beans, an egg, a sausage (which I didn't eat because it was spicy) a mushroom and a rasher of bacon seemed somewhat lost on a large plate.
In conclusion, would we stay here again? Yes - as it is very handy for the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dud444y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 789 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My company were meeting in Bromsgrove and once again decided to stay overnight at the Greswolde after our get together. Check in was swift and polite and I was delighted to find that I had been given a super room way up in the rafters of this old coaching house. It was a bit of a trek to get there via various staircases and corridors but it was well worth it.

The door opens out into a comfortable living area complete with easy chairs and a table, along with a writing desk and wall mounted flat screen TV as well as a window overlooking Knowle High St. Walking through to the right takes you past a large, open wardrobe before entering the open plan bedroom area, boasting an enormous, and very comfortable bed, as well as a further, smaller wall-mounted TV, more easy chairs and bedside cabinets.

The bathroom, which was to the left of the entrance door was pristine and featured a full sized bath with shower as well as WC and wash basin.

We dined in that evening and I opted for the chicken and choritzo which was delicious and a good-sized portion. The meal was washed down with a couple of pints of Marston's Pedigree ale which was in tip top condition.

Even though my room ooverlooked the High St, I enjoyed a great night's sleep and went down for breakfast at 8am. As with my previous stay here, I was greeted by a waitress, and shown to a table. I helped myself to fruit juice and a mug of tea and had my order taken for a full English breakfast quickly. It turned up within a couple of minutes and was just the ticket.

Check out was equally efficient and friendly, even to the point of, " I hope will we be seeing you again?" When I reviewed the Greswolde three months ago, my four star rating was solely due to my slight disappointment with the room being like many other hotel chains but based upon the stay this time, and the wonderful room, it is now definitely a five star rating.

So, an very enjoyable stay and I look forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBfromDevizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knowle
1.8 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
836 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#10 of 28 in Solihull
640 reviews
2.6 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 28 in Solihull
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
3.9 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
5.2 mi away
Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greswolde Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greswolde Arms Hotel

Property: Greswolde Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Knowle, Solihull B93 0LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Knowle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knowle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Greswolde Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its distinctive fresh white exterior and a prominent position on the High Street in the historic village of Knowle, The Greswolde Arms Hotel is a 17th Century former coaching inn on the old turnpike road from London to Birmingham. Situated three miles south of Solihull and midway between Birmingham and Warwick, it is the perfect West Midlands hotel location to explore either city, or enjoy some of the lovely surrounding Warwickshire countryside. Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Royal Leamington Spa are within easy reach, and Knowle itself retains much charm, with many attractive timber-framed cottages and a 15th Century church and Guild House. The hotel is located just three doors up the High Street from Knowle’s famous 15th Century Chester House Library, a beautifully restored timber framed listed building boasting an authentically designed Elizabethan Knot Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Greswolde Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greswolde Hotel Solihull
The Greswolde Hotel Brasserie
Greswolde Arms Hotel Knowle, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing